P3D V5 with HF1 - Slow Loading PMDG 747 Textures

For all topics that don't fit into another category. Note that we cannot promise that any of these posts will be responded to by our development team.
SimonWest
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:49 pm

P3D V5 with HF1 - Slow Loading PMDG 747 Textures

Postby SimonWest » Sat May 23, 2020 8:38 am

Hi

Since purchasing V5 and updating with HF1 I am having numerous issues with CTD's and also slow loading of PMDG 747 Textures as the Youtube video I made showing my settings etc. below.

https://youtu.be/hvU971GADO8

My spec's are as follows:-

HP Omen 17-an054na 17.3” Gaming Laptop
Core i7-7700HQ 16GB 1TB + 128GB NVDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Upgraded Samsung EVO 970 SSD hard drive recently to 500 GB

As you can see in the video i have turned down the graphic settings and still having issues. I have never experienced this with previous P3D versions to this extent.

Hoping you can help.

Regards

Simon

JorgenSA
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D V5 with HF1 - Slow Loading PMDG 747 Textures

Postby JorgenSA » Sat May 23, 2020 8:45 am

Simon,

The base clock rate of your CPU is 2.8 GHz, the minimum required for P3D is 3.0 GHz, as per the system requirements, found here:

https://www.prepar3d.com/system-requirements/

And before you say that the turbo clock rate is 3.8 GHz, yes, I saw that, and the turbo clock rate only applies for a limited time, until the electrical and/or cooling limits are reached.

As for the crashes, I have seen in other threads that the PMDG 747 may not be fully compatible with v. 5. For that question, please contact PMDG support.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

SimonWest
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:49 pm

Re: P3D V5 with HF1 - Slow Loading PMDG 747 Textures

Postby SimonWest » Sat May 23, 2020 1:05 pm

Hi Jorgen

I hear what you are saying and might be a part to play in it. The rest of the time I am getting good FPS and the CPU load when the textures are rendering is less than 50% so still think there is another issue.

I have already approached PMDG and they couldn’t see any issues on their side.

Regards

Simon


Return to “Miscellaneous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 22 guests