New DirectX 9 Gauges - 3D Objects?

vertigo
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:08 pm

Postby vertigo » Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:42 pm

Hey Guys,



Just started to review the new DirectX 9 rendering sample and had a question.



In the sample you render lines and text, would it be possible to render 3D objects as well?



Christian


User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2168
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Postby Beau Hollis » Mon Nov 08, 2010 1:24 pm

Yes, though be aware that the 3D scene is rendered to a 2D texture and then textured into the cockpit as a virtual cockpit panel. The sample uses a couple of simple colored triangles for the heading arrow, but they are rendered using 3D transforms.



We pass the raw device pointer to the gauge after saving off our internal states and setting the render target up for our virtual cockpit texture. It should be possible to do just about anything supported by Directx9, though there are some caveats which I believe are mentioned in the SDK article.

Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

simaddons
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:11 am

Postby simaddons » Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:01 pm

@Beau



Same question here - I have deep knowledge in using meshes.

So what do you think - is it possible to develop this direct:



SVT = Synthetic Vision Technology

SVS = Synthetic Vision Systems



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WChQiApFec

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCWf8-rhfzU



Cheers,

Ralph


User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2168
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Postby Beau Hollis » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:19 am

It would be a pretty significant development effort, but it could be done. You would have to manage your own database, since gauges don't have access to Prepar3D's textures and meshes. You could alternatively use a RenderToTexture view to put a Prepar3D view's render onto the MFD panel, but that currently has limitations that prevent layering gauge elements on top of the image.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

simaddons
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:11 am

Postby simaddons » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:36 am

Thanks - will try it.



Yes, own mesh database with different resolutions and simple textures.

Like the original - synthetic database. It's not a radar.



Development time - winter is coming!

And perhaps some other developer will help me.



Cheers,

Ralph

fsdreamscapes
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 5:07 pm

Postby fsdreamscapes » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:24 pm

Ralph, count me in as well on that if you need any help, SVS is a very big interest of mine. Especially in terms of helping save lives.

simaddons
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:11 am

Postby simaddons » Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:46 pm

@Dean - Thanks, your welcome, and check your email...


Return to “SimConnect Interface Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests