I got thist message about DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Post Reply
Tony kim
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 1:01 am

I got thist message about DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Post by Tony kim »

Hi

I am flying with P3D V5 since last week

Today, i got the message " This device(NVIDIA Geforce GTX1070) stopped working for the following reason

: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG." Click Yes to exit, No to disabel rendering to this device ..........

NVIDIA Driver version is latest 452.06

System: 6700k , 16G ram , GTX1070

Please help me ..

Thanks
Tony kim
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 1:01 am

Re: I got thist message about DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Post by Tony kim »

I figured out through uninstalling latest NVIDIA driver

and reinstall old version like 399.xxx

the error message's gone

I need to upgrade new generation graphic card like RTX3000 series..

cheers
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3662
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: I got thist message about DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Post by JorgenSA »

I am on an older generation of graphics than you (GTX 960), but have never had that message since:

1. I upgraded to Windows 10 v. 2004, and

2. Upgraded to the latest nVidia driver.

And yes, I am also waiting for the 3000-series......

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
Bingo41
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:29 pm

Re: I got thist message about DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Post by Bingo41 »

I started getting this error when I upgraded from P3D v4.5.

It seems to be random, can occur in VR or just running in monitor mode.
Bill Clark

My PC
Windows 10, Ver 2004
CPU I5-8600K 5.2GHz
GPU Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
VRAM 11GB
RAM 32GB
2TB M2.NVMe
MB Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7
Corsair Hydro Series H115i
User avatar
Puukka
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:58 am
Location: Krems an der Donau/Austria

Re: I got thist message about DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Post by Puukka »

My solution for all GPU errors and flickering simconnect menu was:

Open NVIDIA Control Panel. Click on 3D Settings → Manage 3D settings. Scroll down to the bottom of the list and locate the Threaded Optimization. Change the value to Off.

Hope that helps

Kind regards from Austria
Herbert
Herbert Puukka IVAO AUA157 SAS157

Prepar3D v5.1, Active Sky, PRO-ATC/X, Navigraph
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11267
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: I got thist message about DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Post by Martyson »

@ Puukka ,

What was the original (bad) setting?

Mine is Auto, no problems.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
User avatar
Puukka
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:58 am
Location: Krems an der Donau/Austria

Re: I got thist message about DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Post by Puukka »

Herbert Puukka IVAO AUA157 SAS157

Prepar3D v5.1, Active Sky, PRO-ATC/X, Navigraph
Post Reply