DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
kjbersas
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Norway

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby kjbersas » Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:48 pm

Just a small observation made yesterday: I updated to the newest Nvidia drivers. Still I experienced the DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG after 30-40 minutes in flight. However, before the crash my sound had small chops (small pauses). I have not noticed that before.

Kosta
Posts: 1173
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Kosta » Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:06 pm

Newest drivers shouldn't be used. More stable ones are 376.33.

Martyson
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:59 pm

Just a small observation made yesterday: I updated to the newest Nvidia drivers. Still I experienced the DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG after 30-40 minutes in flight. However, before the crash my sound had small chops (small pauses). I have not noticed that before.
I have been using this driver since 1-24-2017 without a problem.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Kosta
Posts: 1173
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Kosta » Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:25 pm

Yes, I was too. However the reports suggest otherwise. I downgraded because of the reports, because previous ones were also stable - call it a preventive measure.

kjbersas
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Norway

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby kjbersas » Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:31 pm

Another update: Uninstalled and cleaned up Nvidia-drivers using DDU. Installed 372.70 (August 2016) just to check any change in behavior. Still got the DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG-error. Seems that Nvidia-drivers is not causing this. So is it rather the latest P3D Hotfix, the latest Win10-update or is it the latest AS2016-version?

Kosta
Posts: 1173
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Kosta » Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:44 pm

As Lefteris said, it might be any of these things. One or just all, or a combination. We simply don't know.

I think the two DXGIs I had, AS16 was open. However, I am only sure about the 2nd, for the first I don't know any more.

I'll just keep observing, I might as well uninstall AS16 and go back to ASN - it has always worked well.

Martyson
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:48 pm

Another update: Uninstalled and cleaned up Nvidia-drivers using DDU. Installed 372.70 (August 2016) just to check any change in behavior. Still got the DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG-error. Seems that Nvidia-drivers is not causing this. So is it rather the latest P3D Hotfix, the latest Win10-update or is it the latest AS2016-version?

Just for follow up information:

Adam mentioned:
"Do you have any add-ons installed? Some are known to exacerbate this issue.
Overall, this error prompt is letting you know the graphics card has failed."


In my case:
I use Win7-64
I do not use AS2016

I do use ASN
I do use FSGRW

I have never seen this error using Nvidia 378.49 (or any previous Nvidia version), P3D Hotfix or any previous P3D version.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Kosta
Posts: 1173
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Kosta » Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Okay. AS16 if off my system, ASN is up for the long-time test.

tsberry901
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:31 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby tsberry901 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 3:20 pm

My system:
WIN10x64PRO
P3D 3.4.18.19475 (on SSD)
Display Nvidia GTX 480 on Matrox TH2GO (digital) (5040x1050)
Antivirus Norton 360 (Excepted from P3D)
Aircraft tested: Carenado B58 + F1GTN750 (Dual display)
AS2016+AS Cloud Art
CH Hardware (Yoke,Throttle,Rudders)
TrackIR
Ezdok 2.0
ORBX (pretty much everything)

For what it's worth, after trying a lot of the above mentioned solutions, what fixed it for me was deactivating ALL the Acronis Services as well as Adobe Acrobat update service. Been running with no problems for about 3 hours so far.

Since the Acronis services are file intensive, I suspect my system was reaching a file read/write limit that exceeded P3D's capability to "feed" my graphics subsystem. Hope this helps somebody. PS-I was not actually backing anything up or running the Acronis application at the time.

Sabrefly
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Sabrefly » Thu Feb 02, 2017 3:17 pm

Hey guys, I've fixed my XGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG error by setting Special Effects form High back to Medium!! (Special Effects @High was in FSLabs_RecommendedSettings_P3D_v2.pdf)

Also, note, after every instance of P3D you need to REBOOT the computer before launching P3D again. I think this has something to do with Spotlight's dll.

Try this - for me it cured the problem 100%.

Igor.
PS: could be related to Spotlights's dll

User avatar
lkalam
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:23 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby lkalam » Thu Feb 02, 2017 6:44 pm

What you did just simply taxed the graphics card less now which causes no long frames on your DX device and thus, no device hung errors.

As far as I understand from conversations with Beau, the real issue is that P3D cannot *recover* from the hung device message - he said this might not be possible in a current major release fix anyway.

If you do a simple search on Google for "DXGI device hung" you'll see it's not a P3D issue itself - it's a common issue with overworking the graphics card.
Lefteris Kalamaras
Flight Sim Labs, Ltd.
---------------------------
www.flightsimlabs.com

Kosta
Posts: 1173
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Kosta » Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:00 pm

The most common solution that circulates the web is actually *downclocking* you GPU... which is really crazy, but that's what most report as "solved" the problem.

One idea that I have from that is to try up the voltage on the GPU, but leave the clock. As opposed to downclocking it.

Sabrefly
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Sabrefly » Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:10 pm

Deleted
Last edited by Sabrefly on Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Sabrefly
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Sabrefly » Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:13 pm

double post
Last edited by Sabrefly on Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:17 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Sabrefly
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Sabrefly » Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:14 pm

What you did just simply taxed the graphics card less now which causes no long frames on your DX device and thus, no device hung errors.

As far as I understand from conversations with Beau, the real issue is that P3D cannot *recover* from the hung device message - he said this might not be possible in a current major release fix anyway.

If you do a simple search on Google for "DXGI device hung" you'll see it's not a P3D issue itself - it's a common issue with overworking the graphics card.

It might seem so, but did I tell you that I could fix my dxgi_device_hung wall without lowering Special effects? It was very simple - just by disabling Spotlights's dll in DLL.XML.

I know there are many instances of this error in many other games, but that's how it behaves on my system. Repeatable like 100%.

Thanks,
Igor.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests