p3d v4.4 on ssd (c:) but want all add-ons on 2nd drive hdd (d:)

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
threshold
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:08 pm

p3d v4.4 on ssd (c:) but want all add-ons on 2nd drive hdd (d:)

Postby threshold » Wed Mar 20, 2019 6:21 pm

Hello,

I'll be doing a full install of p3d v4.4 onto my c: drive (ssd) and want to place all add-ons in my d: drive (hdd). Is this possible and if so how can I accomplish this? My c: drive is only 256GB and d: is 1TB. Sorry for asking possibly a newbie question.

Thanks for any help re: this matter.
Regards,

Threshold

elgreco111
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 11:41 am

Re: p3d v4.4 on ssd (c:) but want all add-ons on 2nd drive hdd (d:)

Postby elgreco111 » Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:36 pm

Hi ! Makes no sense to put add ons on an hdd, is much slower than ssd. I have my p3d on an own ssd d: My win 10 on c:
Keep flying Robert
My Specs: Win 10 Prof x64, Build 2004/ 20H2,I7-7700K, MSI Z270 GAMING PRO CARBON, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB, RAM 32GB G. Skill Trident Z, 1 TB M.2 Crucial, 1 TB Samsung SSD, 500 MB Samsung SSD, Acer Predator 27''

User avatar
downscc
Posts: 1593
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: KCRP

Re: p3d v4.4 on ssd (c:) but want all add-ons on 2nd drive hdd (d:)

Postby downscc » Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:38 pm

Hello,

I'll be doing a full install of p3d v4.4 onto my c: drive (ssd) and want to place all add-ons in my d: drive (hdd). Is this possible and if so how can I accomplish this? My c: drive is only 256GB and d: is 1TB. Sorry for asking possibly a newbie question.

Thanks for any help re: this matter.
It makes perfect sense to use a HDD for data storage. Even Orbx with their gigabyte sized files says in their forum that this is okay and the only downside is you might notice longer loading times. However, once up and running then there is no noticable impact. Sure, a SSD is better but go ahead and use it if you got it.
Dan Downs
KCRP

threshold
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:08 pm

Re: p3d v4.4 on ssd (c:) but want all add-ons on 2nd drive hdd (d:)

Postby threshold » Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:15 pm

Hello Dan,

Thanks for your reply and I'm going to give it a try on D: drive. Perhaps in the next while I'll think about a 2TB ssd for D: as prices come down. I just want to get the ball rolling and get flying.

All the best,

Brett Martin
Regards,

Threshold


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests