[RESOLVED] Upgrade from P3D ver 4.0 to ver 4.2

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
alanmowle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 10:22 am

[RESOLVED] Upgrade from P3D ver 4.0 to ver 4.2

Postby alanmowle » Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:23 pm

I would simply like to upgrade to ver 4.2 I downloaded everything OK hit the install and the install wheel came upp and rotated for about 45 minutes and stopped, nothing had been installed, and the download had gone. do I have to unistall anything first. please keep it simple. I want to upgrade to ver 4.2 from ver 4.0
Intel Core i7-7700K
Dell S2716 DG Monitor
Graphics card MSI GTX 1080 ARMOR 8G OC
SSD Intel 600p M.2 512GB SSD
NVMe HDD WD 2TB Blue 64 MBs cache
RAM Kingston 16GB KIT DDR4 2666MHz CL13 HyperX Savage Black
Water cooling NZXT Kraken X41
LED backlight
Power supplySeasonic M12II-620 Evo
PC caseNZXT S340 Elite Limited
Operating systemWindows 10 Home 64-bit
Megascenery Earth England & Wale
UK 200 Airports S England

User avatar
MikeB54
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:46 pm
Location: Hudson, NH

Re: Upgrade from P3D ver 4.0 to ver 4.2

Postby MikeB54 » Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:37 pm

In reality, there is no such thing as an in-place upgrade of P3D. You have to uninstall the component you wish to upgrade and then install the new component. You at least have to uninstall and reinstall the client but going from 4.0 to 4.2 you will probably also want to do the content.

Mike

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2083
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: Upgrade from P3D ver 4.0 to ver 4.2

Postby Poppet » Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:12 am

Hello alanmowle

As Mike has posted you need to uninstall the current components first and then Install the updated components

The Client update is the primary update and all that is required to update Prepar3D v4 to a more recent version.

The Content and Scenery are optional updates.

Please see This Topic for steps to update Prepar3D v4 using the update component Installers

Let us know how you get on

alanmowle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 10:22 am

Re: Upgrade from P3D ver 4.0 to ver 4.2

Postby alanmowle » Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:55 pm

Hi Poppet, Thank you for the simple direction, much appreciated. I now have Client 4.2.21.24048 and my Prepar3D version is the same. I only do very simple VFR flying, but wanted to start using ATC, do I have to change Content in the same way I did Client to benefit from any ATC improvements. I am 86 and I need VFR type instructions when doing anything, no use assuming I know anything. Thanks for the Client. Best regards....Alan

alanmowle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 10:22 am

Re: Upgrade from P3D ver 4.0 to ver 4.2

Postby alanmowle » Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:29 pm

Hi again Poppet,
I am entirely happy with the new Client and do not wish for Content. Thanks again for the help, it was very easyto follow the instructions. It is the Jargon that confused me ‘Client’ has very computer terminal connotations, but contained all of the enhancements intrinsic to the upgrade, despite its fairly small size. I only fly 1 aircraft for pleasure, and do not want any further Content, aircraft etc., or more scenery, my megascenery Earth is ‘perfect’.
Best regards. Alan


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests