Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
m007j
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 4:46 pm

Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby m007j » Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:02 pm

I've been plagued by this issue in the past few flights I've tried, where P3D crashes when I hit the A key to switch from Fly-By view to Top-Down view. This occurs regardless of aircraft (including default) and occurs randomly, never on the first attempt to change views immediately after the sim starts. The Windows log actually has faulted different modules each time this occurs, but it is always the same event (using A to switch through those specific views) that causes the crash.

Computer specs: (Inspiron 15 laptop)
Processor i5-4200U (2.3GHz), Graphics card Intel HD Graphics Family (driver 20.19.15.4531), 8GB RAM
Addons:
PMDG 777 (+300ER expansion)
FSDT GSX, Charlotte, Houston
Taxi2Gate LFPG, OTHH, VHHH
Flytampa EHAM, EKCH

The only change I've made to P3D.cfg is to adjust the Fiber_Frame value to 0.01.

Here are 2 separate Windows logs for the same type of event, about 6 days apart.
Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 4.0.28.21686, time stamp: 0x594a7255
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 10.0.14393.1358, time stamp: 0x59327897
Exception code: 0xc0020001
Fault offset: 0x0000000000033c58
Faulting process id: 0x5cc
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2ff155f72c1b8
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report Id: e14fd0c5-093e-4d4b-9d1f-ae5811f328b7
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
There are 3 of these with the same module faults.
And the earlier event:
Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 4.0.28.21686, time stamp: 0x594a7255
Faulting module name: menus.dll, version: 4.0.28.21686, time stamp: 0x594a71cc
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0000000000005100
Faulting process id: 0x29d0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2fb1a880b9559
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\menus.dll
Report Id: c9889460-366f-4215-a7f3-d09363a70967
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
There are 2 of these with the same module faults.

Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:58 pm

Hello,

Are you able to reproduce this crash without any addons installed?

Have you gone through our debugging steps?
http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=123246

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

khoubolt
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:03 am

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby khoubolt » Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:34 pm

Hello all,

Have the same problem after a few minutes (VFR) flying.
P3D V4 freezes (except the sound) and after approx one minute it crashes to desktop without any error message.
The reliability monitor shows the message below.
I deleted the generated files and followed the general debugging steps above.
This did not solve the problem.
I have no addons installed, just ORBX global, Vector and LC
Like to hear from you.

Beschrijving
Pad naar toepassing met fout: D:\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe

Probleem met handtekening
Naam van probleemgebeurtenis: APPCRASH
Naam van de toepassing: Prepar3D.exe
Versie van toepassing: 4.0.28.21686
Tijdstempel van toepassing: 594a7255
Naam van foutmodule: KERNELBASE.dll
Versie van foutmodule: 10.0.15063.483
Tijdstempel van foutmodule: aa6457d1
Uitzonderingscode: c0020001
Uitzonderingsmarge: 0000000000069e08
Versie van besturingssysteem: 10.0.15063.2.0.0.256.48
Landinstelling-id: 1043
Uitzonderingscode: c0020001

Extra informatie over het probleem
Bucket-id: bbfae74274203000122c8bb326f4c70f (120794897339)

m007j
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 4:46 pm

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby m007j » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:03 pm

Yes, it happens on the vanilla version as well, but not with every aircraft. I spent the last few hours uninstalling everything to see what's up. The problem occurs on the L-1049, the Black Hawk, and the Mooney. Oddly, it doesn't occur on any of the other planes, except the PMDG. It occurs with the 777 and with both FlyTampa airports. Today was the first time it affected a Taxi2Gate airport (OTHH).
And yes, I've gone through the general steps provided in the debug post.

Marcus

neilnm
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:18 am

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby neilnm » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:29 pm

Same issue with me but mine does not CTD. It hangs, FPS drops to 1 for about 10-15 seconds then continues. I have the add-ons listed below but this happens even with the default F22 see my post here http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=125942

Version: 4.0.28.21686

Add-ons:

ORBX:
Global
Vectors
Open LC NA
Open LC EU
Trees
Pacific Northwest Region

Active Sky beta for P3D V4

PMDG 737

Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Hello,

I am unable to reproduce this crash.

Are you able to see this issues in vanilla Prepar3D?

You can test this easily by backing up the following folders, then deleting them:

%PROGRAMDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4
%LOCALAPPDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4
%APPDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4
%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Prepar3D v4 Files

Prepar3D will automatically regenerate fresh files.

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

neilnm
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:18 am

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby neilnm » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:25 pm

Hello,

I am unable to reproduce this crash.

Are you able to see this issues in vanilla Prepar3D?

You can test this easily by backing up the following folders, then deleting them:

%PROGRAMDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4
%LOCALAPPDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4
%APPDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4
%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Prepar3D v4 Files

Prepar3D will automatically regenerate fresh files.

Regards,
Kayla

Hi,

I tried this and everything seem to work. So then I started to put up some settings. The problem seems to be when using 8X MSAA. Just this setting alone seems to cause a huge drop in FPS for me when switching views. It drops from 70 FPS down to 1FPS for many seconds when switching views and then jumps back to normal and then continues doing this. (I am not personally affected by a CTD)

I also reverted back all the settings and tried with 8X MSAA as the only changed setting and it was still doing this, so I am guessing there is an issue with 8X MSAA.

EDIT:

Actually, I just put back all MY original settings and put down to 4X MSAA and I am still getting the issue. Might be something else. I will try to investigate more.

neilnm
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:18 am

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby neilnm » Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:26 pm

Update #2

So I switched to 4X MSAA and also turned off wide-view aspect ratio. It ran a lot better (because usually I can detect the problem within the first minute by just switching views) but then maybe after 15 minutes while in flight, it happened again, not as drastic as before but still almost a complete lock up at 1FPS for 3-4 seconds this time instead of 10 seconds and the recovery to my normal FPS was also quicker.

I will fly with this for the moment but something seems strange when switching views.

neilnm
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:18 am

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby neilnm » Tue Jul 18, 2017 2:48 am

Update #3

Well even with the new settings above, after 15-20 minutes of flying, it's unplayable but it seems to be a memory issue. I noticed that my memory was almost at its limit (8GB) and when I closed a few other applications, it came back to normal but then it did it agian.

Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:18 am

Hello,

Can you post the settings from your Prepar3D.cfg file?

Thanks,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

m007j
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 4:46 pm

Re: Prepar3D v4 (4.0.28.21686) CTD on View Switch

Postby m007j » Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:59 pm

Not sure if the above request was for me? I've been playing around with it some more, deleting the files made no difference for me, still got a crash the 4th time I switched to top down view. This time, I went straight from the cockpit, so it seems there's an issue with just the top down view and not the act of actually switching. I've also reached out to PMDG to make sure that it's not an issue with the plane as well.

Marcus


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests