Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

For all topics that don't fit into another category. Note that we cannot promise that any of these posts will be responded to by our development team.
Post Reply
powayjoe
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:49 pm

Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by powayjoe »

I was wondering if the shore waves could be disabled in P3Dv5 ? I find them to be very unrealistic particularly around KSFO Bay Area. I set water effects to Ultra and like what I see with the new Wave Effects but really don’t want to see the shoreline white wave effects. I am very familiar with making config file changes and would love to know if there’s an entry that could be changed or added to eliminate the shore waves?

Thanks in advance.

Joe
I9-9900KS 5.1GHz, RTX 2080 FTW3 Hybrid, Trident 32GB DDR4 3200 C14, EVO 970 2TB M.2, Corsair AX-850, Gigabyte A-390 Master, Oculus Rift S, 40 inch 4K Screen at 30 Hz, VKB Gunfighter, Virpil Moongoost 50,MFG Crosswind Pedals, CP, Linda, VA, FFTF, P2ATC
powayjoe
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by powayjoe »

Still hoping someone at LM will respond?
There must be a config file enters that enables these.

Again any help or even a “no it can’t be done” would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Joe
I9-9900KS 5.1GHz, RTX 2080 FTW3 Hybrid, Trident 32GB DDR4 3200 C14, EVO 970 2TB M.2, Corsair AX-850, Gigabyte A-390 Master, Oculus Rift S, 40 inch 4K Screen at 30 Hz, VKB Gunfighter, Virpil Moongoost 50,MFG Crosswind Pedals, CP, Linda, VA, FFTF, P2ATC
bvdboomen
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:07 pm

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by bvdboomen »

You can try to find the fx file and rename it?
I haven't done this myself but that's where I would look.
F737NG
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 2:31 am

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by F737NG »

powayjoe wrote: Sun May 10, 2020 4:36 pm I was wondering if the shore waves could be disabled in P3Dv5 ?
I'm not on v5 yet, however in v4 there is a method for removing waves.

In the Terrain.cfg file put // in front of each line that contains 'wavecontroller', 'lakewavecontroller' and if you use Orbx, 'Cntrl_Orbx_oceansurf' and 'fx_HS_FSX_oceanwavecontroller'.

e.g.: //Effect=wavecontroller

As there are many entries, you can use the Find and Replace function.

If your text editor supports Regular Expressions, it's even faster:

Find: ^Effect(.*)wave(.*)$
Replace: //$0

and also;

Find: ^Effect(.*)oceansurf(.*)$
Replace: //$0

Please let me know if that works.
User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 3063
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by Rob McCarthy »

Hello Joe,

We removed these effects from the scenery config in v5. Are you seeing this in a clean installation?

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead
powayjoe
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by powayjoe »

Yes I am seeing the same white lined wave affects crashing on and into the shorelines with a clean install of v5. I have version 4.5 still installed on the system but v5 was a clean install.

Joe
I9-9900KS 5.1GHz, RTX 2080 FTW3 Hybrid, Trident 32GB DDR4 3200 C14, EVO 970 2TB M.2, Corsair AX-850, Gigabyte A-390 Master, Oculus Rift S, 40 inch 4K Screen at 30 Hz, VKB Gunfighter, Virpil Moongoost 50,MFG Crosswind Pedals, CP, Linda, VA, FFTF, P2ATC
User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 3063
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by Rob McCarthy »

Hi Joe,

Does running the "Delete Generated Files" shortcut in the Prepar3D application directory have any effect? Also can you post a screenshot of the location where you are seeing these waves as well as your weather settings?

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead
Alox
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by Alox »

Rob/Joe.

Are you referring to this waves?

These are from MMMT:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/e4hbbi8voca3t ... 1.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5hboojnt1401h ... 2.jpg?dl=0

Regards.
powayjoe
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by powayjoe »

Yes those are the style of waves I see on shores and inland canals that I don’t like and would like to shut down.
Are you saying they are not generated by P3D and if so what’s MMMT and how can I get rid of them?

Joe
I9-9900KS 5.1GHz, RTX 2080 FTW3 Hybrid, Trident 32GB DDR4 3200 C14, EVO 970 2TB M.2, Corsair AX-850, Gigabyte A-390 Master, Oculus Rift S, 40 inch 4K Screen at 30 Hz, VKB Gunfighter, Virpil Moongoost 50,MFG Crosswind Pedals, CP, Linda, VA, FFTF, P2ATC
Alox
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by Alox »

I dont like either but these kind of waves are generated by P3D. I think there is no reason to have it them with the new dynamic ocean mode with NVIDIA WaveWorks 2.0, from what Rob says, I understand this effect should not be enabled in version 5 but nevertheless in the hotfix it is still showing. MMMT is the ICAO for Minatitlán/Coatzacoalcos International Airpor.

Let's wait for them to confirm us.

Regards.
Alox
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by Alox »

Any comments?.

Regards.
powayjoe
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by powayjoe »

Rob any reply as to why we still see them?

I have turned off the relevant “wave” files and now they’re gone but that’s not something I wish to keep doing since they’re not supposed to be there in v5.

Joe
I9-9900KS 5.1GHz, RTX 2080 FTW3 Hybrid, Trident 32GB DDR4 3200 C14, EVO 970 2TB M.2, Corsair AX-850, Gigabyte A-390 Master, Oculus Rift S, 40 inch 4K Screen at 30 Hz, VKB Gunfighter, Virpil Moongoost 50,MFG Crosswind Pedals, CP, Linda, VA, FFTF, P2ATC
Alox
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by Alox »

In the meantime i did what F737NG said. That works for me.
Alox
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by Alox »

I detected that every time that I install an Orbx update the waves become active in the Terrain.cfg.

Regards.
Alox
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Can shoreline waves be disabled in P3Dv5 ?

Post by Alox »

Hi.

Well regarding this issue I suppose you have to work together with Orbx team because the waves are reactivate every time that I install an Orbx update on Prepar3d Hotfix 2.

Regards.
Post Reply