Dynamic Texture Streaming

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
FlyBye
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 1:27 pm

Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby FlyBye » Fri May 01, 2020 1:33 pm

Can someone explain what this setting does ?

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2897
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby Rob McCarthy » Fri May 01, 2020 1:51 pm

This setting automatically reduces texture sizes on distant objects to reduce VRAM usage.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

ejawhary
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby ejawhary » Fri May 01, 2020 1:54 pm

I am experiencing blurries due to core 2, 4 and 6 being pegged at 100%. I have a i7 8700k " 5.3ghz HT off avx offs = 0 and a 1080ti. Any suggestions?

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2897
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby Rob McCarthy » Fri May 01, 2020 3:34 pm

Are you experiencing this with dynamic texture streaming on or off?

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

ejawhary
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby ejawhary » Fri May 01, 2020 4:58 pm

Both to be honest. I was experiencing it before the hotfix and now with the hotfix with dynamic streaming on or off. I limit my frames to 30 with v sync and a 30hz monitor with a lot of headroom, 40-50 FPS with vsync off.

zap737
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 3:27 am

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby zap737 » Fri May 01, 2020 5:05 pm

I can confirm blurries with cores 0, 1, 3, 5 being pegged at 100% on 8700K GTX 1080 TI. Dynamic texture streaming off.

Standard full install of V5 HF1 - no add ons.
Asus Z370-A | 8700K @ 5.0 Ghz | 32GB DDR 4 | GTX 1080TI | 4K Monitor @ 30Hz | Samsung 970 EVO | Track IR 5 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | Virpil Mongoose Stick | TM Warthog Throttle | MFG X-Wind Rudder Pedals | Orbx Global | Orbx Vector | Orbx OpenLC NA, EU

ejawhary
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby ejawhary » Sat May 02, 2020 1:40 am

Is this going to be addressed in the next hotfix?

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2199
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby Beau Hollis » Sat May 02, 2020 3:22 am

For users seeing every other core in use, are you disabling hyperthreading or using a custom node mask? By default Prepar3D uses all cores. You should always see activity on 3 of the cores, the main sim thread, and 2 threads used for per-frame rendering work. The other cores will only get high use when terrain or scenery is paging in or batches are building. If you go into slew mode and start zipping around, you should see all the cores getting used.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

zap737
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 3:27 am

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby zap737 » Sat May 02, 2020 3:27 am

For users seeing every other core in use, are you disabling hyperthreading or using a custom node mask?
I have hyperthreading disabled and I am seeing 4 out of 6 cores pegged as described in my post above. The other two cores are at about 20-30 %.

I have always found far better performance with hyperthreading disabled.

Are you saying to disable hyperthreading for V5 HF1 ?
Asus Z370-A | 8700K @ 5.0 Ghz | 32GB DDR 4 | GTX 1080TI | 4K Monitor @ 30Hz | Samsung 970 EVO | Track IR 5 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | Virpil Mongoose Stick | TM Warthog Throttle | MFG X-Wind Rudder Pedals | Orbx Global | Orbx Vector | Orbx OpenLC NA, EU

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2199
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby Beau Hollis » Sat May 02, 2020 3:48 am

It sounds like our background worker threads filled up with requests to generate new terrain textures and they can't keep up. You may want to try enabling HT to see if more terrain jobs complete faster. You may need to tune down settings or content to keep them at a level that the paging can keep up. Settings to consider:
- LOD Radius (increases number of tiles per LOD level.)
- Texture Resolution (Increase the number of LOD levels loaded)
- High Resolution Terrain Textures (This is 4x as many pixels per tile which increases memory usage and makes each texture take longer to generate)
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

zap737
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 3:27 am

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby zap737 » Sat May 02, 2020 4:09 am

It sounds like our background worker threads filled up with requests to generate new terrain textures and they can't keep up. You may want to try enabling HT to see if more terrain jobs complete faster. You may need to tune down settings or content to keep them at a level that the paging can keep up. Settings to consider:
- LOD Radius (increases number of tiles per LOD level.)
- Texture Resolution (Increase the number of LOD levels loaded)
- High Resolution Terrain Textures (This is 4x as many pixels per tile which increases memory usage and makes each texture take longer to generate)

Hi Beau, I did as you suggested above and enabled HT. The performance is less than half what I get with HT disabled in exactly the same scenario but with lower LOD, texture resolution and High Res Terrain disabled. The stuttering is unacceptable.

I have to say that the performance was far better in the first client. This client has introduced blurries and the terrain separation issue I raised here...http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=137576
Asus Z370-A | 8700K @ 5.0 Ghz | 32GB DDR 4 | GTX 1080TI | 4K Monitor @ 30Hz | Samsung 970 EVO | Track IR 5 | Windows 10 Pro x64 | Virpil Mongoose Stick | TM Warthog Throttle | MFG X-Wind Rudder Pedals | Orbx Global | Orbx Vector | Orbx OpenLC NA, EU

ejawhary
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby ejawhary » Sat May 02, 2020 5:16 am

I have also noticed the same when enabling HT. having the crazy stutters is worse than the blurries in my opinion. I hope this issue can be properly addressed.

MPO910
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 5:00 am

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby MPO910 » Sat May 02, 2020 5:55 am

I am also seeing this.

More stutters then in first V5 Build
More blurries
Less FPS (Example Airport FSDG FALE I had between 100 and 120 FPS with previous build. Now I have 80 to 100 FPS with this HF1 Build

My System specs:

Prepar3D_v5_Academic_5.0.24.34874

Edition Windows 10 Home
Version 2004
Installed on 20200501
OS Build 1904.208
Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2202.130.0

Latest Nvidia Drivers

HMD VR WMR HP Reverb v2
i7 8700K to 5.1 GhZ Stable HT OFF via BIOS
32 GB RAM 3600 MhZ Corsair Vengeance
RTX 2080ti no OC
32" Samsung UHD Monitor using highest resolution

Addons

GSX 2
ORBX Base
ORBX LC
ORBX TE NL
ORBX Regions
ORBX HD Buildings
ORBX HD Trees
Several Addon Aiports all by .xml method installed
Marcus P
Windows 10 Home 20H2
Build 19042.746
Feature Exp. Pack 120.2212.551.0
i9 10900K @ 5.0 Ghz | HT OFF | 1.32V
Mainboard ASUS ROG Maximus XII Formula Z490
32 GB RAM 3600 Mhz
RTX 3090 24GB
32" Samsung UHD Monitor
HP Reverb G2 VR HMD | Steam VR

ejawhary
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Dynamic Texture Streaming

Postby ejawhary » Sat May 02, 2020 7:24 am

I have good performance with HT off, Its just the blurries that's the issue.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fottip, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 125 guests