Does not run smooth at all

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
EDJA_Spotter
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 7:42 pm

Does not run smooth at all

Postby EDJA_Spotter » Fri Jun 12, 2020 10:26 pm

Dear Ladies and Gentleman,

I got the problem that P3D V5 doesnt run as smooth as i want it to. Frames are around 30-50 inside V/C and around 60-70 outside wich shouldnt result in such a gameplay. i tried several different games like X Plane 11 and even RDR2 wich really takes a lot of performance. and all these games run really good on my PC. i tried a lot of things, even stuff like Hyperthreading in the Bios settings. doesnt help at all, settings are almost at the low end. and bulding shadows aswell as Dynamic Lighting are not active.

My Pc stats:
i7 8700k (60-70° while playing V5)
2080 S (62° while playing V5)
16GB RAM (65-70%) usage
500GB Crutial SSD

1440p AOC 32° Gaming Monitor

V5 Addons:
ORBX open base
ORBX vector
ORBX openLc Europe, NA

thanks for help

greetings

Johannes B.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2487
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Does not run smooth at all

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:34 am

Johannes,

Running P3D v. 5 off a mechanical, old-fashioned HDD, with no add-ons at all installed, it runs smooth as silk on my system.

Try setting the UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT in Prepar3D.cfg to 30, or adjust the corresponding slider. Your eye cannot see more than 25-30 FPS anyway.

If the problem then persists, try talking to the add-on manufacturers.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

EDJA_Spotter
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 7:42 pm

Re: Does not run smooth at all

Postby EDJA_Spotter » Sat Jun 13, 2020 2:06 pm

Hello there,
i already tried Setting FPS in cfg., in Nvidia Manager, in the game itself and also in Windows View Settings... Always the same bad results, i dont even think the Framerate causes it cause its all the time beyond 30, but theres a Problem with smoothness as i move the camera inside V/C the Pixels dont change as fast as they should, for some reason this only appears in P3D, i played XP11 as i meantioned and today i also tried DCS... without a problem

Alox
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Does not run smooth at all

Postby Alox » Sat Jun 13, 2020 2:49 pm

Johannes.

Smoothness in P3D is not an easy issue to solve because depends on many variables such as: Hardware, game settings, nvidia or amd settings, process and subprocess running at windows background, add ons.

I could say with your hardware you should not have problem with smoothness or stutters. ¿Could you share your settings of prepar3d V5?

I tell you that i was running v5 with out any problem about smoothness or stutters until I install orbx vector. This is the importance that i see that one simulator may all in one, otherwise we start to getting a Frankenstein.

I posted the following tests in the ORBX forum:

Add ons: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies, Vector.

System: I7-4930 4.4 Ghz., 48 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz, RTX 2080 Super, 1 TB SSD WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro .

All of the following tests was made with the same p3d settings:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/opwx60l4j1bj6 ... y.PNG?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/w8ialfpihwuqh ... d.PNG?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ftexv61r5oy64 ... g.PNG?dl=0

Test One: Taking off from MMVA plus: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies, Vector. From 00:17 to 00:21 we can appreciate some stutter. This always happens when I took off from Villahermosa.

Video: https://www.dropbox.com/s/14flqiyeoal63y2/MMVA.mp4?dl=0

Test two: Taking off from MMAA plus: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies, Vector. From 01:09 to 01:12 we can appreciate some stutter. The frame drops from 30 to 1. This always happens when I cross these mountains.

Video: https://www.dropbox.com/s/4ag775idllzwszs/MMAA.mp4?dl=0

Test three: Even if I uncheck all the options in Transportations and Various Features I still have stutters.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/tppi21drvoledm9/Vector Transportation.PNG?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yy0zoskai3l975e/Vector Features.PNG?dl=0
Taking off from KRND plus: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies, Vector. From 00:54 to 01:00 we can appreciate some stutter. This always happens when I took off from KRND.

Video: https://www.dropbox.com/s/qjsgyh23ceudu20/KRND Uncheck Options Vector.mp4?dl=0

The only way to eliminate these stutters is when I disable vector from Options - Add ons on P3D V5.

Test four: Taking off from KRND plus: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies. With out Vector. Outcome no sttuters.

Video: https://www.dropbox.com/s/qrrqq083lnmpmb7/KRND With Out Orbx Vector.mp4?dl=0

The most interesting thing is when I take off from some scenery add ons with vector enable, I don't have stutter either. At least until now.

Test five: Taking off from MMMD from mex high flight plus: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies, Vector. Outcome no sttuters.

Video: https://www.dropbox.com/s/co4yevri6n6z61g/MMMD.mp4?dl=0

I also make a test with the following scenery add ons + Vector and there was not stutter.

Test Six: Taking off from KHQM from Orbx plus: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies, Vector. Outcome no sttuters.
Test Seven: Taking off from MMBT mex high flight plus: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies, Vector. Outcome no sttuters.
Test Eight: Taking off from MMPQ from mex high flight plus: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies, Vector. Outcome no sttuters.
Test Nine: Taking off from MMUN from fsimstudios plus: Orbx base pack, openLC north america, buildings HD, trees HD, Libraries, Central rockies, Vector. Outcome no sttuters.

I don't have the same behavior under P3D V4 with same add ons and iqual settings.

I also made some test decreasing some settings on p3dV5 but did not work.

Nick from Orbx team answered the following:

Hello,
since it was first released, some customers have visited these forums and ascribed stutters, excessive
use of VAS in FSX and low frame rates to Vector.
The answer has always been that it adds detail to the simulator, so it can be expected to add to the workload.
As ever, one person's perfectly acceptable is another's completely unacceptable.
It seems that you have done a great deal of work and concluded that for you, Vector is not a solution.
In this case, you can disable or remove Vector at no cost and use the Vector data that is included in P3D v5.

Could you try disabling orbx vectors to rule out that this program is not causing this problem.

Regards.

EDJA_Spotter
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 7:42 pm

Re: Does not run smooth at all

Postby EDJA_Spotter » Sun Jun 14, 2020 8:21 am

Thank you for your detailed post About the Problems that you experienced.
i dont think that Vector is the solution for me because i had that stuff all before i installed it.
my sets are Pretty much the same as yours tho, i got the draw distance set on both lines one Setting increased but i already tried it lower, no difference. what i realised on your sets, that you even got dynamic lighting on... if i put that on its so bad, i can call it unplayable really after that step.
one more Question, if i put my target Frame rate to Unlimited and fly a F22 for example with 400kts over the landscape it just doesnt load the scenery as fast as i fly but when i put it at 120 its back to normal but i get the framedrops again

Alox
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Does not run smooth at all

Postby Alox » Sun Jun 14, 2020 1:46 pm

So you have to start understanding when you started experiencing this frame drops or stutters.

You need to test with the same settings (Display, world, lighting, traffic) on P3D V5 and same settings on Nvidia or AMD.

What I mean ¿Did you experience this problem with just P3D V5 with out any add on? If not:

The next test will be running P3D V5 + Orbx base if you don't have frame drops or stutters you make another test:

P3D V5 + Orbx base + ORBX openLc Europe, NA if you don't have frame drops or stutters you make another test:

P3D V5 + Orbx base + ORBX openLc Europe, NA + ORBX vector until you detect with which set of add-on you start experimenting the frame drops or stutters.

If the problem occurs since the basic installation of prepar3d v5 we would have to change the focus.

I put my frame rate target to unlimited because if I set 30 for one reason I got stutters and my core 0 runs at 100 %. My solution was, set to unlimited on P3D V5 and set 30 FPS (Frame Rate Limiter V2) on nvidiaProfileInspector with this I have smoothest and my core 0 runs without overload.

Regards.

Alox
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Does not run smooth at all

Postby Alox » Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:28 pm

About the scenery does not load as fast as i fly. i can tell you that I have seen this since microsoft flight simulator x, in p3d this get worse as we install more add ons because this generates more processing work, is not the same fly with cessna 182 with just p3d v5 default that fly with a F22 at 500 knots with P3D V5 + Orbx base + ORBX openLc Europe, NA + ORBX vector.

Regards.

EDJA_Spotter
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 7:42 pm

Re: Does not run smooth at all

Postby EDJA_Spotter » Mon Jun 15, 2020 8:01 am

Yeah but i see People also having it to Unlimited and even weak Software and running V5 fine without anything like lags and stutters… and scenery also loads far infront of them.

regards.


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 57 guests