Fatal error

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
User avatar
janvaane
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:17 am
Contact:

Postby janvaane » Sun May 27, 2012 4:07 am

Check the security properties of the folders Adam mentioned. You are now looking at the properties of the exe file prepar3d.exe

Before you proceed make an example for yourself to understand what you are doing. take the winrar sample I mentioned before.

http://prepar3d.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/setting-permissions/

|KLM149 | i7-8700k-16GB | Radeon RX580 8GB| flightsimeindhoven.com |

jabiru
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:32 am

Postby jabiru » Sun May 27, 2012 4:53 am

OK I did it , as you can see I now have it running under Addmin,

How ever still fatal error ( and I did do the other files to Addmin also)



Recording Session: 27/05/2012 6:41:45 PM - 6:44:06 PM



Problem Steps: 19, Missed Steps: 0, Other Errors: 0



Operating System: 7601.17803.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120330-1504 6.1.1.0.2.3



Problem Step 1: User right click on "Prepar3D (list item)" in "Program Manager"

Program: Windows Explorer, 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255), Microsoft Corporation, EXPLORER.EXE, EXPLORER.EXE

UI Elements: Prepar3D, Desktop, FolderView, SysListView32, SHELLDLL_DefView, Program Manager, Progman



Problem Step 2: User left click on "Properties (menu item)"

Program: Windows Explorer, 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255), Microsoft Corporation, EXPLORER.EXE, EXPLORER.EXE

UI Elements: Properties, Context, #32768



Problem Step 3: User left click on "Security (page tab)" in "Prepar3D Properties"

Program: Windows Explorer, 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255), Microsoft Corporation, EXPLORER.EXE, EXPLORER.EXE

UI Elements: Security, SysTabControl32, Prepar3D Properties, #32770



Problem Step 4: User left click on "Edit... (push button)" in "Prepar3D Properties"

Program: Windows Explorer, 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255), Microsoft Corporation, EXPLORER.EXE, EXPLORER.EXE

UI Elements: Edit..., &Edit..., Button, Security, #32770, Prepar3D Properties, #32770



Problem Step 5: User left click on "Administrator (owner-PC\Administrator) (list item)" in "Permissions for Prepar3D"

Program: Windows Explorer, 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255), Microsoft Corporation, EXPLORER.EXE, EXPLORER.EXE

UI Elements: Administrator (owner-PC\Administrator), Group or user names:, SysListView32, Security, #32770, Permissions for Prepar3D, #32770



Problem Step 6: User left click on "Add... (push button)" in "Permissions for Prepar3D"

Program: Windows Explorer, 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255), Microsoft Corporation, EXPLORER.EXE, EXPLORER.EXE

UI Elements: Add..., A&dd..., Button, Security, #32770, Permissions for Prepar3D, #32770



Problem Step 7: User left click on "Advanced... (push button)" in "Select Users or Groups"

Program: Windows Explorer, 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255), Microsoft Corporation, EXPLORER.EXE, EXPLORER.EXE

UI Elements: Advanced..., &Advanced..., Button, Select Users or Groups, #32770



Problem Step 8: User left double click on "Find Now (push button)" in "Select Users or Groups"

Program: Windows Explorer, 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255), Microsoft Corporation, EXPLORER.EXE, EXPLORER.EXE

UI Elements: Find Now, Find &Now, Button, Select Users or Groups, #32770


User avatar
janvaane
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:17 am
Contact:

Postby janvaane » Sun May 27, 2012 9:16 am

Hello Shaun, instep 4 you are selecting the wrong button. To change the permissions to the file or folder, when necessairy, select Advanced button and follow the sample as I made.

So first action is to check the permissions of the object either file or folder.you have always two groups. One group called Administrators and one group called Users. Compare the permissions of both groups by selecting them in the upper view and showing the permissions in the lower view. The second action is ...when required...change the permissions. Therefor click the advanced button and in that screen select the Owner tab. Change the owner if required by using the edit button there in order to attach the ownership to the file or folder.

That done, now go to the Permissions tab and see the Permissions as they are. If one of the user or administrator group permission is not correct, you can set them here ! By selecting the row and pressing the button Change permissions.
|KLM149 | i7-8700k-16GB | Radeon RX580 8GB| flightsimeindhoven.com |

jabiru
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:32 am

Postby jabiru » Sun May 27, 2012 9:38 pm

I have been spending too much time on this ,I have phoned my IT man Ricky,and he will be over around mid -week.

I will have him report to you re this matter? In the mean time I will Uninstall & delete all the files & folders so he has a clear run.

Once again thank you for your time Jay,

Regards Shaun

jabiru
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:32 am

Postby jabiru » Fri Jun 01, 2012 2:05 am

Well my Unit is back from been away,The It man Ricky, could not work it out, So re-load with new download files and all Sys in the green at his office, until at my home plug in Joystick and Fatal error when you go to Display just like befor(same with rudders it dose not like them ?) My stick is a Logitech X3D, And my Rudders are Cessna.So with them out all is working fine!!!put the usb's in and back we go,Fatal error ???and of course my FSX is working fine.

Regards Shaun.


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 26 guests