Prepa3D crashes

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
TiCubed
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 8:46 pm

Prepa3D crashes

Postby TiCubed » Wed May 06, 2020 8:49 pm

The Latest hotfix has still not fixed the frequent crashes in the sim. I get so many crashes and I cant complete flights.

joenel20
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 1:31 pm

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby joenel20 » Thu May 21, 2020 6:42 pm

ditto...many times.!!
I am about to give up ...

Moose
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 3:14 pm

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby Moose » Thu May 21, 2020 11:11 pm

Same here.
Mine loads up to 100%, then a black screen for a few seconds, then back to the desktop. Very frustrating.

Martyson
Posts: 9662
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby Martyson » Fri May 22, 2020 4:25 am

Which P3D version are you using?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

JorgenSA
Posts: 2494
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby JorgenSA » Fri May 22, 2020 5:08 am

@Moose,

Is your system above the minimum requirements for P3D, found here:

https://www.prepar3d.com/system-requirements/

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Moose
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 3:14 pm

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby Moose » Fri May 22, 2020 3:12 pm

Hi Jorgen,

Yes, I've got a good system that meets or exceeds the minimum/recommended specs. However, when I checked which version of Windows 10 I was running, it was a version number WAY below the recommended one. I updated my OS to version 1909, and P3Dv5 didn't crash after loading.

Thanks for your help! :-)
~Moose

JorgenSA
Posts: 2494
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby JorgenSA » Fri May 22, 2020 3:15 pm

Good to hear a success story for once!!!

Happy flying -

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9662
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby Martyson » Sat May 23, 2020 5:35 am

The Latest hotfix has still not fixed the frequent crashes in the sim. I get so many crashes and I cant complete flights.
To try to isolate what is causing the CTD
Look in the Windows Event Viewer and get the
Faulting Module Name
example:

Image
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Tazflyer
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 11:24 am

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby Tazflyer » Sat May 23, 2020 11:28 am

I have been flying with the new hotfix for a couple of days now with zero issues.
Then tonight as im departing EDDP after 30min being in the air my sim crashes and i get this error
Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 4.5.14.34698, time stamp: 0x5e94b5c2
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 10.0.18362.815, time stamp: 0xb89efff3
Exception code: 0xc0020001
Fault offset: 0x000000000003a799
Faulting process id: 0xfec
Faulting application start time: 0x01d630eae4cf28d5
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report Id: b8333275-6113-4d7b-800a-e0f412ee7318
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Intel Core i5 9600k 3.7GHz
ASUS TUF H310M-PLUS Gaming LGA1151-CL mATX Desktop Motherboard
Corsair 16GB Kit (2x8GB) DDR4 Vengeance LPX Black C16 2400MHz
Samsung 970 EVO Series 500GB M.2 NVMe SSD
RTX Geforce 2070 8GB gpu

Tazflyer
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 11:24 am

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby Tazflyer » Sat May 23, 2020 11:36 pm

Adding onto my last post, i can confirm the crashes are NOT caused by windows.
While running sfc testing, there are no issues with windows.

The errors only come up with P3DV4
Intel Core i5 9600k 3.7GHz
ASUS TUF H310M-PLUS Gaming LGA1151-CL mATX Desktop Motherboard
Corsair 16GB Kit (2x8GB) DDR4 Vengeance LPX Black C16 2400MHz
Samsung 970 EVO Series 500GB M.2 NVMe SSD
RTX Geforce 2070 8GB gpu

Martyson
Posts: 9662
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby Martyson » Sun May 24, 2020 6:10 am

Adding onto my last post, i can confirm the crashes are NOT caused by windows.
While running sfc testing, there are no issues with windows.

The errors only come up with P3DV4
How did you confirm what is causing
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll (Windows file) error?

Do you have any Add-ons installed in your P3Dv4 setup?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

fernandito1969
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:34 pm

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby fernandito1969 » Tue May 26, 2020 7:30 pm

Hello Fellaws;
I have being dealing with the same issue for a couple of weeks as well. Crashes occurring mainly while using Aerosoft Vehicles and prior to Push Back, Prior to Take off, some times during flight and or just minutes on final approach. The frustrating part its that in some instances the flight goes thoroughly without problems but most of attempts fails. I have listed this issue previously but never receive feedback into a remedy. I have ensure that Windows 10 and drivers are updated. No issues while using PMDG Vehicles by the way.

Description
Faulting Application Path: C:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Problem signature
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: Prepar3D.exe
Problem Signature 02: 4.5.14.34698
Problem Signature 03: 5e94b5c2
Problem Signature 04: PresentationFramework
Problem Signature 05: 4.8.4180.0
Problem Signature 06: 5e7d255f
Problem Signature 07: daa
Problem Signature 08: 17
Problem Signature 09: System.InvalidOperationException
OS Version: 10.0.18363.2.0.0.768.101
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0000
Additional Information 2: 00000000000000000000000000000000
Additional Information 3: 0000
Additional Information 4: 00000000000000000000000000000000
Extra information about the problem
Bucket ID: 2a271655bb6bf0174741274dc965f181 (1675663751403401601)

Description
Faulting Application Path: C:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Problem signature
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Prepar3D.exe
Application Version: 4.5.14.34698
Application Timestamp: 5e94b5c2
Fault Module Name: FMGS.dll
Fault Module Version: 4.64.0.23
Fault Module Timestamp: 5e9ea9b0
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00000000000c5d30
OS Version: 10.0.18363.2.0.0.768.101
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 7a0d
Additional Information 2: 7a0d144d892ccc8c2a05e3a1c0adc31f
Additional Information 3: 5d99
Additional Information 4: 5d9996446b93e69d0fc19ebaa387d538
Extra information about the problem
Bucket ID: 51c0d648f9b635d7c58f03aa15ada980 (1553464425509136768)

Description
Faulting Application Path: C:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Problem signature
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Prepar3D.exe
Application Version: 4.5.14.34698
Application Timestamp: 5e94b5c2
Fault Module Name: D3D10Warp.dll
Fault Module Version: 10.0.18362.356
Fault Module Timestamp: 3ff1131a
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00000000000abd80
OS Version: 10.0.18363.2.0.0.768.101
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: df8b
Additional Information 2: df8b621afb6ce67943ee08998e90761e
Additional Information 3: a5f1
Additional Information 4: a5f1cf5e812b9c5c4321ebfb298d398b
Extra information about the problem
Bucket ID: e7b4969311a6e7a9ed888674d4f97ed0 (2128098660280008400)

My System
Cyber Power PC
Intel(R) Core (TM) i7-9700 CPU @ 3.00GHz 3.00 GHz
16.0 GH (14.2 GB usable)
64-bit Operating System x64 base processor
(Addons - Navigraph/Active Skies for Pd3/UGSX/Lorby Pax/Ultimate Traffic/) FS2 Crew its Disable


Any thoughts or advise on what causes this and how prevent this from keep occurring please?

Regards
Fernando R.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2494
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby JorgenSA » Wed May 27, 2020 6:55 am

Fernando,

Another user had the same KERNELBASE.DLL error, and looked for a solution. He took the time to write down and post here what he did, and I am, with his permission, taking the liberty of re-posting the essential parts of his post here:

