Yet again - flying houses and OOMs

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Kosta
Posts: 1173
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Postby Kosta » Wed Feb 12, 2014 10:10 am

Well, for me, the old problems are still here.

As I posted in another thread, the OOM is still here, even with the default sim, and it's mostly caused by reloading in another location or by switching through views, where tower view loads and gives the VAS another 1GB push.



Flying houses ditto. Happening mostly when flying fast.

pracines
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:01 am

Postby pracines » Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:28 pm

I cannot wait for 64 Bit.



Paul
Win 10 64bit | Z97 Pro | i7 4790 4.6GHz | Corsair Hydro Series H80i GT Liquid Cooling |
16GB RAM | GTX 980 | Oculus Rift | 1TB Samsung EVO 850 SSD | 2TB WD Black 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s

User avatar
Rob Ainscough
Posts: 2454
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:46 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Postby Rob Ainscough » Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:50 pm

I see the flying houses also ... but I don't think that was on the 2.1 fix list?



I haven't OOM'd yet, still trying to work thru a stutter problem where so far only way is to lock fps below lowest reading. VAS seems a little more consistent, BUT it seems the AutoGen radius got smaller (even at max)? It's now pretty obvious where the Autogen ends.
Rob Ainscough

leonardhobin
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 3:57 am

Postby leonardhobin » Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:56 pm

64bit was the main reason i use x-plane primarily. and it would definitely help on this sim as well. but it would break all add on aircraft as hey would need to be recoded. carenado gave an interview to one of the sim sites no long ago and and was ask about this and he he state with x-plane it wasn't to bad because the sim calculates the physics and only changes to the model were for the hdr lighting and updates to a few of the custom scripts. and the way xplane was coded allowed legacy aircraft to work unless it it custom plugins which needed to be updated. but he cringes at the thought of converting aircraft for 64bit prepar 3d as it would be a lot more work because p3d physics and aircraft script is a completely different animal and every plane would need to be recoded from the ground up. as the code is very specific/proprietary and was coded with only 32 bit in mind. so i can see why itt'll be a while before we see a 64 bit version and when we do it would prob be longer before our favorite payware aircraft are converted over.

Syonco
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:34 am

Postby Syonco » Wed Feb 12, 2014 4:22 pm

Can report that the OOM problem still persists (knew it wouldn't go completely away, but was hoping the 'improved memory managment' "fix" would somewhat alleviate the problem)



Disabled FTX Global, FS Global Ultimate - using nothing but stock P3DV2 content, and it's crashing every now and then. Have yet to see the flying houses, lol.



Autogen -> Dense

Shadows -> Low

Rest -> Normal / High



i7 3770k @4.2Ghz

7970 Toxic 6GB

12GB DDR3 1600Mhz

Kosta
Posts: 1173
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Postby Kosta » Wed Feb 12, 2014 6:25 pm



Quote:

Quote from robains on February 12, 2014, 15:50

I see the flying houses also ... but I don't think that was on the 2.1 fix list?



I haven't OOM'd yet, still trying to work thru a stutter problem where so far only way is to lock fps below lowest reading. VAS seems a little more consistent, BUT it seems the AutoGen radius got smaller (even at max)? It's now pretty obvious where the Autogen ends.




I don't know, but don't I remember reading somewhere that they were working on it, or even fixed it? It's not on the fixed list however... kinda annoying, as it really kills the action.



Radius: Indeed. I didn't measure, but it also seems smaller, just by the feeling. In some cases the autogen is smoothly coming up, and in some situations it batches in whole patches. And this is connected to my problem with blurry textures too.

Japo32
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 8:24 pm

Postby Japo32 » Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:33 pm

Hoped to see if I could fly in the PNW area. Just loaded in KSEA the default plane and saw the remaining free VAS memory. It was 500mb from my full 4gb (I have 16gb ram)possible to use. Of course after taking off crash to desktop.



Just tested the same flight in FSX. Same scenary (they are shared. Same files, same graphical configuration). More fps (14fps in Prepar3D v2.1, 30fps in FSX).. and started the flight taking off with 1.7gb Vram free.... of course wasn't any crash to desktop



I know the addom may be the culpit, but as other users says.. it seems with default they have OOM issues.

Back to FSX again for now.

clinteckhardt
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:14 pm

Postby clinteckhardt » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:44 am

I never had an OOM issue with P3D v1.4 or 2.0... Patched to 2.1, changed no settings, and now I OOM nearly every flight.

ncp10
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 4:16 pm

Postby ncp10 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:29 am



Quote:

Quote from robains on February 12, 2014, 15:50

I see the flying houses also ... but I don't think that was on the 2.1 fix list?



I haven't OOM'd yet, still trying to work thru a stutter problem where so far only way is to lock fps below lowest reading. VAS seems a little more consistent, BUT it seems the AutoGen radius got smaller (even at max)? It's now pretty obvious where the Autogen ends.




I see this already in 2.0 and felt it was an odd algorithm to follow for displaying autogen. I can see the density being relatively consistent until you get out to the maximum LOD at which point you use progressive thinning. These seems so basic I don't understand what they would make a discreet radius this is very crude it would seem. I think I'll stick w/ 2.0 and be happy as it's working just fine.

ncp10
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 4:16 pm

Postby ncp10 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:30 am



Quote:

Quote from clinteckhardt on February 13, 2014, 00:44

I never had an OOM issue with P3D v1.4 or 2.0... Patched to 2.1, changed no settings, and now I OOM nearly every flight.




Ouch why is this? Is the patch basically so buggy it's not worth the install?

DodgeZA
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:37 am

Postby DodgeZA » Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:53 am

Unfortunately I have the same issue. Flying Houses (Oklahoma?) and OOMs right off the appron almost every time at every airport - Running Stock Aircraft, FTX Global & Vector. However I do get solid solid solid frame rates about 40FPS and above all the time with all the sliders to the right including shadows but not traffic. Its a pity putting sliders to the right causes the OOMs, they shouldn't go that far if the app can't deal with the VAS requirements.



My personal opinion is that 64bit cannot come soon enough, they need to go the route of X-plane with dual executables I'd think but with the current state of OOMs its essential.



Thanks for the hard work LM, the future needs to come sooner I think.

User avatar
pmb
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:45 am
Location: Jena, Germany
Contact:

Postby pmb » Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:20 am

Hi,



I get OOMs continually after installing the patch, now. I ran ProcessExplorer besides P3D2 to observe VAS usage continually growing on a short flight from Dublin to Gormanston in IRL ORBX from around 2.5 GB to 4 GB. First I made the flight in the Alabeo Cutlass, next in the LM C150, with essentially the same result.



I only installed Addons being said compatible to Prepar3d2, i.e. ORBX IRL, NIR, AUS, Global, Pilot's Ultimate Mesh, a bunch of FSDreamteam Airports, Simaddon Airports (P3D2 versions), FSUIPC, the Cutlass, I think that's it, nothing using the Migration Tool. I should add I use the Saitek Panels (using SPAD drivers) + 9 FIPs, but did this before in 2.0 and 1.4. Of course, it's still possible one of the Addons being responsible, I'll make more investigations as time permits.



I've to add I got VERY rarely OOMs in 2.0.



Kind regards, Michael
Prepar3d4+5 Pro // Intel i7-6700K 4.0 GHz / Asus Z170 / Kingston 32 GB DDR4 / Samsung2 SSD 500 GB + SSD 1 TB + WD HD 6 TB / EVGA GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB / LG 34UM95 3440 x 1440 / HP Reverb / Win 10/64

aviator52
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 11:15 am

Postby aviator52 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:49 am

Hello All,



I thought it was my rig causing the OOM's dilemma. I have tried what I know, and read about tweaks and settings on the forums, and still I am getting OOM's. Default aircraft with bare P3DV2.1, loads, then within 1 min BAM, OOM. Even after new patch, still the same. I appreciate all the hard work the team has done for us Airheads. But for me, I am going to have to return to FSX until this issue perhaps may get sorted. If I cannot have all the bling with my sim, then all the money I have spent was for nothing.

Surely some one may have an answer.



regards



Sam


kikigey89
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:51 pm

Postby kikigey89 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:09 am

Have now OOMs, too. With v2.0 I had no OOMs. Up to now the OOMs occurred after around 3 hours.

I followed the instructions and deleted the four user folders before patching so I had fresh user files. After patching I set the same settings as for v2.0. The only difference is that http://www.venetubo.com/fsx.html seems to be down now and I could not use that tool as for v2.0.

colang
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:04 pm

Postby colang » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:52 am

In this way I guess the add-on installation was messed up.

If you deleted the indicated directory, the patch should have done a reinstallation, but in this way maybe it overwrited the terrain.cfg and autogen files.

If you copy back the scenery.cfg file you can see the sceneries in the library, but they are not fully installed.

Each time the software looks for a library or a landclass and don't find the entry in terrain.cfg or don't find the matching texture it waste memory.

So if you acted as written in last post, it's pretty probable you have an heavy "VAS leaking" as soon as you use a not fully reisntalled scenery.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: airbader, nathantw and 47 guests