DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Kosta
Posts: 1153
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Kosta » Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:26 am

I wonder about the discrepancy - I have it only in the filestore, not in system32/drivers (but will check again, maybe search just didn't find it.
Windows 10 on your side?

Martyson
Posts: 2938
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:26 pm

I wonder about the discrepancy - I have it only in the filestore, not in system32/drivers (but will check again, maybe search just didn't find it.
Windows 10 on your side?
Just for info.

I do not get the Hung error.
I use Win7-64
I have the file only in system32/drivers and the vile version matches my current version (Nvidia 378.66)
File is not in filestore. Will have to search again here.

Note:
When I use the Start / Search box, Windows does not find the file(s) on my PC .. I had to manually look in folders.
Too many folders in filestore to manually inspect.
I will change my search options and check again.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Martyson
Posts: 2938
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:27 pm

I did another search:
My results were like reported by Hanse Tue, 28 Feb 2017, 3:48


I have only one file in system32/drivers folder and the file version matches my current version (Nvidia 378.66)

I found several files in the filestore dated from 2009 to 2017.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Kosta
Posts: 1153
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Kosta » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:13 pm

Weird.
I searched with both Windows Explorer and Total Commander, both searching for hidden/system files, and the only file that was found was in:
C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_desktop_ref4i.inf_amd64_6d7341131fca00bc

I really have no file in c:\windows\system32\drivers, I looked manually!

I am using Windows 10. You too?

Martyson
Posts: 2938
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:47 pm

I mentioned a couple posts up:
I use Win7-64
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Kosta
Posts: 1153
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Kosta » Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:39 pm

I mentioned a couple posts up:
I use Win7-64
OK, that might explain a difference with the driver.

User avatar
alihor
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: EDDN

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby alihor » Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:30 pm

I disabled FSLabs Spotlight.dll as well, and no more "Device_Hung"
Problem solved, but without Spotlight

regards,
Alhard
Simmer since 1980 with first non MS Versions.
3 PCs I-7 OC, WIN7-64 PRO, 2 GraCards NVidia Geforce 960, MATROX TH2GO, 7 Monitors
FS9, FSX-SP2, FSX-SE, P3D-V3.

User avatar
alihor
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: EDDN

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby alihor » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:39 pm

I disabled FSLabs Spotlight.dll as well, and no more "Device_Hung"
Problem solved, but without Spotlight

regards,
Alhard
Regarding my previous post: I give additional information on request by PM or here.
Thanks
Simmer since 1980 with first non MS Versions.
3 PCs I-7 OC, WIN7-64 PRO, 2 GraCards NVidia Geforce 960, MATROX TH2GO, 7 Monitors
FS9, FSX-SP2, FSX-SE, P3D-V3.

User avatar
petakas
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 8:44 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby petakas » Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:35 pm

Since my last post
In my case I solved the problem by the following actions:
- Uninstalled P3D 3.4.22 19868 (HF3)
- Unistalled Nvidia latest driver 378.49
- Reboot, clean registry
- Installed Nvidia driver 376.33 (only the graphics driver, nothing else)
- Installed P3D 3.4.9 Client & Content
I have
- reinstalled P3D 3.4.22 19868 (HF3) [Client, Content, SDK]
- reinstalled FSUIPC
- Kept Nvidia driver 376.33
- followed the AVSIM P3D set up guide (including the NVidia Inspector settings)

and I have not had DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG crash.

I have FSLSpotlights installed and they never caused an issue.
Image

afrchutch
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:06 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby afrchutch » Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:17 am

I went into dll.xml last night and disabled everything pertaining to spotlights or FSL. The sim ran fine for 3 shorter flights and a long haul in the PMDG 747 v3. Thinking this was no longer an issue I decided to start a flight again tonight after playing Battlefield 1. Same error popped up again and again. Every time I tried to load my flight I'd get it. This getting extremely frustrating. My guess is it's P3D 3.4 hotfix 3. I never saw this happening til that update. The error shows up even when my GPU is at stock frequency and I've never seen this error anywhere else. Any more news/suggestions?

aalvarez
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:57 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby aalvarez » Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:05 pm

Hello,
Same story here. For the first time ever I have started to experience the "DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG" starting about 10 days ago. The only sure thing in my case is that it happens at random. It can happen at the end of a four hour flight, in the middle, or soon after starting PD3. I'll be able to finish a long flight without any problems in one case and not make it out of the gate in the next. I'll try reverting back to HF2 and older Nvidia drivers and see what happens.

Hanse
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:01 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Hanse » Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:46 pm

Hi,

since a couple of weeks I also experienced this "DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG" problem. I do not know exactly since when this started but based on another reason I now made a full clean new install of P3D v3.4.22.19868. Previously (since v3.0) I allways just updated the client but now I made a complete new install and all my addons from scratch. And the problem since then never occured again...... I am also using FSL Spotlight with my Aerosoft Airbus and a lot of additional addons like the complete range of ORBX-products and many addon airports..... So I believe the problem in my case is connected to just updating only allways the "Client". I just want to let you guys know.

Rolf

drewmtb29
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 6:18 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby drewmtb29 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 7:30 pm

I have a GTX 1060 6GB and have this problem constantly now. I am struggling to even get a flight to work as we speak. I have changed nothing either. Starting to think its a hardware problem
P3D V3.4
i7 4790K @ 4.8
16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2400mhz
500GB 850EVO SSD for P3D, OS on 250GB
GTX1060 OC 6GB -> Samsung 60hz 1080p 55" TV (UN55H7150)
Windows 10

Martyson
Posts: 2938
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Tue Mar 21, 2017 8:11 pm

"I have a GTX 1060 6GB and have this problem constantly now."

Are you overclocking?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

drewmtb29
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 6:18 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby drewmtb29 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 8:24 pm

"I have a GTX 1060 6GB and have this problem constantly now."

Are you overclocking?
I have had an overclock on for the past couple months, stable in FurMark. I have finally been able to get it to work after a few hours and my only solution has been to under clock the card all the way down as far as Afterburner allows. using the latest drivers now.
P3D V3.4
i7 4790K @ 4.8
16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2400mhz
500GB 850EVO SSD for P3D, OS on 250GB
GTX1060 OC 6GB -> Samsung 60hz 1080p 55" TV (UN55H7150)
Windows 10


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests