CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
kianlark
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:56 pm

CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby kianlark » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:19 pm

Hello there,

I have recently updated to the latest Windows 10 Update and since then I have had 3 crashes within the last couple of days.

Event viewer shows the following issue:

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 4.1.7.22841, time stamp: 0x59d67e95
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 10.0.16299.64, time stamp: 0x493793ea
Exception code: 0xc0000374
Fault offset: 0x00000000000f87bb
Faulting process ID: 0x37f4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d365537037a2c4
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report ID: 85edf2ab-b776-4ce7-8acf-3e31254c3aba
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

I don't really want to keep reverting back on drivers and updates and things so I'm hoping you guys can help.

Thanks,
Kian

Also just to add I haven't had any issues with crashes until now.

Martyson
Posts: 6615
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby Martyson » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:44 pm

Which aircraft(s) when you crash?

"I don't really want to keep reverting back on drivers and updates and things so I'm hoping you guys can help."
Why are you doing that?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

kianlark
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby kianlark » Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:48 pm

It is with the FSLabs A320.

kianlark
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby kianlark » Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:49 pm

If I have to revert back i will.

Doc_Z
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:11 pm

Re: CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby Doc_Z » Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:10 pm

Haven't had any problems since the last Win10 update. Do the crashes only occur with a certain aircraft? If so, that is probably the problem.

User avatar
downscc
Posts: 1483
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: KCRP

Re: CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby downscc » Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:49 pm

I seem to be running okay with Win 10 B1709 too; however, I caution you that if the it only crashes with that aircraft it does not mean that the aircraft is causing the crash. Correlation does not prove causation. It could be that the product has a process the uses API calls in a certain order.

Most ntdll.dll module faults are caused by something low level, such as a driver or a dll module which invokes calls to the API. I've gotten ntdll.dll events from using out of date FSDT modules.
Dan Downs
KCRP

kianlark
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby kianlark » Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:44 pm

Thanks guys. I have noticed it is becoming an ever increasing issue more people are posting error logs on Facebook and discord etc. Looks like there is definitely a problem somewhere.

Swinden
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 1:47 am

Re: CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby Swinden » Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:06 am

I too am having the CTD issue but at various times and with various A/C. If I try to load a non-default plane at an add-on airport, the Sim won't even load. If I load a default plane at the default airport, then move to another airport with an add-on plane, the Sim will be fine and then midway into the flight, the Sim will stop responding. I get various errors mostly to DLL's: g3d.dll, KERNELBASE.dll.

I have had this problem after the Windows Fall Update and have now reverted back to a previous windows version, so we will see if I have the same issue.

Running v4.1

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2412
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby Rob McCarthy » Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:01 pm

Hello,

We also have general debugging steps here that may help isolate the issue:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

Minsky
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:05 am

Re: CTD v4.1 with latest Windows

Postby Minsky » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:39 pm

I have had this problem after the Windows Fall Update and have now reverted back to a previous windows version, so we will see if I have the same issue.

Running v4.1
Hi, does reverting back to a previous version fixed your problem?


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests