PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Kosta
Posts: 1173
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby Kosta » Sun Jul 24, 2016 7:25 am

Seriously, why even use a 2D popup, except if you have multi screens, if I understand it correctly?
I wouldn't think of using 2D in a VC of some high detailed aircraft like 777, 737 or Dash... better just use EZCA to save pre-made views and bind them to buttons:
1) looks nicer
2) higher realism
3) way faster than using popups

My 2c.

QuerFlieger
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:49 pm

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby QuerFlieger » Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:43 am

In some point you are right with not using the 2d pop-ups. But when for example focusing the pfd via ezdok. I am not able to change things like the baro. But I just use it 2 times in a flight. I don't know why but to me it looks like I can't get full HD even in full HD settings. I need to use the Nvidia inspector and at least 4 sgss to have a nice looking sim, but even with that setting I am not able to display runways (default airport ) without jagged edges.
The instruments inside the cockpit sometimes and in head movement seems to be not sharp, that's why I sometimes click on the pfd.

And another question. Why are you guys so outrages when someone trying to use a feature like popping up a display. If I could have sharper indications I never would use it. But not using it and not able to use it are 2 different stories my fellow pilots

Best regards

Querflieger

LarryA
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:03 am

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby LarryA » Tue Aug 02, 2016 7:21 am

Any recommended fixs for the CTD after reading this entire post. Installing the SKD did not help (previous post). Appologize for the long post. CTD ****Only**** with the PMDG 777 at 3 hour mark to 3.5 hour mark. ****No**** Issues with other complicated aircraft.

Thank You For Reading this long post probably to much information.
LarryA

Flight KSEA to RJAA
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit. Fresh installation using Elevated Command Prompt, UAC, Bit Defender & Auto up dates have been disabled. Tested Windows Mode and Full Screen Mode. Did notice the Menue Bar open seems to use a little more system resources.

System:
M/Board Asus Rampage lV Black Edition
CPU I7 4930K Clocked at 4.4 GHz.
Memory: 16 GBs 2133 Mhz 9-11-10-28-2N
GPU x 2 GTX 780 S.C Editions SLI No
Nvidia Driver Tested 347.88_385.87_355.60 (Five Flights Each).
Hard Drives (SSD) 2 x Samsung 850 Pro 2 TB each_2 times Intel 730 Series 480 GB each.
1 x (Platter Drive) 2 TB W/Digital Black Edition for Page files, Temp Folders and Storage.
Monitor LG Ultra Wide 3440 x 1440 Resolution.
BenQ 1980 x 1080 Resolution (Not connected & Connected 5 Flights Each).
Start/AdminTools/services/Start Up Types.
Windows Net Frame Work is properly up dated. If not the following would not appear under services.
Set to Auto Delay Start
Microsoft .NET Framework NGEN v4.0.30319_X64
Microsoft .NET Framework NGEN v4.0.30319_X86

Vas 2.8Ghz thru 3.0 Ghz CPU Total Usage 55 Percent Core 0_87 Percent _98 Percent Maximum usage.

Tested Fresh O.S. Installation, P3D V3.5 Virgin install & with Ground Enviroment Prepared3D World Edition and UT Tropical, USA, Canada and Europe. Lower Vass & Better performance with the add ons. GTN 650 & 750.

Attempted 5 flights with and with out the BenQ monitor with all three Nvidia Drivers (5 Flights Each) posted above. Drivers are clean installs. C:/Nvidia Folder deleted on each installation since it is not required.

Tested another five flights with (old FSX Fix) concerning CTD.
Tested 5 flights ****with out**** UIAutomationCore
Tested Five Flights ****with**** UIAutomatedCore_16386
Tested Five Flights ****with ****UIAutomated Core_v18000

All Error Logs are Identical.
Details:
Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 8/2/2016 12:31:46 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Alexander-PC
Description:
Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 3.3.5.17625, time stamp: 0x5758bb31
Faulting module name: MSVCR120.dll, version: 12.0.21005.1, time stamp: 0x524f7ce6
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000345ac
Faulting process id: 0x67c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d1ec5e52521034
Faulting application path: D:\Prepar3D_v3_Professional_3.3.5.17625_Full\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\MSVCR120.dll
Report Id: 66c9b288-5872-11e6-b18c-10c37b9d8141
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2016-08-02T05:31:46.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>32653</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Alexander-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>Prepar3D.exe</Data>
<Data>3.3.5.17625</Data>
<Data>5758bb31</Data>
<Data>MSVCR120.dll</Data>
<Data>12.0.21005.1</Data>
<Data>524f7ce6</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>000345ac</Data>
<Data>67c</Data>
<Data>01d1ec5e52521034</Data>
<Data>D:\Prepar3D_v3_Professional_3.3.5.17625_Full\Prepar3D.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Windows\system32\MSVCR120.dll</Data>
<Data>66c9b288-5872-11e6-b18c-10c37b9d8141</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
Ground Enviroment P3D, Canada, Europe, Tropical America & Caribbean, Flight Enviroment X, Opus, ASN, AS2016.

Have A Great Day

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby Martyson » Tue Aug 02, 2016 7:37 am

"In some point you are right with not using the 2d pop-ups. But when for example focusing the pfd via ezdok. I am not able to change things like the baro."

I use EZdok in FSX and P3D (windowed mode) for all aircraft (default and payware , including PMDG737) and I have never had a problem (VC cockpit) changing a switch or dial ... including baro ... all ok here.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

QuerFlieger
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:49 pm

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby QuerFlieger » Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:07 pm

@martyson.
I mean when I am zoomed into the display then obviously I can't see the knobs.
Anyway I don't you the the 2 d pop-ups anymore

@ Larry do you tick anything when the error occurs or just in the flight?

@all
Now since I don't use the 2d pop I was able to complete a flight 3:40h I was very happy but on ground when I want to exit the sim it crashes with different error modules each time.
Yesterday I didn't tick on nothing an I get the same error like when using 2d pop-ups. Kernel base. After 4 h flight just in the air from night to dawn. So I don't no what to say about this simulator.
And now stop crying like a lil babe and don't say the failure is often on the side of the user and not the product.

EDITED: please refrain from such language, removed offensive content. - Rob.

LarryA
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:03 am

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby LarryA » Wed Aug 03, 2016 5:09 pm

Hi Marty to answer your question Yes,

TOD Open the CDU INT REF Approach Ref Page for set up, creating a CTD.

Will try another flight from SKEA to RJAA and not POP Open anything. See if I can set the CDU at TOD, & Run the check list.

Did a flight today from SKEA to RJA time compression 4 Right clicked the CHR Button. Had no issues with CTD and used Pop Ups. Flight 4138 NM.

Second flight from KSEA to RJAA Start time 16:41 Normal compression. At AMOND Time 21:50 = 5 Hours and 9 Minutes at S/C Ran system checks Engine, Fuel HYD Etc, no issues. Waited five minutes and Pop Open the PFD produced a black screen. Waited Five minutes tried to open the PFD a second time no CTD, waited five minutes tried again Produced a CTD.

Fault Module Dill from web search refers back to SP1 is the C Runtime Libraries. Have installed and up dated verified under actions. From reading the post here does not appear there is a fix yet. I filled a support ticket with PMDG. Waiting on a reply.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Prepar3D.exe
Application Version: 3.3.5.17625
Application Timestamp: 5758bb31
Fault Module Name: MSVCR120.dll
Fault Module Version: 12.0.21005.1
Fault Module Timestamp: 524f7ce6
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000345ac
OS Version Blank
Locale ID: 1033
Ground Enviroment P3D, Canada, Europe, Tropical America & Caribbean, Flight Enviroment X, Opus, ASN, AS2016.

Have A Great Day

User avatar
downscc
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: KCRP

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby downscc » Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:38 pm

LarryA wrote:Second flight from KSEA to RJAA Start time 16:41 Normal compression. At AMOND Time 21:50 = 5 Hours and 9 Minutes at S/C Ran system checks Engine, Fuel HYD Etc, no issues. Waited five minutes and Pop Open the PFD produced a black screen. Waited Five minutes tried to open the PFD a second time no CTD, waited five minutes tried again Produced a CTD.

Fault Module Dill from web search refers back to SP1 is the C Runtime Libraries. Have installed and up dated verified under actions. From reading the post here does not appear there is a fix yet. I filled a support ticket with PMDG. Waiting on a reply.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Prepar3D.exe
Application Version: 3.3.5.17625
Application Timestamp: 5758bb31
Fault Module Name: MSVCR120.dll
Fault Module Version: 12.0.21005.1
Fault Module Timestamp: 524f7ce6
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000345ac
OS Version Blank
Locale ID: 1033


Larry, MSVCR120.dll is the runtime library for Visual Studio 2013, which is not used by PMDG (they use VS2010) so PMDG cannot troubleshoot this problem because it is not in their code. The problem is very well documented but LM has to trace the event in their debugger and they won't because it only happens when doing one specific action in the PMDG products. This is a modern catch 22.

Simple workaround: Use right outboard DU 2D popup (FO PFD). Same function and no crashes. Easy.
Dan Downs
KCRP

User avatar
Rob Ainscough
Posts: 2580
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:46 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby Rob Ainscough » Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:36 pm

Dan,

Not entirely accurate ... LM have indicated within this thread they have been working with PMDG and trying to reproduce the problem.

Review LM's responses earlier in this thread:
http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=113995&start=45#p119263
http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=113995&start=420#p123670
http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=113995&start=510#p128595

In addition, the error (exception) is ultimately "trapped" by Prepar3d.exe this does NOT mean the problem is cause by P3D. Exception processing in any EXE will fallback to the first error handler it finds -- where Prepar3d.exe will be the "lowest" level since that's where the code starts it's life ... if PMDG use VC 2010 runtimes this could be a "possible" source of the problem. Are you sure PMDG didn't recompile for VS 2013 and associated runtimes?

If PMDG didn't, my hunch is the issue "might" go away if you can get PMDG to recompile using VS 2013 runtimes ... per Learning Center.chm (SDK docs) "To build SimConnect add-ons, you must use Visual Studio 2013 or later". I'm pretty sure PMDG 777 has some reliance on SimConnect.

It maybe time to lock this topic as it doesn't seem to be going anywhere and just repeating what is already known. I feel for those having this problem as I know it would be VERY frustrating to have a crash after so many hours of virtual flight ... but so far the work around is to:

Use right outboard DU 2D popup (FO PFD).

Cheers, Rob.
Rob Ainscough

QuerFlieger
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:49 pm

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby QuerFlieger » Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:36 am

Hey Rob Hi marty, Dan and all others

That is a good workaround for now.
But what can you say about the kernel base.dll failure when exactly doing the same thing every time. After 2 -3 hours into flight tick pfd pop-ups simcrash.

Now here is the thing. I noticed that doing nothing so not using any pop-ups gives me the same crash one or two hours later.

Cheers
Querflieger

LarryA
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:03 am

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby LarryA » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:02 pm

Please forgive me for the long post. May be Sytsem specific. Good News Just completed the following flight. KSEA to RJAA ********with out a CTD******. Normal Compression (Sim Rate) 4225 NM Total time 10 Hours and 24 minutes. VAS 2.091 GHz thru out the flight.

During the flight opened a e mail from Kyle Rogers. Good news.

MSVCR120.dll is an issue caused by how something is referenced in the P3D code. This was supposed to have been resolved in P3D v3.2.
Some users have reported success in reinstalling Microsoft Visual Basic 2013, reinstalled our aircraft, deleting the P3D.cfg file and running the Windows Experience again to check for new hardware.
Let us know if this helps.
Kyle Rodgers

Did deleate the Shaders and CFG file then set my settings much higher than default.

"Believe the fine folks at Lockheed Martin has fixed this issue" and PMDG tried desperately to duplicate the issue.

Then I read this entire thread for a third time and have to give a thank you to all of the members have posted in this thread with a special thanks to

Rob Ainscough for the post he made (See Link Below). Started the brain cells working. Please read Robs post halfway down.
Concerns NetFrame Work 4.5, VS 2010, VS 2012, VS 2013 and recommendations on how to diagnose the issue. Again Rob Thank You.

viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=113995&start=225#p121446

Up Dated the following.

NetFrame Work 3.5, 4.5, VS 2010, VS 2012, VS 2013, Microsoft Visual Basic 2013.

Strongly advise any one having issues with the CTD follow Robs Advise. Like to add be sure and run MEMTEST 4 times minimum to verify there is not any issues with a memory module. Please make sure all hardware is in working order. Better to test with a Virgin Instalation how ever did not remove the add ons. Please read the PMDG introduction guide there is a wealth of info in the guides and how 2s.

Tried to reproduce the CTD by doing the following. Menu bar closed. 2 monitors.
3440 x 1440 and a 1920 x 1080. 2 x GTX 780s S.C. editions. Normally at three hours CTD but this time at OATIC TOD Nine Hours & Nine Minutes into the flight decided to do a lot of testing tried re produce the CTD.

Opened all pop ups 5 times. Turned on and off lights, Ran system checks, Programed for the approach after checking weather conditions (AS2016), Opened Microsoft Power Point, word, Exel, Internet Explorer, Adobe, (Minimized the windows) Listened to music. Changed view modes, Top Down, Tower and all around and a number of fly bys.

Thank You For Reading & Have A Great Day.

LarryA
Ground Enviroment P3D, Canada, Europe, Tropical America & Caribbean, Flight Enviroment X, Opus, ASN, AS2016.

Have A Great Day

User avatar
Rob Ainscough
Posts: 2580
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:46 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Re: PMDG P3D v3 crash after few hours

Postby Rob Ainscough » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:33 pm

I'm going to lock this topic as it has been exhausted and other unrelated errors keep popping up in this thread. If you want to start a different topic on "new" issues, please do.

Summary for those having this specific problem:

1. Work around is to "Use right outboard DU 2D popup (FO PFD)"
2. Uninstall/Reinstall you VC and .NET runtimes with latest versions from Microsoft
3. Petition PMDG to recompile their P3D only products to use VS/VC 2013 per SDK

Cheers, Rob.
Rob Ainscough


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], nadeem and 66 guests