Page 1 of 2

[RESOLVED] P3D won't launch

Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:38 pm
by stevefocus
This afternoon on starting P3D I have been having problems launching the program I have made no changes to my PC since my last flight and I have not added any new add-ons. When I try to launch p3d I get the Prepar3d Professional splash screen then nothing happens, I can hear my cpu coming under load and can see the process in process lasso but it does not go any further.
I have tried deleting my CFG file and also tried repairing the program from the control panel, if I alt-tab to see what programs I have running and select the one I assume is p3d (the p3d icon is missing) all i get is a sort of grey bar appearing.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:37 pm
by Martyson
Try with no overclocking and overclocking program not loaded/not running.

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:17 pm
by stevefocus
Sorry but it's been running fine with overclocking since I bought v3 at launch, I highly doubt that would change now. Will give your suggestion a go though.

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:23 pm
by stevefocus
Try with no overclocking and overclocking program not loaded/not running.
Just tried you suggestion, did not make any difference. Thanks anyway.

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:48 pm
by Martyson
Which overclocking program do you use?

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:17 pm
by stevefocus
Which overclocking program do you use?
I don't use a program, I overclock via the bios.

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:38 pm
by Martyson
Ok,

I thought maybe you were overclocking "GTX 1080 G1 in SL".

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:17 pm
by stevefocus
Ok,

I thought maybe you were overclocking "GTX 1080 G1 in SL".
No graphics cards are standard clock.

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:12 pm
by Chazypax
I'm getting the exact same issue, P3D was working fine. I click the icon to launch P3D and then it loads the splash screen and then the splash screen disappears but it's still running as a process on task manager. Can anyone help?

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:26 pm
by Martyson
"the splash screen disappears but it's still running"

Your previous problem .. was it fixed or same problem returned now?
http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 22#p120022

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:19 pm
by stevefocus
Decided as there is no support from the devs on this issue to uninstall it, will reinstall when I have the time.

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:50 pm
by Poppet
Hello Stevefocus

Can you go through these General Debugging Steps one by one and report back

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:30 am
by stevefocus
Hello Stevefocus

Can you go through these General Debugging Steps one by one and report back
Thanks for your response I had tried the debugging steps with no luck, am already in the middle of uninstalling all my add-ons to do a fresh install, It's been a while since my last fresh install anyway.

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:53 am
by Poppet
Hello

Insure you Remove all of Prepar3D v3 as out lined in the below link before you Reinstall again

http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=120686

======

Here are some basic steps for Downloading and Installing Prepar3D v3

http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=120676

======

Keep us posted on your situation, If you are still having Issue's we can look at taking some additional steps

Re: P3D won't launch

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:00 am
by MikeFlight
Hello, I hope you have not yet uninstalled the P3D.
I had the same symptom recently: P3D started with the Acadamic Splash and then did nothing more. However, it was active in the background and was displayed in the Task Manager. I found on the Internet the tip to re-install FSUIPC again. And lo and behold, it has worked and the P3D runs again.
An attempt would be worth it.

Regards, Michael