Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
ironcondor
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 12:24 am

Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Postby ironcondor » Tue May 14, 2019 7:08 pm

Hello,

I updated from 4.5 to 4.5 hotfix. Uninstalled client first. Installed Hotfix client. P3D splash screen starts and then app closed.

I then proceeded to do Content and Scenery as well. Same.

No other changes to sim other than uninstalling client and reinstalling client.

Thoughts?

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 917
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Postby Brady Butler » Tue May 14, 2019 7:43 pm

Hello ironcondor,

Do the suggestions in this post help?
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=133628

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

richbonneau
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:49 pm

Re: Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Postby richbonneau » Tue May 14, 2019 7:55 pm

Do you have the Milviz WX Advantage Radar installed by any chance?
As of yesterday, it was not compatible with the hotfix and caused this exact symptom on my system. Renaming the DLL in the P3D modules folder did the trick.

Tamba765
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 11:42 pm

Re: Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Postby Tamba765 » Tue May 14, 2019 8:04 pm

I don't have WX advantage radar, but I do have the shutdown problem. Everything worked fine before, so there has to be more than this one addon causing problems. Thanks.
Pete Locascio

ironcondor
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 12:24 am

Re: Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Postby ironcondor » Tue May 14, 2019 9:39 pm

Interesting. I did uninstall the hotfix and reinstall the 4.5 initial release client and it works now. I then uninstalled 4.5 original for the hot fix and same issue. Interesting indeed! Happy to try any other suggestions. Hopefully it is ok to have the latest Scenery and Content installed with the original release of P3D V4.5. Yes, I have followed all standard debugging procedures from the 2017 post. I always do.

ironcondor
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 12:24 am

Re: Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Postby ironcondor » Tue May 14, 2019 9:45 pm

Follow up on my last post. I do have Rex WX Weather Advantage installed but I do not use it.

Tamba765
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 11:42 pm

Re: Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Postby Tamba765 » Tue May 14, 2019 10:45 pm

I uninstalled the hotfix and did a full installation of the previous version. P3D started up OK. I shut it down and started it again, but the screen disappeared. The task manager says the program is still running, but the monitor just shows the desktop.
Pete Locascio

rvanzee
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:23 am
Location: KTUS

Re: Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Postby rvanzee » Thu May 16, 2019 12:29 pm

Hello, same problem as ironcondor, I would get an applications path error message from the EzDoc application after P3D crashed, so I thought EzDoc was the problem but it's not, REX Weather was the problem and it doesn't matter if you use it or not, as long as the MV_WXM.dll is in your P3D modules folder it will prevent P3D from launching. REX and MilViz should be ashamed of themselves for causing us so much grief.
8700K @ 5.0, 32gb RAM @ 3600, GTX 1080ti, 2 m.2 SSD, 4K monitor 30hz, ASUS mobo

bjablonka8120
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: Updated to Hotfix. P3D does not start

Postby bjablonka8120 » Thu May 16, 2019 2:33 pm

I did a search unfortunately this file is not on my system, but thanks for the suggestion.

Best

Bernd


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests