Frames per second problem

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Boeing2468
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:36 am

Frames per second problem

Postby Boeing2468 » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:48 pm

My sim gets about average 60 to 80 fps and sometimes more. But for some reason after about 5 to 10 min my fps drop to about 35 - 40 fps without even moving the plane.

Martyson
Posts: 8317
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: HELP

Postby Martyson » Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:48 pm

My sim gets about average 60 to 80 fps and sometimes more. But for some reason after about 5 to 10 min my fps drop to about 35 - 40 fps without even moving the plane.
You could run through all the General Debugging steps here:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

JorgenSA
Posts: 1395
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: HELP

Postby JorgenSA » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:01 pm

Why are you worried about your frame rates? Is the simulation running smoothly, without stutters?

P3D is not a first-person shooter game, it is a simulation of the real world, and what matters is that it looks real, no matter what frame rate you get.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

Boeing2468
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:36 am

Re: HELP

Postby Boeing2468 » Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:23 pm

My sim gets about average 60 to 80 fps and sometimes more. But for some reason after about 5 to 10 min my fps drop to about 35 - 40 fps without even moving the plane.
You could run through all the General Debugging steps here:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246
Did the debugging steps and when i started up P3D i got a message saying "Vehicle initialization has failed for the F-22 Raptor"

Martyson
Posts: 8317
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: HELP

Postby Martyson » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:27 pm

My sim gets about average 60 to 80 fps and sometimes more. But for some reason after about 5 to 10 min my fps drop to about 35 - 40 fps without even moving the plane.
You could run through all the General Debugging steps here:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246
Did the debugging steps and when i started up P3D i got a message saying "Vehicle initialization has failed for the F-22 Raptor"
Did you do all of the debugging steps?

Which version of P3D are you using?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Boeing2468
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:36 am

Re: HELP

Postby Boeing2468 » Wed Jan 29, 2020 11:08 pm



You could run through all the General Debugging steps here:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246
Did the debugging steps and when i started up P3D i got a message saying "Vehicle initialization has failed for the F-22 Raptor"
Did you do all of the debugging steps?

Which version of P3D are you using?
4.5 with HF 2

Martyson
Posts: 8317
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: HELP

Postby Martyson » Wed Jan 29, 2020 11:21 pm



Did the debugging steps and when i started up P3D i got a message saying "Vehicle initialization has failed for the F-22 Raptor"
Did you do all of the debugging steps?

Which version of P3D are you using?
4.5 with HF 2
Ok,

Step 7 of Debugging Steps:
Finally, include the following information in your report:

Prepar3D version
Operating system
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Crash logs or error messages
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Boeing2468
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:36 am

Re: HELP

Postby Boeing2468 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 4:25 am



Did you do all of the debugging steps?

Which version of P3D are you using?
4.5 with HF 2
Ok,

Step 7 of Debugging Steps:
Finally, include the following information in your report:

Prepar3D version
Operating system
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Crash logs or error messages
I've uninstalled and reinstalled P3D and I'm getting fps in the teens now. A week or two ago everything was fine.

Martyson
Posts: 8317
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: HELP

Postby Martyson » Sun Feb 02, 2020 9:01 am

You need to provide more information.

Operating system?
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Age of you computer?
Is your computer a home built / upgraded PC or a name brand store purchased PC?


Note:
It would be good if the Topic of this post could be changed from HELP to Frames per second problem.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Boeing2468
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:36 am

Re: HELP

Postby Boeing2468 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 4:17 pm

You need to provide more information.

Operating system?
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Age of you computer?
Is your computer a home built / upgraded PC or a name brand store purchased PC?


Note:
It would be good if the Topic of this post could be changed from HELP to Frames per second problem.
I actually think I might need to add some more thermal paste. Its been a while since i did that. Also when running P3D the CPU temps are in the high 40's with the fan between 85% - 95% and without the fan running i can feel the heat the from the CPU.

Martyson
Posts: 8317
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: HELP

Postby Martyson » Sun Feb 02, 2020 4:30 pm

You need to provide more information.

Operating system?
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Age of you computer?
Is your computer a home built / upgraded PC or a name brand store purchased PC?


Note:
It would be good if the Topic of this post could be changed from HELP to Frames per second problem.
I actually think I might need to add some more thermal paste. Its been a while since i did that. Also when running P3D the CPU temps are in the high 40's with the fan between 85% - 95% and without the fan running i can feel the heat the from the CPU.
Glad to hear you found the problem (I assume).

When you take the PC to the shop for for maintenance / cleaning you might consider adding a CPU water cooler.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Boeing2468
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:36 am

Re: HELP

Postby Boeing2468 » Sat Feb 08, 2020 2:47 am

You need to provide more information.

Operating system?
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Age of you computer?
Is your computer a home built / upgraded PC or a name brand store purchased PC?


Note:
It would be good if the Topic of this post could be changed from HELP to Frames per second problem.
I actually think I might need to add some more thermal paste. Its been a while since i did that. Also when running P3D the CPU temps are in the high 40's with the fan between 85% - 95% and without the fan running i can feel the heat the from the CPU.
Glad to hear you found the problem (I assume).

When you take the PC to the shop for for maintenance / cleaning you might consider adding a CPU water cooler.
I'm still having the same issues.

Martyson
Posts: 8317
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Frames per second problem

Postby Martyson » Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:01 pm

Is your PC a home built / user upgrade or a store purchased PC?

Also:
Step 7 of Debugging Steps:
Finally, include the following information in your report:

Prepar3D version
Operating system
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Crash logs or error messages
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Boeing2468
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:36 am

Re: Frames per second problem

Postby Boeing2468 » Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:47 am

Is your PC a home built / user upgrade or a store purchased PC?

Also:
Step 7 of Debugging Steps:
Finally, include the following information in your report:

Prepar3D version
Operating system
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Crash logs or error messages
My P3D CPU percentage hits between 57% and 80% at times. Sometimes higher. Why?

JorgenSA
Posts: 1395
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Frames per second problem

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:55 am

We need to know your hardware configuration to see if your hardware could be the cause of your issues.

Until we know at least that, any CPU or GPU load percentages do not matter.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], rlaycock, zillmer and 63 guests