"So my steps are as follows:
Searched Google for "kernelbase.dll crash p3d v5" and got directed here https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=133018
Which led me to this reply "I've had this issue too and solved it by removing Carenado's cmeteoxml.dll."
I removed that file and any other files that had to do with Carenado aircraft "Because, OFFICIALLY, Carenado installers do not direct to P3D v5, so my assumptions is that they didn't update their files to be v5 compatible.
Anyway, after that I flew a flight and three hours in, same event viewer error: kernelbase.dll
So alright, well that wasn't it...so now I start looking into more generic kernelbase.dll error google searches and find a post here that gave me a few steps to follow: https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledge/fi ... ash-issue/
(NOTE: From the above link, I ran fix number two only)
Well when I did that, there was an update, so I ran it and was like "alright, we'll see what happens" BUT, I was satisfied because my flights crash after about 4 hours in the air and I wasn't willing to test run the sim to see if it was fixed after only running windows updates; I desired more proof that there would be a solution. So back to Google....
Ended up here and ran method 3: https://www.minitool.com/news/kernelbase-dll.html
Basically, open the cmd prompt as admin and type "sfc/scannow" minus the quotes. Ran it and it found no "violations" as it so professionally put it, so that wasn't a problem.
THEN, I went back to google and came across THIS: https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-fix-ker ... rs-2623534
I ran steps 8 and 9 (Step 9 found a LOT of issues).
Then I saw somewhere (can't find the link right now) about a tool called https://www.tweaking.com/content/page/w ... n_one.html
that repairs windows files. Follow their steps, keeping in mind that I did the tweaking.com tool BEFORE running the registry cleaner (I elected to go with https://www.wisecleaner.com/wise-registry-cleaner.html) and again, they found lots of issues; 23,000 and change to be exact.
Now after all that was said and done, I wanted to make sure I didn't miss anything, so I looked and looked again (like Santa checking his list twice), and found this last thread: http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=118095 and reading the last post on it (Friday April 15, 2016 by 'downscc'), I decided to completely remove my graphics drivers and reinstall (even though NVIADIA GeForce Experience claimed I had the latest and greatest, at this point I was desperate; leave nothing untested). So I searched around for how to go about tackling this next task and found this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bP-2B14Nckw
Super helpful video on how to safely remove and reinstall your graphics drivers. Here's the link for the program to unistall the drivers: https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/di ... nload.html
Here's the link to download new ones (NVIDIA): https://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx
AMD: https://www.amd.com/en/support
He references both programs in the video and shows how to use them. Have the programs downloaded before watching the video.
If ALL ELSE FAILS, read this https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/5110 ... elbasedll/ and read June 4, 2017 by Jim Young and reinstall windows completely. (I did not do this; after running ALL the steps listed above, I tried another flight and am currently about 5 hours into it with no issues yet; I land in another 8 hours, so we'll report back tomorrow and advise if I ran into any issues)
So long story short, all those steps (IDK which one) I listed above appear to have helped me. If the sim crashes on this flight i'm on right now, i'll be forced to take Jim's advice and reinstall windows (Or I could just throw the desktop out my window onto the driveway; we'll see how I feel when I wake up).
Hope this helped. Yea, it's a hell of a read, but hopefully you'll find some new luck as I seem to have found, too.
Another theory I have, which opens a whole new can of worms, is the crashes i've experienced so far have all been three-four hours into flights i've been flying during simulator day time. This flight i'm flying (and another one I flew two days ago without any crashes) was flown all in simulator night time. Maybe a factor? IDK, i've considered so many factors that hey, that might be another one to consider, huh? Not sure what to do with that information, but interesting none the less."

Turns out my problems were not from Carenado (I don't think - I haven't tried to reinstall those planes yet), nor were they from flying during the daytime. But in FACT, I found out yesterday morning, that my crashes were coming from ActiveSky Open Beta 2. So yesterday morning HiFi releases ASP3D v3 BETA and this is part of the change log:

"– Attempted fix for P3Dv5 CTD / crash issues including crash triggered by higher-latitude areas above 53N with EA mode off"

YES! I was getting these crashes with EA (Enhanced Atmospherics) off above 53*N. So finally, a fix to my issues! (DISCLAIMER**: I have yet to fly above 53*N to test this "fix") Well.....most things that are too good to be true; aren't true. Especially when the word "BETA" is involved. So now here's the issues I am having. https://forum.pmdg.com/forum/main-forum ... -fps-issue

That leads me here: https://forums.hifisimtech.com/threads/ ... rol.12457/

So cool, they fix one issue and inject another. So now I need to fly with the WX RADAR OFF int eh PMDG 747 to avoid it from falling out of the sky. Sooooo....long story short, i'm not sure that all of the above steps with the registry cleaner and all that were 100% required; it appears it was just a bug with the AS P3D BETA, which I should've known better than to be on the verge of a windows reinstall honestly.

Anyway, everything seems to be running fine now. I flew SCEL-EHAM last night, and had some error overnight that didn't crash the sim, but said something along the lines of "AS unable to inject (cloud type) Restart P3D." So now i'm flying again to hopefully recreate that issue and jot down EXACTLY what it says."

Now, this is a long process, but this IS a Windows error that can be fixed.....

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

fernandito1969
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:34 pm

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby fernandito1969 » Wed May 27, 2020 11:51 am

WAO!!...Scares me just to see the text....lol....Thanks Jorgen, I will follow this instructions, apply it and come back with feedback on outcome!

Stay Safe
Fernando R.

paulyg123
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:38 am

Re: Prepa3D crashes

Postby paulyg123 » Thu May 28, 2020 7:53 pm

I get frequent crashes only when I pause my sum and take a dinner brake, or need to go out. What will cause a sim crash while the sim is paused?


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests