Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Chok
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:15 pm

Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Chok » Sun Oct 16, 2016 8:24 pm

Hello Lockheed Martin.

I recently updated my sim from P3D V3.3 to 3.4. Since updating there have been issues with different sceneries when flying in to them at night.

As of now, I have seen the bug in Aerosofts Oslo, and Flytampas Dubai and Vienna airports.
The reason I decided to write on your forum and not theirs to start with, is that it is two different developers and I figured it could be a P3D problem and not a scenery specific problem, because the bug present in more than one scenery (just a guess, but worth a shot).

To trigger the bug you have to fly in to a scenery from somewhere else at night. When you do that, the textures for some of the lighting and fog around the terminals go missing, and will not reappear. If you then close, down the sim completely and load up the scenery fresh, the lighting/fog is back and working, as it should again. So it is only when P3D has to load the scenery in “on the fly” that the bug appears.

The bug have only been present since the upgrade to 3.4 because I can see from old screenshots that it used to work in 3.3, and i have not changed anything else on my setup besides the upgrade. Between now and the last time it worked.

Pictures showing the issue below.

Vienna missing: https://gyazo.com/77a38806f98c777868c332630b4f4b3e
Vienna OK: https://gyazo.com/d5a2c46f3028a141463fc49468e51d35

Dubai missing: https://gyazo.com/6bcfd180a6a7f44be0ab520f3223b8dc
Dubai OK: https://gyazo.com/d9ff7c2cf3f6fe5f1e0b20463b604c77

Oslo missing: https://gyazo.com/4e9dffe5a036ed3fcd1f4891efbec5ee
Oslo OK: https://gyazo.com/2d94bccf066d0adf57d8c3825a76c178

My current sim is a patched version of P3D V3 where the client is V3.4, the content is 3.2 and scenery is 3.0. The platform is Windows 10 64 bit. And as for graphics card I use a GTX 1080 on the 372.54 driver. All addons in my sim is updated to the latest versions.

Please ask if you need to know more about specific hardware/addons etc., listing everything will take a while :). I can also provide more pictures/video If needed

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1268
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:13 pm

Hello,

Have you tried deleting your shader cache? C:\Users\<you>\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

Chok
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Chok » Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:14 pm

Kayla Kinzel wrote:Hello,

Have you tried deleting your shader cache? C:\Users\<you>\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders

Regards,
Kayla


Affirm i have attempted to clear it several times which did not work.

Adam Breed
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Adam Breed » Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:16 pm

Chok,

Thanks for the detailed write up and report. We will investigate and let you know.

Regards,
Adam
Prepar3D® Engineering Project Manager

Chok
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Chok » Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:55 pm

Adam Breed wrote:Chok,

Thanks for the detailed write up and report. We will investigate and let you know.

Regards,
Adam


Fantastic, looking forward to hearing from you agian, thanks ! :)

Kevin Cartrette
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Kevin Cartrette » Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:25 pm

Hey Chok,

We tried to replicate the above screen shot in Dubai and were unable to get any lights to show up. We attempted loading at the location and flying in without any success inside the internal builds.

What version of Dubai are you using?
Have you been able to get into cases were they did not show up at all?
What are your scenery settings, windows version and graphics driver settings?

Thanks for the additional information,
-Kevin.
Prepar3D Graphics Software Engineer

Chok
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Chok » Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:54 pm

Kevin Cartrette wrote:Hey Chok,

We tried to replicate the above screen shot in Dubai and were unable to get any lights to show up. We attempted loading at the location and flying in without any success inside the internal builds.

What version of Dubai are you using?
Have you been able to get into cases were they did not show up at all?
What are your scenery settings, windows version and graphics driver settings?

Thanks for the additional information,
-Kevin.


Hello Kevin
As of now it seems to work pretty consistently as written in the post above, the lighting/fog work if you load the sim fresh and don’t work if you fly into them from somewhere else.

I just completed a flight before writing this, where I flew from Oslo to somewhere else and then back to Oslo, without shutting down the sim. The night lighting worked when I came back to the Oslo. So the conclusion is still that it only fail to work when you load a scenery in “on the fly”. I have not seen it not work as long as you load the sim fresh as a final answer to your question.

Scenery versions:
Dubai: V2.4 (Latest)
Vienna: V2.7 (latest)
Oslo: V2 Rev. 1.07 (latest)

Windows:
Current windows version: Windows 10 home
Version: 1607
Build: 14393.321

Nvidia settings:
Nvidia GTX 1080 driver 372.54. (I hope it is okay from NI it gives a bit more options, tell me if you want the NIP or the ones from the Nvidia control center)
https://gyazo.com/35ef57a818937607ccdd93fe47ba8b26
https://gyazo.com/eb6d10f4997b2bba26630d3442cecf74

P3D Settings:
[GRAPHICS]
HDR_BRIGHTNESS=0.800000
HDR_BLOOM_THRESHOLD=3.000000
HDR_BLOOM_MAGNITUDE=0.700000
HDR_BLOOM_BLUR_SIGMA=0.800000
TONEMAP_DAY_EXPOSURE_KEY=0.280000
TONEMAP_NIGHT_EXPOSURE_KEY=0.090000
HDR_SATURATION=0.800000
MIPMAP_VC_PANELS=1
TESSELLATION=1
TEXTURE_MAX_LOAD=2048
NUM_LIGHTS=4
COCKPIT_HIGH_LOD=1
AIRCRAFT_REFLECTIONS=1
LANDING_LIGHTS=1
DAWN_DUSK_SMOOTHING=1
LENSFLARE=1
HDR=1
SHADOW_QUALITY=3
TERRAIN_SHADOW_CAST_DISTANCE=0
CLOUD_SHADOW_CAST_DISTANCE=4
OBJECT_SHADOW_CAST_DISTANCE=2
CONTENT_NO_SHADOW=0
INTERIOR_SHADOWS_CAST=1
EXTERIOR_SHADOWS_CAST=1
SIMOBJECT_SHADOWS_CAST=0
TERRAIN_SHADOWS_CAST=0
VEGETATION_SHADOWS_CAST=0
BUILDING_SHADOWS_CAST=0
CLOUD_SHADOWS_CAST=1
INTERIOR_SHADOWS_RECEIVE=1
EXTERIOR_SHADOWS_RECEIVE=1
SIMOBJECT_SHADOWS_RECEIVE=0
TERRAIN_SHADOWS_RECEIVE=1
VEGETATION_SHADOWS_RECEIVE=0
BUILDING_SHADOWS_RECEIVE=0
SHADOW_NUM_CASCADES_LOW=4
SHADOW_NUM_CASCADES_MID=5
SHADOW_NUM_CASCADES_HIGH=7
SHADOW_NUM_CASCADES_ULTRA=12
GROUND_SHADOW_TEXTURE_SIZE=2048
CLOUD_SHADOW_TEXTURE_SIZE=256
SHADOW_LOG_PARTITION_LOW=0.850000
SHADOW_LOG_PARTITION_MID=0.850000
SHADOW_LOG_PARTITION_HIGH=0.850000
SHADOW_LOG_PARTITION_ULTRA=0.850000
EFFECTS_QUALITY=0
EFFECTS_DISTANCE=0
TEXTURE_QUALITY=3
IMAGE_QUALITY=0
See_Self=1
Text_Scroll=1
HIGHMEMFIX=1
DYNAMIC_REFLECTIONS=0
SCREEN_CAPTURE_MAX_JOBS=10
VIDEO_CAPTURE_WIDTH=480
VIDEO_CAPTURE_HEIGHT=360
VIDEO_CAPTURE_FPS=30
VIDEO_CAPTURE_BIT_RATE=800000
ViewGroup_Number=-1
[DISPLAY]
ChangeTime=4.000000
TransitionTime=4.000000
TEXTURE_FILTERING=16
MSAA=4
SSAA=0
VSYNC=0
FXAA=0
TRIPLE_BUFFER=0
SKINNED_ANIMATIONS=1
UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=0
WideViewAspect=True
FullScreenBackground=False
FullScreenAutoFill=True
ActiveWindowTitleTextColor=255,255,255
ActiveWindowTitleBackGroundColor=0,28,140,64
NonActiveWindowTitleTextColor=255,255,255
NonActiveWindowTitleBackGroundColor=24,33,87,64
InfoUpperLeftTextColorUser=255,0,0
InfoUpperLeftTextColorNonUser=255,127,0
InfoUpperLeftBackGroundColor=0,0,0,0
InfoUpperRightTextColor=255,0,0
InfoUpperRightBackGroundColor=0,0,0,0
InfoLowerLeftTextColor=255,255,255
InfoLowerLeftBackGroundColor=255,0,0,128
InfoLowerRightTextColor=255,255,255
InfoLowerRightBackGroundColor=255,0,0,128
InfoBrakesEnable=True
InfoParkingBrakesEnable=True
InfoPauseEnable=True
InfoSlewEnable=True
InfoStallEnable=True
InfoOverspeedEnable=True
InfoWeaponSystemEnable=True
InfoCountermeasureEnable=True
InfoUpperRightTextEnable=True
Fullscreen=True
TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=30
[SCENERY]
MaxRegionsPurgePerFrame=16
POP_FREE_AUTOGEN=1
AUTOGEN_BATCH_LOD=2
AUTOGEN_TREE_MAX_DRAW_DISTANCE=9500.000000
AUTOGEN_TREE_MIN_DISTANCE_TO_LOD=2500.000000
IMAGE_COMPLEXITY=4
[MAIN]
User Objects=Airplane, Helicopter, Submersible, ExternalSim, Avatar
LabelsSupported=Airplane, Helicopter
Location=0,0,2560,1440,\\.\DISPLAY1
ContentErrorLogging=0
ShowInfoText=1
Maximized=1
HideMenuNormal=0
HideMenuFullscreen=1
LocationFullScreen=0,0,2560,1440,\\.\DISPLAY1
FIBER_FRAME_TIME_FRACTION=0.25
[PANELS]
IMAGE_QUALITY=1
SAVE_AND_LOAD_PANEL_STATE=0
PANEL_OPACITY=100
QUICKTIPS=0
PANEL_MASKING=1
PANEL_STRETCHING=1
UNITS_OF_MEASURE=0
PANELS_ALWAYS_ON_TOP=1
[WEATHER]
WindshieldPrecipitationEffects=1
MinGustTime=10
MaxGustTime=500
MinGustRampSpeed=1
MaxGustRampSpeed=200
MinVarTime=5
MaxVarTime=50
MinVarRampSpeed=10
MaxVarRampSpeed=75
TurbulenceScale=1.000000
WeatherGraphDataInDialog=0
AdjustForMagVarInDialog=1
DynamicWeather=0
DownloadWindsAloft=0
DisableTurbulence=0
CLOUD_DRAW_DISTANCE=5
DETAILED_CLOUDS=1
OPTIMIZE_DENSE_CLOUDS=1
CLOUD_COVERAGE_DENSITY=8
THERMAL_VISUALS=0
VolumetricFog=1
CLOUD_FACING_MODE=0
[CONTROLS]
Controls_Default=Standard
Controls_Current=Standard
KBDAIL=64
KBDELEV=64
KBDRUD=64
force_master_gain=10000
force_stick_force_enabled=1
force_stick_shaker_enabled=1
force_gear_bump_enabled=1
force_crash_enabled=1
force_ground_bumps_enabled=1
force_machinegun_enab led=1
[TextInfo.1]
Latitude=1,1
Longitude=1,2
Altitude=1,3
Heading=1,4
AirSpeed=1,5
WindDirectionAndSpeed=1,6
[TextInfo.2]
FrameRate=1,1
LockedFrameRate=1,2
GForce=1,3
FuelPercentage=1,4
[TextInfo.3]
Latitude=1,1
Longitude=1,2
Altitude=1,3
Heading=1,4
AirSpeed=1,5
WindDirectionAndSpeed=1,6
FrameRate=2,1
meRate=2,2
GForce=2,3
FuelPercentage=2,4
[SlewTextInfo.1]
Latitude=1,1
Longitude=1,2
Altitude=1,3
Heading=1,4
AirSpeed=1,5
[SlewTextInfo.2]
FrameRate=1,1
LockedFrameRate=1,2
[SlewTextInfo.3]
Latitude=1,1
Longitude=1,2
Altitude=1,3
Heading=1,4
AirSpeed=1,5
FrameRate=2,1
LockedFrameRate=2,2
[Avatar]
DefaultAvatar=Civilian Male White Shirt Blue Jeans
[DynamicHeadMovement]
LonAccelOnHeadLon=-0.020000
LonAccelOnHeadPitch=-0.010000
RollAccelOnHeadLat=0.010000
YawAccelOnHeadLat=-0.100000
RollAccelOnHeadRoll=0.100000
MaxHeadAngle=5.000000
MaxHeadOffset=0.300000
HeadMoveTimeConstant=1.000000
[VirtualCopilot]
VirtualCopilotActive=0
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970.0.0]
Mode=1920x1080x32
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970.0.1]
Mode=1680x1050x32
[USERINTERFACE]
SHOW_SCENARIO_WINDOW=1
PAUSE_ON_LOST_FOCUS=0
PROMPT_ON_EXIT=1
RestoreTimeOnMove=0
SHOW_MISSION_CAPTIONS=1
Map_Orientation=1
MUTE_ON_LOST_FOCUS=1
ScreenshotImageFormat=0
[DEBUG]
ReportLoadErrors=0
[TrafficManager]
AirlineDensity=0
GADensity=0
FreewayDensity=0
ShipsAndFerriesDensity=0
LeisureBoatsDensity=0
IFROnly=0
AIRPORT_SCENERY_DENSITY=0
[AContain]
ShowLabels=0
ShowUserLabel=0
ShowLabelManufacturer=1
ShowLabelModel=1
ShowLabelTailNumber=0
ShowLabelDistance=1
ShowLabelAltitude=1
ShowLabelAirline=0
ShowLabelAirlineAndFlightNumber=0
ShowLabelFlightPlan=0
ShowLabelContainerId=0
ShowLabelAirspeed=0
ShowLabelHeading=0
LabelDelay=1000
LabelColor=FFFF0000
EnableRibbonVisuals=0
ShowRibbonUser=0
ShowRibbonGroundAI=0
ShowRibbonAircraftAI=0
RibbonFidelity=5.000000
RibbonMaxDistance=3218.689941
[TERRAIN]
LOD_RADIUS=5.500000
TESSELLATION_FACTOR=85
MESH_RESOLUTION=23
TEXTURE_RESOLUTION=27
AUTOGEN_VEGETATION_DENSITY=3
AUTOGEN_BUILDING_DENSITY=2
DETAIL_TEXTURE=1
WATER_REFLECT_CLOUDS=1
WATER_REFLECT_USERAIRCRAFT=1
WATER_REFLECT_SIMOBJECTS=1
WATER_REFLECT_TERRAIN=1
WATER_REFLECT_AUTOGEN_VEGETATION=1
WATER_REFLECT_AUTOGEN_BUILDINGS=0
WATER_REFRACT_CLOUDS=0
WATER_REFRACT_USERAIRCRAFT=0
WATER_REFRACT_SIMOBJECTS=0
WATER_REFRACT_TERRAIN=0
WATER_REFRACT_AUTOGEN_VEGETATION=0
WATER_REFRACT_AUTOGEN_BUILDINGS=0
ENABLE_BATHYMETRY=1
WATER_CLARITY=30
WATER_DETAIL=4
UseGlobalTerrainView=False
IMAGE_PIXELS_FOR_AUTOGEN_POLYGONS=2048
[ATC]
AutoOpenAirTrafficWindow=0
UsePilotVoice=0
ShowATCText=0
PilotVoice=0
COMM_MSG_AI_ATC_COLOR=0XFF8C00
COMM_MSG_ATC_AI_COLOR=0X00008B
COMM_MSG_ATC_USER_COLOR=0X006400
COMM_MSG_USER_ATC_COLOR=0XA52A2A
COMM_MSG_ATIS_COLOR=00000000
[INTERNATIONAL]
ASLAT=2
ASLON=0
MEASURE=0
[REALISM]
PFactor=1.000000
Torque=1.000000
GyroEffect=1.000000
CrashTolerance=1.000000
General=1.000000
UnlimitedFuel=False
AllowEngineDamage=False
TrueAirspeed=False
AutoCoord=False
RealMixture=True
StressDamage=False
GEffect=True
ManualLights=True
GyroDrift=False
CrashWithDyn=False
CrashDetection=False
OnCrashAction=0
[ATTACHMENTS]
WeaponHighlight=False
HighlightDuration=1.000000
AutoWeaponSwitching=False
UnlimitedWeapons=False
UnlimitedCountermeasures=False
IgnoreAttachmentWeight=True
IgnoreAttachmentForces=True
[RECORDER]
RecordAITraffic=True
RecordAirportVehicles=True
RecordLeisureBoats=True
[SIM]
SYSCLOCK=1
OPTIMIZE_PARTS=1
[SOUND]
SOUND=1
SOUND_QUALITY=2
SOUND_LOD=0
PrimaryPlaybackDevice={DEF00000-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}
VoicePlaybackDevice={DEF00002-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}
VoiceCaptureDevice={DEF00003-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}
SOUND_FADER1=0.500000
SOUND_FADER2=0.500000
SOUND_FADER3=0.500000
SOUND_FADER4=-0.500000
[STARTUP]
DEMO=0
STARTUP_DEMO=
LOAD_SIMDIRECTOR=1
LoadCorePlugins=1
LoadWindow=1
LOAD_SCENARIO_TOOLS=1
[PointOfInterestSystem]
CycleSetting=1
[FACILITIES]
COUNTRY=
STATE=
CITY=
GTL_BUTTON=4096
[MISC]
Com_Rate=7
[FSDREAMTEAM]
AntiPopUp=1
ViewOptimization=0
AltitudeCull=1
GroundTraffic=1
[FlightPlanMap]
LineWidth=2
[MOUSE]
EnableGestures=False
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080.0.0]
Mode=2560x1440x32
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080.0.1]
Mode=1920x1080x32
[MULTICHANNEL]
condAccountPassword=0
[MULTIPLAYER]
condAccountPassword=0
VoiceVolume=-1.000000
FrameSyncRate=0

