Page 1 of 1

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:42 pm
by lionheart
Hey all,



I see that only Max 2013 is available now. Can this run on the P3D SDK for Max 2012? I will assume that it cannot but thought I would ask.







Many thanks.







Bill

LHC

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 5:03 am
by VRS
Bump. other inquiring minds would like to know the answer to this since it's impossible to obtain older versions in any sane legal way that we've found. Autodesk updates Max yearly and if LM isn't willing to keep up, we'd really like to know. NO is a perfectly acceptable answer, but SOME answer with regard to your SDK intentions for current/future Max support would be very important to us.



Thanks,

Jon

VRS

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:34 pm
by N4GIX
There are two things that I suspect would have to happen before they could provide a new export module (which is all that's required):



1) install Max2013 locally and download/install the new SDK from Autodesk

2) recompile the export module using the new SDK's new support files for C++, and test throughly



All that requires both time and money... :)

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:44 am
by VRS
Hey Bill, long time no speak, and I hope all is well with you. I couldn't agree more that both time and money are involved (on both sides of these kinds of issues), but it seems to me LM should be willing to expend whatever resources are necessary in order to encourage developers to "jump ship", and not acknowledging these kinds of questions doesn't seem like the way to achieve anything. It may not even be necessary for LM to purchase a new version of Max yearly (which as I'm sure we can all agree would be a hardship for a small company like LM). The 30 day trial, or even the 3 month project lease option ($199) may be adequate to recompile.



I think it's frustrating to all concerned that every iteration of Max breaks compatibility, and it's not LM's fault to be sure. But since it would be unrealistic to expect AutoDesk to improve backwards compatibility, coupled with the fact that it IS LM's tools that are ultimately broken, the ball pretty much remains with them in terms of making developers happy.



Jon

VRS

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:07 pm
by WBard
Hey All,



We haven't meant to ignore this topic, we've been pretty hard at work at several internal milestones :)



We will have to recompile the tools to support Max 2013. While this will give you support in Max 2013, there will still be some legacy crashes that will require a total refactor of some of the innards of the modelling tools (these are why we called the Max2012 support we previously released a beta. The tools as they were written rely heavily on recursion and are prone to out of memory errors and crashes with larger polygon models). We will be supporting Max 2013 some time in the future, but I apologize I cannot give you a date.



Thanks again for your support of Prepar3D!

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:55 am
by lionheart


Quote:

We will be supporting Max 2013 some time in the future, but I apologize I cannot give you a date.



Thanks again for your support of Prepar3D!



Software Manager - Prepar3D® Team






Many thanks Mr. Bard. That is great news.



I might add that Seans powerful compiler is 64bit. The crashing is due mostly to the export system running on a 32bit platform. If we have 64bit, that would clear us with more modern, improved models/aircraft. Sean's compiler does this, but the tools are needed to export to X file as well via a 64bit interface with 3DS Max x64 and the P3D SDK. Presently, the P3D SDK is 3DS Max 32bit only. 64 shoudl bump things up and help us developers out immensely.



Also, for those of you wanting to go to Max, if you purchase 3DS Max 2013 (only one available presently, as they do not sell last years and beyond Editions), if you get the Subscription service, you are allowed to download/install versions back to 3DS Max 2010 in both 32bit and 64bit versions.



The nice thing about 64bit with Max is that we use tons of Ram, such as 16 Gigs (like when exporting) compared to only 4 Gigs of RAM when in the 32bit version, and also during renderings for things like Ambient Occlusions, etc, the performance with 64bit is much greater/faster as well.





Bill

LHC

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:38 pm
by lionheart
Just wanted to say, I just bought Max last week, and I am totally blown away with all the incredible tools this program now has. It will certainly speed up model making time and improve the quality of the mesh produced. Mapping tools, Mesh handling tools, looping selections, Pelt and Unfold mapping tools... I cant believe I have been without these all these years. Its a huge price for a 3D program, but goodness, what a package...