Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
elmucki
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby elmucki » Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:39 pm

My old post is here and didnt go far... viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=122090
My issue is back (was never resolved really). I recently as of 4 days ago of this post installed Windows 10 PRO x64 on a PCIe SSD (Intel 750 1.2GB) and the install went fine. I updated all the drivers so those are all up to date. Installed P3D v3.4.14.18870 and once again, my sim closes out mid flight (randomly). I would be flying at cruise and next thing i know, its gone.

There was error report, but its of not much help: https://gyazo.com/4212fcd2feca4eb6f7968e8bb7a1a8bb

Specs:
Windows 10 PRO (64 bit)
GTX 970 2GB
Intel 750 SSD (1.2TB)
Z170A M3 Mobo
12 GB DDR4 RAM

As this is a VANILLA system, with nothing changed out of the box... it is quite frustrating to have this happen again and again.

So, LM please shed some light on this.

Martyson
Posts: 5833
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby Martyson » Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:00 pm

elmucki wrote:My old post is here and didnt go far... viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=122090
My issue is back (was never resolved really). I recently as of 4 days ago of this post installed Windows 10 PRO x64 on a PCIe SSD (Intel 750 1.2GB) and the install went fine. I updated all the drivers so those are all up to date. Installed P3D v3.4.14.18870 and once again, my sim closes out mid flight (randomly). I would be flying at cruise and next thing i know, its gone.

There was error report, but its of not much help: https://gyazo.com/4212fcd2feca4eb6f7968e8bb7a1a8bb

Specs:
Windows 10 PRO (64 bit)
GTX 970 2GB
Intel 750 SSD (1.2TB)
Z170A M3 Mobo
12 GB DDR4 RAM

As this is a VANILLA system, with nothing changed out of the box... it is quite frustrating to have this happen again and again.

So, LM please shed some light on this.



Quick questions ..
Are you flying a default P3D aircraft and default P3D weather on your test flight where you crash at cruise?

Does
"As this is a VANILLA system, with nothing changed out of the box"
mean your PC's OS or the default P3D installation?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

elmucki
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby elmucki » Wed Dec 07, 2016 1:28 pm

Its installed on the C drive under C->P3D, and vanilla means no add ons, so yes all default.

Martyson
Posts: 5833
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby Martyson » Wed Dec 07, 2016 1:34 pm

elmucki wrote:Its installed on the C drive under C->P3D, and vanilla means no add ons, so yes all default.



Did you do a fresh download of P3D and verify the ZIP files Checksum to verify the download is error free?

You may be using corrupted data / files for you current installs.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
Poppet
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby Poppet » Wed Dec 07, 2016 1:36 pm

Maybe Post a Crash Report also ---) viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=122090#p145168

elmucki
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby elmucki » Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:57 pm

Download is error free. And no, P3D does not show in the appcrashview. Again, the only event viewer entry is this: https://gyazo.com/4212fcd2feca4eb6f7968e8bb7a1a8bb

User avatar
aeronauta
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby aeronauta » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:48 pm

I think your problem is caused by the Video Card, Overheating or being overloaded , check the fan ,for cleanliness, also Power cable seating , untick tesselation and see..

Jorge
Jorge Roldan
OZx Developer (aero) - Hovercontrol Helicopter Certified Pilot - Spad.Next Beta Tester - VATPAC Pilot PR - Nemetz Designs Beta Tester

elmucki
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby elmucki » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:07 pm

its not the card. The card is clean. it is also not overclocked.
Really wanting LM to offer support here...

Martyson
Posts: 5833
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby Martyson » Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:35 pm

elmucki wrote:Download is error free. And no, P3D does not show in the appcrashview. Again, the only event viewer entry is this: https://gyazo.com/4212fcd2feca4eb6f7968e8bb7a1a8bb



"Download is error free"
Did you check the Checksum value on your downloaded ZIP file?


On your original problem: "My old post is here and didnt go far"
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=122090

Adam asked if you could do a video to help isolate your problem?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:11 pm

Hello,

A few points-

(I will be referencing your other post)

It is the default F35 at KSAN


Did you change your default startup criteria? The out of the box default plane is the F-22 at KVPS.

I load up at the airport with said plane and load in a flightplan via menu. I fly and throughout the flight it closes out with no warning.


Are crashed only reproduced when using the flight planner or are you crashing independently of this step?


Would you be able to provide step by step instructions to reproduce your crash? (Which aircraft, settings, airports, destination, etc)
Also, you don't mention your processor. Which processor are you using, what is its speed, and are you overclocking it?

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

elmucki
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby elmucki » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:31 pm

This time i was tracking VORs in the King Air. It happened half way from MMUN to KLAX. Yes i loaded the King air at MMUN. i7 6700k at 4GHZ not overclocked.

elmucki
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby elmucki » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:32 pm

The only thing that differs from my previous function installs is the switch from an SSD to an PCIe SSD. I do wonder if that has a play in things?

elmucki
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby elmucki » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:33 pm

As far as the video, i have no capture software. I read about shadow play from nvidia, but not sure how to use it

elmucki
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby elmucki » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:51 pm

also, when it happens, it freezes and as soon as i click anything, everything closes.

korundar
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 7:26 pm

Re: Repetitive CTD's on a Vanilla System.

Postby korundar » Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:39 pm

Hi all,

I read the discussion as I've got a very similar issue. No error event, no VAS falling (almost 900MB still free), it happens alsa on a completely Vanilla system. There are some other users on Avsim that encountered the same problem and it seems there's no solution for now.

I tried literally everything possible from reinstalling P3D to reinstalling Win10 from scratch. I even changed my video card (as someone suggested that it was overloaded) passing from a GTX 770 to a 1070 both never OC.

Not yet satisfied I updated my rig to a 6700k (not OC), Maximus Ranger MB and 16GB RAM. Nothing changed, same error always happening.

There's just one thing that I have in common with some other users. The CTD often happens when I move the focus to another application after more than an hour flight. Normally if I leave the focus on the P3D windows, I often succeed to complete the flight.

Currently I'm running P3D 3.3.5.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests