V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Matthew21
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:32 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Matthew21 » Thu Sep 24, 2020 7:03 pm

error still happening

BerndB
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:58 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby BerndB » Thu Sep 24, 2020 9:22 pm

Well, Umberto Colapicchioni, the head of development at FSDreamTeam has said it in many threads in the GSX forum already, that this is a known bug in P3D related to the runtime in case of opening a Simconnect window. It doesnt matter if it´s a GSX window or the ATC window of P3D itself, because both are just the same Simconnect Window and depend on the same runtime.
Umberto said that he FSDT and other devs got in touch about it with LM already and LM tries to fix it within a next HF or update.
There is no reason for me to not believe in what Umberto said.
I even think, that this bug, if you want to call it a bug, came up for LM surprisingly too. Because this is all Microsoft stuff. Simconnect itself aswell as the VCruntime and both are more or less neglected or abandoned MS-interfaces
Last edited by BerndB on Thu Sep 24, 2020 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3229
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Sep 25, 2020 7:30 am

BerndB, I totally agree.

What we did here was a shot in the dark - in this situation, everything needs to be tried.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

BerndB
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:58 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby BerndB » Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:54 am

BerndB, I totally agree.

What we did here was a shot in the dark - in this situation, everything needs to be tried.

Jorgen
copy that! And there is nothing wrong in trying. My post was made, because i´ve read in here that there where some doubts about that LM is aware that this has to be takled by them somehow

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3229
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Sep 25, 2020 12:00 pm

Oh yes, they are very much aware!

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10780
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Fri Sep 25, 2020 12:13 pm

@ BerndB ,

"My post was made, because i´ve read in here that there where some doubts about that LM is aware that this has to be takled by them somehow"

Nothing wrong with that.

But to be sure LM Staff (the ones whose names are in bright Red) read the forum and do reply.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Airbumps
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 1:42 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Airbumps » Sat Sep 26, 2020 8:28 am

Add me to the list of people expirencing this issue.

Happens both with and without GSX running irrespective of the airplane or scenery. I've tried many of the above steps including uninstalling all VS Runtimes however the problem continues.

C'mon Lockheed Martin - I wouldn't have thought now is the time you want to encourage people to look for another flight sim....

airbader
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby airbader » Sat Sep 26, 2020 6:32 pm

I haven't touched P3D in over a month because of this CTD. Almost 30k views on this thread. Where's the response?

Airbumps
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 1:42 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Airbumps » Thu Oct 01, 2020 10:56 pm

Another - This time opening an ATC to request clearance 10 minutes after starting the simulator. Crash straight to desktop.

Sky_King
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:27 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Sky_King » Fri Oct 02, 2020 6:42 pm

I have the same problem. What I have found is if you leave the ATC window open, the number of crashes is virtually eliminated. The issue as stated elsewhere here is there is a problem with the coding for the simconnect window which ATC and GSX both call. If you leave the ATC window open, P3D doesn't need to call the window.

I do agree it would be useful for LM to make some kind of post about this.

SK
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK,Black Edition Motherboard; Intel I7-4790K CPU; 16 Gb G.Skill RAM (F3-2400); Win 10 Pro (1909); 2 - Samsung 1Tb SSDs; Toshiba 3Tb hard drive; Gigabyte 1080ti Extreme 11 Gb VRAM. P3D v5 HF2

airbader
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby airbader » Sun Oct 04, 2020 4:32 pm

A fun, new twist on this 5-month old CTD! Instead of just going straight to the desktop, it brought up this error instead: https://imgur.com/a/sh0tSUz. Just thought I'd post this on the off chance that the P3D team cares.

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3229
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Oct 04, 2020 4:35 pm

Interesting.... what were you doing at the time, and what versions of Windows 10 and graphics driver do you have?

At least I am interested ;-)

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Sky_King
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:27 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Sky_King » Sun Oct 04, 2020 5:06 pm

A fun, new twist on this 5-month old CTD! Instead of just going straight to the desktop, it brought up this error instead: https://imgur.com/a/sh0tSUz. Just thought I'd post this on the off chance that the P3D team cares.
What does your Windows Event Viewer say about this?
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK,Black Edition Motherboard; Intel I7-4790K CPU; 16 Gb G.Skill RAM (F3-2400); Win 10 Pro (1909); 2 - Samsung 1Tb SSDs; Toshiba 3Tb hard drive; Gigabyte 1080ti Extreme 11 Gb VRAM. P3D v5 HF2

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3229
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Oct 04, 2020 5:18 pm

Sky King -

DUH!!! I should have thought about that one also.... yes, really important.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

airbader
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby airbader » Sun Oct 04, 2020 5:31 pm

A fun, new twist on this 5-month old CTD! Instead of just going straight to the desktop, it brought up this error instead: https://imgur.com/a/sh0tSUz. Just thought I'd post this on the off chance that the P3D team cares.
What does your Windows Event Viewer say about this?
Nothing.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 111 guests