Chok
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Chok » Thu Oct 20, 2016 9:35 pm

Hello.

Aerosoft Zurich V2 suffers from the same issue. The bug can be triggered the same way as the other sceneries.

Zurich missing: https://gyazo.com/c6cfe15957a7e686b4f7f13eb84ea28e
Zurich OK: https://gyazo.com/77edc875d1e9932bdcdbf0685acf911d

Saldo
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:26 am

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Saldo » Fri Oct 21, 2016 8:17 am

The same hete with Aerosoft Zurich.
I will try with AS Rome this weekend.

Aerosoft uses the APController for runway and taxilighting on several scenery.

Chok
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Chok » Sun Oct 23, 2016 7:33 pm

Hello

I just completed a flight where i spawned in at Oslo first to make sure the lighting was working, i checked the airport and both fog/lighting worked fine. i then spawned in at Copenhagen without restarting the sim and took off from there. When i arrived back at Oslo the lighting din't work again. so loading a scenery first makes no difference to whether is works or not when you arrive.

i dont know if this is useful but i felt it was worth adding.

Sams
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:45 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Sams » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:00 pm

Same problem here

Adam Breed
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Adam Breed » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:28 pm

All,

We attempted to recreate the issue and were unable to do so. We were able to get all lights to appear as long as the third party BGLs were correctly enabled.

Could you post your starting location of the Dubai use case that triggered the issue?

Does the issue occur if you Slew in or only if you fly in normally into the airport?

Did you see this issues in any previous versions or only when you updated to v3.4? Did you do a full install or just the Client?

Regards,
Adam
Prepar3D® Engineering Project Manager

Chok
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Chok » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:35 pm

Adam Breed wrote:All,

We attempted to recreate the issue and were unable to do so. Could you post your starting location of the Dubai use case that triggered the issue?

Does the issue occur if you Slew in from far away or only if you fly normally into the airport?

Did you see this issues in previous versions or only when you updated to v3.4? Did you do a full install or just the Client?

Regards,
Adam


Hello Adam.

Yes it happens if you slew from E.G. Doha to OMDB, thats what i did when testing it initially and it happens both if you fly and slew from somewhere else.
It did not happen in any of the previous P3D V3.X versions (screenshot from "Vienna OK" is P3D V3.3, and i crosschecked older screenshots from 3.2 as well)
My P3D is a patched version of V3 (see details above)

Adam Breed
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Adam Breed » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:49 pm

Chok wrote:Hello Adam.

Yes it happens if you slew from E.G. Doha to OMDB, thats what i did when testing it initially and it happens both if you fly and slew from somewhere else.
It did not happen in any of the previous P3D V3.X versions (screenshot from "Vienna OK" is P3D V3.3, and i crosschecked older screenshots from 3.2 as well)
My P3D is a patched version of V3 (see details above)



Hi Chok,

What is the starting location (LLA) to get Dubai to experience the issue? It is not clear if you are using an updated Doha or not and we want to be exact.

Regards,
Adam
Prepar3D® Engineering Project Manager

Chok
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: Issues with night lighting after 3.4

Postby Chok » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:52 pm

Adam Breed wrote:
Chok wrote:Hello Adam.

Yes it happens if you slew from E.G. Doha to OMDB, thats what i did when testing it initially and it happens both if you fly and slew from somewhere else.
It did not happen in any of the previous P3D V3.X versions (screenshot from "Vienna OK" is P3D V3.3, and i crosschecked older screenshots from 3.2 as well)
My P3D is a patched version of V3 (see details above)



Hi Chok,

What is the starting location (LLA) to get Dubai to experience the issue?

Regards,
Adam


If you spawn in at Doha (OTDB) and slew to Dubai(OMDB) you should see the issue.
Another example is spawning at Innsbruck (LOWI) and slewing to Vienna (LOWW)


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests