Scenery Problem with bgl airport add-ons

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Lapi
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: Scenery Problem at every airport

Postby Lapi » Sun Jun 05, 2016 9:55 pm

downscc wrote:In my opinion, this evens the playing field with XPlane, which has very few quality (not free stuff but genuine quality) add on airports. Now P3D has suddenly become a platform with very few quality add on airports.
Interesting marketing choice, it actually sounds like an engineering choice with little regard for market.


Agreed - unfortunately.
And don't forget the lack of seasons that I mentioned here earlier. Will be quite X-planesish having an Alaskan or a North European airport without snow.

Lapi
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: Scenery Problem at every airport

Postby Lapi » Sun Jun 05, 2016 9:56 pm

Saul James wrote:As far as I know all Obrx scenery is not effected.


Orbx doesn't make large airport sceneries, with a few exceptions only...

Lapi
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: Scenery Problem at every airport

Postby Lapi » Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:00 pm

maca11 wrote:All arguments to support going forward and development of new technologies are fine. The problem is that no-one anticipated so big issue and temporary un-usable set-up (until all affected add-ons will be adjusted which can take many months).


It will take years...
I still have the gut feeling that it was not intentional by LM, it just "turned out" the change makes many many airports useless, so we get the known sentences about moving forward.

Lapi

Andras
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 4:15 pm

Re: Scenery Problem at every airport

Postby Andras » Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:11 am

BG2518 wrote:Play fair, AeroSoft have told me via their tech support that they absolutely 100% DO NOT test with ORBX products. Lol - sure, NONE of their beta testers and/or developers have any ORBX products on their machines!


Yes, please play fair...
I'm a long time developer there and "naturally" I have a lot of Orbx products installed.

You shouldn't believe in gossips and shouldn't allow your choleric instincts to dominate please.

Andras

Christopher Low
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:36 am

Re: Scenery Problem at every airport

Postby Christopher Low » Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:53 am

I have no problem staying with v3.1, since the updates in 3.2 and 3.3 are of little consequence to me. However, I still think that LM should have warned everyone that support for SDK2002 code was going to be removed before they released v3.3. It would probably have saved more than a few headaches.

Andras
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 4:15 pm

Re: Scenery Problem at every airport

Postby Andras » Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:19 am

BG2518 wrote:I admire the work of all developers but am, like many, simply a tad frustrated by things such as this issue with v3.3.


Surely understandable.
It is indeed frustrating and I perfectly understand the user's reactions, specially if someone has just recently purchased an item which was rendered useless with the update.

I personally think it would have been a better move if a major release broke the compatibility, but of course it's LM's territory and their decisions have proven to be quite good so far.

Adam Breed
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: Scenery Problem at every airport

Postby Adam Breed » Mon Jun 06, 2016 1:12 pm

All,

We are looking into the issue. We will provide more information shortly.

Regards and thanks for the feedback,
Adam
Prepar3D® Engineering Project Manager

fjacobsen
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 6:01 am

Re: Scenery Problem with bgl airport add-ons

Postby fjacobsen » Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:23 pm

Why not add a checkbox in the setup menu:

"Use SDK2002 ground layering [ ]"

This means people who won´t let go of their old sceneries can use that option, while those who want to progress can leave it unchecked and use the new ground layering method.

FinnJ

Lapi
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: Scenery Problem at every airport

Postby Lapi » Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:47 pm

Adam Breed wrote:All,

We are looking into the issue. We will provide more information shortly.

Regards and thanks for the feedback,
Adam


Thanks Adam, that sounds very promising!
Many thanks for your efforts.

Lapi

72westy
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: Scenery Problem with bgl airport add-ons

Postby 72westy » Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:51 pm

It's also highly unlikely that any current developer is going to go back thru their inventory and make changes to their software so they work with the current 3.3 version and forward. Highly unlikely.

Solution: Stay with 3.2
Windows10Pro 1903 Build 18362.418/Corei73770K/GigabyteGA-Z68XP-UD3/GSkill32GBDDR3CL7-8-8-24/AsusRX570 OC4GB/19.9.1-drivers/SoundBlasterXfiXtremeGamer/1TBCrucialMX500SSD/1TBSATA3Hitachi/1TBSATA3WDBlack/LGBlueRayDL/RosewillChallengerTower/Antec650wPSU

Saul
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:02 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Scenery Problem with bgl airport add-ons

Postby Saul » Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:56 pm

72westy wrote:It's also highly unlikely that any current developer is going to go back thru their inventory and make changes to their software so they work with the current 3.3 version and forward. Highly unlikely.

Solution: Stay with 3.2


Actually, The UK2000 people have already said they will be recompiling their scenery.

AnkH
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: Scenery Problem with bgl airport add-ons

Postby AnkH » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:03 pm

Saul James wrote:Actually, The UK2000 people have already said they will be recompiling their scenery.


The problem here is: this is a great and appreciable move of UK2000, but it does not help for all other sceneries suffering from the same issue. A option to turn SDK2002 support either on or off would be great though and who knows, eventually LM comes up with a solution that is perfect for everybody. We will see, for the moment I stay with 3.2 and wait.
------------------
Chris

Hardware: i7 8700K@5.0GHz, 2x16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL14 RAM, Gigabyte Aorus GTX-1080Ti OC, Samsung SSDs (250GB for OS, 1TB for P3D), Windows 10 Home

72westy
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: Scenery Problem with bgl airport add-ons

Postby 72westy » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:05 pm

That is 1...

Any possibility of incorporating any of the current updates/fixes into 3.2 without update/s that break compatibility for 3rd party payware?
Windows10Pro 1903 Build 18362.418/Corei73770K/GigabyteGA-Z68XP-UD3/GSkill32GBDDR3CL7-8-8-24/AsusRX570 OC4GB/19.9.1-drivers/SoundBlasterXfiXtremeGamer/1TBCrucialMX500SSD/1TBSATA3Hitachi/1TBSATA3WDBlack/LGBlueRayDL/RosewillChallengerTower/Antec650wPSU

jackts10
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 4:51 pm

UK2000 Scenery Not working

Postby jackts10 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:07 pm

Hello,
I am having an issue with scenery with P3D V3.3, with ALL of my UK2000 scenery I have done what everyone has said which is to move the scenery to the top of the scenery library but still nothing. My problem is that There is no ground textures or RWY textures. Here is what it looks like on the ground at Gatwick ( I have tried every bit of UK2000 scenery and its the same)

Scenery Picture:
Image

Image

Issue 1:
No Jetways
No RWY marking
No Gate Numbers
Default Scenery overlapping with UK2000
Terminals looking darker then normal

If you could help it anyway that would be great Thanks


Kind Regards
Jack Sparrowhawk

Saul
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:02 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Scenery Problem with bgl airport add-ons

Postby Saul » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:19 pm

72westy wrote:That is 1...

Any possibility of incorporating any of the current updates/fixes into 3.2 without update/s that break compatibility for 3rd party payware?


You said none! which is incorrect and feeds an unnesserray fear to a whole bunch of folks reading.

And to answer your question.

Adam Breed wrote:All,

We are looking into the issue. We will provide more information shortly.

Regards and thanks for the feedback,
Adam


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests