P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 12:41 am
Location: ESSB
Contact:

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Daveo »

[quote="Ray Proudfoot" post_id=246756 time=1631552288 user_id=119517]
I flew this route again this afternoon but in a different aircraft (Xtreme Prototypes Lear 25) and with one significant change in Nvidia CP. Instead of the default I went with Prefer Maximum Performance for the graphics card option for P3D.

No DXGI problems. That option seems to have done the trick but I’ll fly the route again tomorrow in the PMDG so everything is the same bar that setting.
[/quote]

Ray,

The only time I get these errors now which isn't quite often is when I use Pause for an extended period of time so something must be taking a leak somewhere.
Dave Opper
ESSB
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

Dave, there seems to be several potential solutions for this problem. I can remember when I first got v5 I had it. V5.1 was the build I purchased.

Today’s possible solution was the fix I tried back then and it worked but then later on reverted to the default setting for reasons I can’t remember.

A few more flights without a problem will confirm it as the solution for me. I didn’t pause the flight before the first crash so there could well be loads of other possible causes. A nightmare to identify and fix.
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 5.2GHz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
Dennis9967
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:37 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Dennis9967 »

Ray Proudfoot wrote: Mon Sep 13, 2021 7:58 pm Dave, there seems to be several potential solutions for this problem. I can remember when I first got v5 I had it. V5.1 was the build I purchased.

Today’s possible solution was the fix I tried back then and it worked but then later on reverted to the default setting for reasons I can’t remember.

A few more flights without a problem will confirm it as the solution for me. I didn’t pause the flight before the first crash so there could well be loads of other possible causes. A nightmare to identify and fix.
Thanks for the update and quick reply. I'll be sure to keep an eye on this thread. Looking for the same issue. Bumped into your thread. Thanks for creating it. Looking forward for solution.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

Yesterday I flew LAX to Denver in the PMDG737 and again, no problems.

I wonder if LM would care to comment on the change I made and whether they consider it a solution. It does seem a big coincidence that this one change has appeared to solve my DXGI_DEVICE_HUNG problems.

Maybe something to add to the FAQ perhaps?
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 5.2GHz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

I spoke too soon. DXGI_DEVICE_HUNG today 15 mins after departing Nice, France. Reloaded the last saved situation and was able to complete the journey to Zagreb without any issues.

I’ve found a possible solution with a Registry fix here.
https://forums.flightsimlabs.com/index. ... ent=233626

I’ve done that and hope it fixes it.
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 5.2GHz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
pommy80
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 8:40 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by pommy80 »

I was having the same issues as you Ray (Initially I fixed the issue on 5.1, but since I upgraded to 5.2HF1, the DXGI DEVICE HUNG ERROR's returned).

I just reinstalled my old Graphics card (AMD Radeon 5500XT 8GB) and have not had any issues regarding DXGI error's. I think there is still a huge problem between the newer graphics cards (DX12) and P3D. (Also note that using the exact same setting's, P3D runs a lot smoother on my old graphics card).

This was one of the error report's from event viewer:

Fault bucket 1834077169989663352, type 5
Event Name: D3DDRED2
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: VEN_1002
P2: 27.20.22001.14011
P3: 0x887A0006
P4: 7
P5: Prepar3D.exe
P6: 5.2.22.27615
P7:
P8:
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER8075.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER8085.tmp.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER80A3.tmp.csv
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER80C3.tmp.txt

These files may be available here:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\NonCritical_VEN_1002_4741e68be375647bf40d77f5838fab94c23a7ce_00000000_a531a9c3-7257-4486-ba66-98d5fa7fa021

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: a531a9c3-7257-4486-ba66-98d5fa7fa021
Report Status: 268435456
Hashed bucket: 05291d20eecd04d8c973f377ffe33a78
Cab Guid: 0
GPU : Radeon RX 6800 16GB | CPU : AMD Ryzen 9 3900X  | Memory : Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB | Motherboard : MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus | Win : 10.
Dennis9967
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:37 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Dennis9967 »

Ray Proudfoot wrote: Mon Sep 13, 2021 7:58 pm Dave, there seems to be several potential solutions for this problem. I can remember when I first got v5 I had it. V5.1 was the build I purchased.

Today’s possible solution was the fix I tried back then and it worked but then later on reverted to the default setting for reasons I can’t remember. Official Site

A few more flights without a problem will confirm it as the solution for me. I didn’t pause the flight before the first crash so there could well be loads of other possible causes. A nightmare to identify and fix.
Thanks for the update and quick reply. I'll be sure to keep an eye on this thread. Looking for the same issue. Bumped into your thread. Thanks for creating it. Looking forward for solution.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3993
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by JorgenSA »

Three things are mandatory for avoiding this error:

1. Windows 10 (and with that DX12) fully updated,

2. Graphics card driver fully updated,

3. Latest P3D version.

Unless you comply with all 3 items above, then support of this error is meaningless. Why? Because all the efforts to fix this issue from Microsoft, nVidia/AMD and L-M have gone into these versions already.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
User avatar
Afterburner SST
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:44 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Afterburner SST »

JorgenSA wrote: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:25 am Three things are mandatory for avoiding this error:

1. Windows 10 (and with that DX12) fully updated,

2. Graphics card driver fully updated,

3. Latest P3D version.

Unless you comply with all 3 items above, then support of this error is meaningless. Why? Because all the efforts to fix this issue from Microsoft, nVidia/AMD and L-M have gone into these versions already.

Jorgen
If it was that simple, we would never see cases where users who never had this error before suddenly get it. If you google this topic, you will see countless threads about the DXGI error going back all the way to P3Dv4.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3993
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by JorgenSA »

You are talking about the past.

I am talking about the present and the future. There is a certain difference.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
pommy80
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 8:40 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by pommy80 »

JorgenSA wrote: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:25 am Three things are mandatory for avoiding this error:

1. Windows 10 (and with that DX12) fully updated,

2. Graphics card driver fully updated,

3. Latest P3D version.

Unless you comply with all 3 items above, then support of this error is meaningless. Why? Because all the efforts to fix this issue from Microsoft, nVidia/AMD and L-M have gone into these versions already.

Jorgen
I had all 3 of these points updated, and still got the error.
GPU : Radeon RX 6800 16GB | CPU : AMD Ryzen 9 3900X  | Memory : Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB | Motherboard : MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus | Win : 10.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

pommy80 wrote: Fri Sep 17, 2021 7:24 am
I had all 3 of these points updated, and still got the error.
Same here. If the solution was that simple the problem would have gone away a long time ago.

The suggestion that turning off detection of this error seems to work for this user and others.

https://forums.flightsimlabs.com/index. ... ent=233626

It’s one I will be trying myself.
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 5.2GHz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3993
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by JorgenSA »

Ray,

Thank you for posting this solution.

Anyone trying this, please let us know the outcome.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

Jorgen,

I’ve flown two routes today, each 2 hours in duration. Both were fine.

If you search YouTube for “DXGI_DEVICE_HUNG” at least three videos demonstrate the same cure. The same as in my earlier link. It seems to be a well known problem and fix.

I’ll continue to fly routes of at least 1.5hrs to test the change I’ve made.
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 5.2GHz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5.2HF1 DXGI Device Hung error

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

I flew Rome to Istanbul this morning. Over 2 hours and no DXGI issues. That's 3 2-hour flights now with the TdrDelay value of 0 set in the Registry.

But others have still reported the problem with this setting. It's an extremely irritating issue especially when it never seems to occur at complex 3rd party airports but at altitude over pretty sparse terrain.

I will continue to test with this Registry setting. Some comments from LM would be appreciated.
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 5.2GHz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
Post Reply