Connecting to a real aircraft/ raspberry pi

Discuss on the SimConnect SDK can be used by programmers to write add-on components for Prepar3D
vamshi.chittaluri

Connecting to a real aircraft/ raspberry pi

Post by vamshi.chittaluri »

Hello All,

Nice to meet you all.
I am new to Prepar3D and look forward to learning a lot and meeting you all.

I am a Graduate student and am participating in a research project. At our organization, we are working on a simulation program that will be embedded inside an aircraft. We have an aircraft, from which data is being drawn from various sensors via a and onto a RaspberryPI. I have to work with Prepar3D, do you have any suggestions on how to get started? The simulation PC will be in a passenger seat inside the aircraft.

I guess the workflow is as follows:

A/C Data drawn from AIRCRAFT -> via simObjects/simConnect send to Prepar3D.

Looking forward to your comments and any help I can get. Would really appreciate any help!
Thankyou.

Kind Regards
Vamshi
Tadghostal

Re: Connecting to a real aircraft/ raspberry pi

Post by Tadghostal »

I did something vary similar to what you are trying to accomplish. If you look at the linuxsimulation example in the SDK it offers a pretty good starting point for this type of project.

If you start with that example, then Simulation::Update is where you will pass your aircraft state into P3D. Of course there are other things you have to setup to get a full simulation than what they go through in the example. If you need more help feel free to message me and I will see if I can help you.
lilycollins

Re: Connecting to a real aircraft/ raspberry pi

Post by lilycollins »

Connecting Raspberry Pi via SSH
To connect to the Pi via SSH, you will need to know your Raspberry Pi IP address. If you're running the Pi without a monitor, you can find the IP address in your router's DHCP lease table. Otherwise, if you have a monitor plugged in, use the ip command to determine the board's IP address