Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
American398
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:17 pm

Hi guys. I just recently installed Version 4.4 today and encountered an issue while streaming on twitch. its hard to explain so I will let you watch the video posted. Now i uninstalled the 4.4 client and re installed the 4.3 client and had no issues. I then went back to the 4.4 client just to verify 100% and sure enough had the same issue under 4.4.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nXPZWXp ... e=youtu.be

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Poppet » Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:53 pm

Hello American398

Have you tried regenerating the Prepar3D.cfg file ?

Have a look at the topic below for steps to take.

Let us know how you get on

viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=131587

American398
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:31 am

tried both those steps and got the same result on 4.4

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Poppet » Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:41 pm

Hello American398

Thank you for posting the video

Can you explain a little more on the Issue you are experiencing ?

American398
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 12:14 am

well whenever i use game capture on OBS and then i go to a menu in P3D, when i close the menu it freezes on OBS/Twitch stream. P3D runs fine but OBS still displays a frozen menu. This only happens on 4.4. 4.3 is fine no issues.

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1861
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Beau Hollis » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:29 am

We have had hardware acceleration disabled in WPF for previous releases. We enabled it in 4.4 because we didn't see any adverse effects of doing so unless we were using GPU debugging tools. This might be related to why your streaming app is hanging. I believe there are ways to force this off in the OS. If you are comfortable making registry modifications on your PC, this MSDN article may provide some usefull information on diagnosing if this is the cause.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet ... y-settings

Thanks
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

American398
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:47 pm

I’m sorry guys, I’m not going to jump through hoops. I’ll just go back to 4.3

User avatar
Simbol
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Simbol » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:59 pm

We have had hardware acceleration disabled in WPF for previous releases. We enabled it in 4.4 because we didn't see any adverse effects of doing so unless we were using GPU debugging tools. This might be related to why your streaming app is hanging. I believe there are ways to force this off in the OS. If you are comfortable making registry modifications on your PC, this MSDN article may provide some usefull information on diagnosing if this is the cause.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet ... y-settings

Thanks
Hi Beau,

Some guys are using also this registry edit to allow Reshade to work under P3D 4.4, however I am wondering if it would be posible to disable the hardware acceleration only for P3D via some manifest file or something similar instead of doing it via regedit for the entire range of WPF application under the operating system.

Thanks,
Simbol
Image
CEO Flight Sim Technologies Ltd
Oficial Website: https://www.FSReborn.com

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1861
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Beau Hollis » Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:20 am

We will turn it back off in the next release. Unfortunately, it looks like it takes a .net call from code linked to the app to change the mode at a per-app level. It might be possible for an add-on to modify the setting using C++ to C# interop, but it doesn't look like there is any OS configuration for it.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet ... RenderMode

The reg edit could probably be automated by making a pair of batch scripts for enabling/disabling the global setting. As always, exercise caution if you choose to modify the registry.

Thanks
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

Martyson
Posts: 4635
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Martyson » Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:43 am

Will this problem with P3Dv4.4 affect video recording and playback on a local PC?
For example , to create a video to post on YouTube?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
Simbol
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Simbol » Sat Dec 08, 2018 11:51 am

We will turn it back off in the next release. Unfortunately, it looks like it takes a .net call from code linked to the app to change the mode at a per-app level. It might be possible for an add-on to modify the setting using C++ to C# interop, but it doesn't look like there is any OS configuration for it.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet ... RenderMode

The reg edit could probably be automated by making a pair of batch scripts for enabling/disabling the global setting. As always, exercise caution if you choose to modify the registry.

Thanks
Hi Beau,

Understood, I will try to do a freeware that change this setting at runtime for P3D until the next realise. This way people can operate as before without changing their registry, etc.

I will report back when is done so users can use that tool to allow RESHADE, recording and other similar apps with issues to work in the meantime.

Thanks for the links.

All the best,
Simbol
Image
CEO Flight Sim Technologies Ltd
Oficial Website: https://www.FSReborn.com

Martyson
Posts: 4635
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Martyson » Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:40 am

I tested video recording and playback .. all ok with P3Dv4.4
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

American398
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:13 pm

just update to the most recent graphics drivers and the issue persists.

User avatar
BLB
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 am
Location: Chatillon 92
Contact:

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby BLB » Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:26 pm

Hi ! I had this problem with Geforce experience, I fixed it by deactivating the notifications in geforce experience.
Core I7 3770, GTX 970 : http://fran-avia-virt.clicforum.fr

American398
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Wed Dec 12, 2018 9:48 pm

Hi ! I had this problem with Geforce experience, I fixed it by deactivating the notifications in geforce experience.
Ok, thanks for the reply. Will do that and report back with the results.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests