Transparent Window (HUD)

For topics related to the creation of simulation objects (SimObjects). This includes development of aircraft, ground, and maritime vehicles.
mattychays
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:10 pm

Transparent Window (HUD)

Postby mattychays » Sat May 11, 2019 7:20 pm

I have successfully generated a 2D Texture using the PDK, when I try to use that as the background of a Window via the "Texture=" it does not appear transparent and the Window cannot be moved.

Essentially I'm trying to draw a DirectX HUD to a transparent window that I can drag over a 2D view to simulate looking through a HUD.

Thanks!

-Matty
"Set 1010!"

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2171
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Transparent Window (HUD)

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue May 14, 2019 12:50 pm

Hi Matty,

Have you tried using a panel for the HUD? The texture00 entry can be used to place textures on the panel.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

mattychays
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:10 pm

Re: Transparent Window (HUD)

Postby mattychays » Sun May 19, 2019 7:56 pm

Mr. McCarthy,

Thanks for your quick response! I will give the Panel approach a try and see how it goes!


Return to “Simulation Object Development Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest