Some scenery issues...

Discussion related to terrain/scenery design.
PhilK
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:25 pm

Some scenery issues...

Postby PhilK » Sun May 24, 2020 7:11 am

Not sure I have been posting in the appropriate thread, and should have possibly posted here? (moderators, please please feel free to move the posts if/as needed)
Posted on May 22nd at https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... &start=120
Thank you in advance
Windows 10 x64, Z170A Gaming Pro Mobo, i7-6700K CPU (no O/C), 16 Gb DDR4 RAM, GTX1060 6 Gb, P3D v5.1.12, Toposim mesh, FTX Global Base, Vector, OpenLC EU, OpenLC North America, OpenLC South America, OpenLC Africa, Trees HD, ASP3D, ASCA

User avatar
Max Perry
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Some scenery issues...

Postby Max Perry » Tue May 26, 2020 4:03 pm

Yeah, that thread is long! If you have new issues feel free to make a new post in here or the support thread, we'll find it.

PhilK
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:25 pm

Re: Some scenery issues...

Postby PhilK » Wed May 27, 2020 10:09 am

Wilco, Max
Thank you
Windows 10 x64, Z170A Gaming Pro Mobo, i7-6700K CPU (no O/C), 16 Gb DDR4 RAM, GTX1060 6 Gb, P3D v5.1.12, Toposim mesh, FTX Global Base, Vector, OpenLC EU, OpenLC North America, OpenLC South America, OpenLC Africa, Trees HD, ASP3D, ASCA

PhilK
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:25 pm

Tanganyka Lake - FLBA to FZRF

Postby PhilK » Wed May 27, 2020 10:46 am

FLBA :
Image
Into the sim, FLBA (Mbala airport) is at 5170ft MSL.
Using stock mesh, the mean altitude of surrounding terrain is 5462ft.
Using Toposim mesh, the mean altitude around is in the 5444ft range.
Airport Guide and Skybrary report an airport altitude at 5454ft MSL.

Tanganyka Lake :
Water surface elevation issue?
Image
Image
I guess that so huge waterbodies may not be easy to get entire surface at the same level...

MXA4
Estacion Aeronaval, Tulum, was MXA4 into P3D4, and the same in P3D5, although apparently ICAO was changed to MMTU (sources SkyVector, PilotNav)

It is great to now have into the simulator itself more accurate Vector data than in the previous releases, as well as updated airports (Id's and locations)! Guess it has been a fair pile of work!

Have a good day
Windows 10 x64, Z170A Gaming Pro Mobo, i7-6700K CPU (no O/C), 16 Gb DDR4 RAM, GTX1060 6 Gb, P3D v5.1.12, Toposim mesh, FTX Global Base, Vector, OpenLC EU, OpenLC North America, OpenLC South America, OpenLC Africa, Trees HD, ASP3D, ASCA

User avatar
Max Perry
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Some scenery issues...

Postby Max Perry » Wed May 27, 2020 3:19 pm

Thanks for posting, and for providing screenshots and sources! That's super helpful. I'll look into those today.


Return to “Scenery Development Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests