CTD after switching from full screen to windowed

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
jfwharton
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat May 04, 2019 10:08 pm

CTD after switching from full screen to windowed

Postby jfwharton » Sun Sep 20, 2020 5:22 am

I had pressed Alt-Enter to switch P3D V5 to full screen mode and everything worked. Today I tried switching back to windowed mode by pressing Alt-Enter and P3D v5 HF2 crashed. I can start P3D but cannot start a flight without it crashing. Is there some way I can modify a file to fix this without having to reinstall the whole thing?

jfwharton
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat May 04, 2019 10:08 pm

Re: CTD after switching from full screen to windowed

Postby jfwharton » Sun Sep 20, 2020 5:53 am

I tried a repair but it still crashes. Unbelievable! I get the following in the event viewer:

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.24.34874, time stamp: 0x5eab3677
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 10.0.19041.488, time stamp: 0x5b4a3325
Exception code: 0xc0020001
Fault offset: 0x0000000000023e49
Faulting process id: 0x1028
Faulting application start time: 0x01d68f11c6b8d0b4
Faulting application path: D:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report Id: e0e52e16-d696-492d-a2de-d64d43528181
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

jfwharton
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat May 04, 2019 10:08 pm

Re: CTD after switching from full screen to windowed

Postby jfwharton » Sun Sep 20, 2020 6:08 am

Well I found a solution. I went into:

C:\Users\...\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5

and deleted Prepar3D.cfg. I was then able to start P3D V5 and start a flight.

But I still can't believe all of this was because I switched from full screen to windowed.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 90 guests