Prepar3D v2.5 - Available Now!

Forum Rules & News
Chazypax
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:53 pm

Postby Chazypax » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:33 am

Could somebody please help me.

I am running v2.4 with a few aircraft add-ons does this mean I will need to uninstall 2.4 and all my addons or do I just uninstall 2.4 and install 2.5?

Also, to un-install, do I go through my program files or do I use the uninstaller in the setup.exe file?

Saul
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:02 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Postby Saul » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:13 am

Hi Chazpax,

You will need to uninstall v2.4 before installing v2.5.
I personally would use the v2.4 setup.exe to uninstall.
You also need to delete these folders before starting your install.

%PROGRAMDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2
%LOCALAPPDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2
%APPDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2
%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Prepar3D v2 Files

nemo06
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 1:10 pm

Postby nemo06 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:32 am

If I understand correctly, some addons are external to P3D and other addons are internal to P3D.
Therefore we will have to do so, when available:

- ASN,REX and FSGlobal 2010: re-download only the new installer.
- All ORBX products (Global, Vector, OpenLC, lights Configurator): re-download the full products.

is that correct?

flopes81
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 11:34 pm

Postby flopes81 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:40 am

Install all over again? This is not an update. Since I have no time for that, I'll be in version 2.4 ...




Google translate

Chazypax
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:53 pm

Postby Chazypax » Wed Feb 11, 2015 5:11 am

Ok thanks Saul,

Where can I find this setup.exe?

Also, also heard ASN at the current time has issues etc etc along with a couple of other addons. Shall I just leave them all installed and then just re-install them with the new installer as they are released?

mariodantas
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:09 pm

Postby mariodantas » Wed Feb 11, 2015 5:25 am

No update from 2.4 to 2.5 ?.

Damn, I've iFly CBE installed and activated in my 2.4 setup, have no time to unistall and reinstall all my add-ons

Why do you release a 2.5 withous the possibility to update from 2.4 ?

mikced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 6:47 am

Postby mikced » Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:17 am

great news! Personally I have too much time invested in getting addons to work perfectly and various tweaks and setting in 2.4 so I will not bother to update to 2.5. Not that many (to me) relevant new features either.

Mike

FiberGorilla
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 9:04 am

Postby FiberGorilla » Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:20 am

@mariondantas:

I'm afraid that isn't possible. Version 2.5 got a complete new folder structure.

We all like maximum performance of our sim so it is better anyway to do a new installation. I'm wondering if the installers of the add-ons will work with P3D V2.5.

Please check at the add-ons websites if there are new installers/updates before you do any un-installations....

//Arthur

sarsonk001
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:52 pm

Postby sarsonk001 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 7:47 am

I took a year off from flight simulation. I left off at version 2.2. I spent the last few days coming back up to speed and installed 2.5 last night. Looks like I came back just in time. I got to say that 2.5 is a huge improvement for me. Not using NI anymore, just in app settings. The shadowing is awesome and the performance increase is fantastic. I'm starting off completely stock except for the F1Tech G1000 which I have to have since I decided to go the cockpit building route.

I also upgraded to SSD's finally. Definitely a worth while upgrade. :)

Great job LM!!! :)


Celis
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 3:10 pm

Postby Celis » Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:27 am

Thanks Adam, downloaded without a problem..
Great Job LM.

Alex

frmalan
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:12 pm

Postby frmalan » Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:07 am

Would it be possible in future, to split the installer into the simulator and the global scenery? I am asking under the assumption that the default terrain mesh and textures do not really change between minor releases and makes up a large portion of the 10GB installer download.

abranpuko
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:04 am

Postby abranpuko » Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:11 am

Hello! Great Prepar3d v2.5! very soft and great colours.
is there a way to increase de distance of lights at night of ai traffic aircraft?

thanks!

Vavun
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 9:08 am

Postby Vavun » Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:56 am

Congratulations to all with access prepar3d 2.5. Everything works fine, but after installing orbx FTX GLOBAL writes an error (terrain.cfg not found). Has anyone encountered the same problem?

sarsonk001
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:52 pm

Postby sarsonk001 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:45 pm

Vavun,

ORBX said on their forum that they are about to release an update for FTX Global etc that will address issues installing into P3D 2.5.

Adam Breed
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:17 pm

Postby Adam Breed » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:44 pm

frmalan,

Future releases will incorporate an installation procedure that is similar to your comment. We will provide detailed information once our new patching/installation procedure is completed.

We definitely do not like to force the 10GB download on everyone more than once!
Prepar3D® Engineering Project Manager


Return to “Rules & News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest