Geforce RTX 2060

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
User avatar
degeus
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Geforce RTX 2060

Postby degeus » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:38 am

Hello,
Does someone already have experience with this graphics card on Prepar3D V4? At first sight it looks promising, but opinions of knowledgeable simmers are welcome. I now have the GTX 970.
Looking forward to news,
with kind regards,
Piet de Geus
Piet de Geus
Netherlands

ArtMan
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:52 am

Re: Geforce RTX 2060

Postby ArtMan » Sun Apr 07, 2019 6:23 am

It is better to post the specs of the rest of your system as well.

The system must be in balance for getting the most out of P3D.

//Arthur

scotsman0701
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Geforce RTX 2060

Postby scotsman0701 » Sun May 19, 2019 9:00 am

Hi Piet,

I am currently running the 2060 with an i7 on V4 and it runs really well in my opinion. As the card is fairly new, drivers are still being released to optimise performance but even still i can run p3d with some good fps!

Hope this helps!

Captain_Gryphon
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 3:22 pm

Re: Geforce RTX 2060

Postby Captain_Gryphon » Wed Nov 20, 2019 3:31 pm

i recently upgraded my system to the extreme[or what i cud] an i7-9750H,16gigs ram,1tb ssd nvme m.2 plus a 2.5 1tb sata drive AND the rtx 2060 6gb.i find its performance on p3d v4.5.12 kind of mediocre.On medium settings i.e noting is in the ULTRA range everything at normal.except the display which is at high.With pmdg 747 at aerosoft egll and taburet night 3d lighting.i barely touch 30. p3d v3.4 with the same addons runs at 45-50fps(odd i wud say).i wud actually recommend a 2070 if u dont want any massive lag spikes when trying to butter the landings

JorgenSA
Posts: 1844
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Geforce RTX 2060

Postby JorgenSA » Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:55 pm

This i7-9750H of yours, what clock rate is it running at? The BASE clock rate, turbo does not matter in flight simulation cases....

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

JorgenSA
Posts: 1844
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Geforce RTX 2060

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:07 am

Hint: if this laptop CPU (which is what the i7-9750H is) is running at the base clock rate of 2.6 GHz, then what you are getting is what you can expect, no matter what GPU is in the system.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

hermes82
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 3:05 pm

Re: Geforce RTX 2060

Postby hermes82 » Sun Dec 15, 2019 11:57 am

hi jorgen, I was reading this post and noticed your remark regarding turbo mode on the cpu with simulation, does p3d not utilize the turbo mode on the cpu?

JorgenSA
Posts: 1844
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Geforce RTX 2060

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Dec 15, 2019 12:59 pm

Turbo speed is something you have for a short period of time only. Your flights hopefully last a bit longer than that.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

hermes82
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 3:05 pm

Re: Geforce RTX 2060

Postby hermes82 » Sun Dec 15, 2019 2:33 pm

haha, yes they do, thanks for explaining jorgen


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rubenrd20@live.com and 11 guests