New System Planning SSD

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
Blaunarwal
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:37 pm
Location: LSZH

New System Planning SSD

Postby Blaunarwal » Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:00 pm

Hi

I'm planning a new system for P3D4 and looking at available hardware I got aware, there is a rather new interface for SSDs, called M.2. So the ASUS ROG Strix Z390 board has two of them. It's possible to buy M.2 SSDs in sizes up to 2 TB.

At the moment I have a SATA III SSD for the OS and use a SATA III raid of two conventional HDs for P3D4. Flying into an area with a large city or airport always stopps the sim for a few seconds to load the scenery. My HDs aren't the fastest, about 150 MB/s each, so I get about 300 together. Newer drives get 25% more. But I think it's still not fast enough compared to SSDs starting at 600 MB/s for old ones. The M.2 connected Samsung 970 EVO reads at 3500 Mb/s.

For me it looks obvious to put P3D4 on a M.2 SSD is the fastes solution in respect to loading times. So my question now is, shall i buy two such SSDs, one for the OS and one for the sim, eg 500 GB and 2 TB or have you other ideas how to improve loading times? The drives cost about $145 and $568. I could of course save one drive and set two partitions for each and keep one interface empty for later expansions.

Another problem is the texture loading. I have acutally a fast GTX 1080 with 8GB memory which gives outstanding performance. But when I switch views and look around AI airplanes and sometimes buildings are black untextured for a moment before the textures load. What are good hardware measures to overcome this. Or is it a simple setting I had to change?

Looking forward to your thoughts and opinions.

Regards

Dan
Image

User avatar
downscc
Posts: 908
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: KCRP

Re: New System Planning SSD

Postby downscc » Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:03 pm

Hi Dan:

The M.2 form factor has been around a few years and is more of a form factor specification although it does move the I/O device off the SATA ports to the faster PCIe lanes. I have a NVMe SSD in the M.2 forum factor that I use for system drive and P3D. All scenery and addons for P3D are on a second SSD that is in a SATA port.

Study your options carefully, most second M.2 ports come at a price in that if used then some of the PCIe or SATA slots are no longer available.
Dan Downs
KCRP

Blaunarwal
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:37 pm
Location: LSZH

Re: New System Planning SSD

Postby Blaunarwal » Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Study your options carefully, most second M.2 ports come at a price in that if used then some of the PCIe or SATA slots are no longer available.
Hi Dan

Thanks for this advice. I will check the board I'm intended to buy. So that's a point for using only one M.2 Drive, the larger one. I'm not sure, if the OS has to be that fast. A normal SATA III SSD should do it too.

When looking at complete systems for Gamers or Flightsim, they usually only use a small SSD for the OS and have a conventional HD on SATA III. The don't even use a RAID to improve performance, although a good 1TB HD isn't very expensive.

Dan
Image

jpfx
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:30 pm

Re: New System Planning SSD

Postby jpfx » Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:25 pm

I have two m.2s on an asus board. you will probably find that both can run full speed but for one you must not plug anything into SATA socket(s) that are on the same chain. if you're not using SATA drives then it won't be an issue. if you have SATA drives also then the motherboard manual will tell you what sockets to avoid (SATA 5&6 on your motherboard).


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests