Re - installing P3D

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
User avatar
jayteeaitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:49 am

Re - installing P3D

Postby jayteeaitch » Sun Feb 02, 2020 7:51 am

viewtopic.php?f=6322&t=128775

Some time ago - "Poppet" gave the above help to another frustrated old man OP like me
I have followed through all the suggestions- and are still failing to install

Some of the screens are different of the install process - is there a latest set of steps of help?

I have a new 2TB HDD 7500 rpm dedicated to P3D and have been using it for some time - but after upgrading to H2
I have been have been having a few problems - so I went through the repair process and on the first flight P3D crashed and so I did a complete uninstall - complete with "user" entries and registry ----- and a restart.

On trying to reinstall - F:\Lockheed Martin - I had identical experiences to the original requester - ie multiple attempts resulting in 0-80091007

Soooh ----- I found above "Poppet" advice - did the latest download - again - I did the hash check and got the tick of approval - but still - after exactly 55mins of install - once again - I got the dreaded 0-80091007 "the hash value is not correct" ----My log looked similar to the OP's

I then tried the 3 step individual approach - the first one went fine - but trying the second one - I kept running into a brick wall saying it could not find a Cab- 1 file in the user temp files - which always ended in Install - which went no further than still looking for that cab file --- (maybe I should have called Uber?)

Please - is there a later set of step by step instructions for the latest downloads - or should I await P3D v5 ?? -
(and fly XP11 instead ??)

Jayteeaitch

User avatar
jayteeaitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:49 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby jayteeaitch » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:42 am

Can't understand this - P3D forum - 114 views - and not one word of advice

Looks like I will have to take all my Orbyx scenery and aircraft across to FSX Steam ?/

or start to invest more in XP11.5 - or try again with the new P3D 5 ??

part-time-punk
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:43 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby part-time-punk » Tue Feb 04, 2020 10:15 am

Hi Jayteeaitch,

I don't work for Lockheed Martin but I will try to help :-)

May I ask which program you are using to unzip the download file?

I tend to use 7-Zip (www.7-zip.org) as I have experienced checksum errors when using the built-in Windows zip facility.

Cheers,

Dave.

User avatar
jayteeaitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:49 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby jayteeaitch » Tue Feb 04, 2020 12:30 pm

Thanks for the offer -Dave ---- I did all the things in Poppets screed - except used 7-Zip
so I have now installed again - re-hashed - and used 7 zip on the Hash checked download - all OK

Tried to INSTALL - again and failed 3 times when this occurs -
"Prepar3Dv4 Content requires Prepar3D v4 to be installed"
and Error 0x80070643 pops up

I have now spent some 15 hours trying to reset up this sim - onto a new - exclusive - clean 2TB HDD 7500 rpm
----- as F:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D\

Thanks for trying

but I give up - await the new one P3D V5 - unless MS 2020 comes first

Meanwhile I have transferred to FSX Steam - 9 JF aircraft $450 - and some $ 500 of Orbyx scenery - except for the whole of TE Britain - $180 ---- and 4 aircraft designed for P3D4 exclusive - a further $150
An expensive foray into P3D one might assume - over 6 months for very little flying

John Heaton

JorgenSA
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby JorgenSA » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:16 pm

John, if you're interested in trying again, then could you start by telling me how you uninstalled P3D and then cleaned up the registry?

It does sound like you did everything OK, but there must be something missing, or you wouldn't have all this trouble.....

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

User avatar
jayteeaitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:49 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby jayteeaitch » Tue Feb 04, 2020 2:59 pm

Jorgen Thanks for that

I don't like giving up - with still investment in P3D

First up - since May it was loaded on a small 500 HDD - C: drive loaded with the usual windows 64 bit and Orbyx - and other bits and pieces.

In November - even after updating to hotfix 5 - it was still very slow loading so completely
uninstalled from C; anything and everything assoc with PD - inc registry etc - absolutely nothing left

Bought a new 2TB HDD 7500 and exclusively loaded it with a new download - and installed it without any problems
on the new drive. As I explained earlier - I was still have small infuriating problems - so I now wish I hadn't - did another complete uninstall of the sim - using control panel uninstall - hand uninstalled all the %user PD bits and pieces - and crap cleaned the registry. I could find not any trace Of P3D anywhere by search.

The rest is as shown above in my writings and yes - I tried a number of times to install it section by section - but it kept
telling me that it couldn't find Cab-1 when trying to install the contents.

When they get around to V5 - I hope they include a more simple .exe install procedure for dills like me

JorgenSA
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby JorgenSA » Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:03 pm

The control panel uninstall is exactly what you should have been using, and I have done that just fine.

But, if my ailing memory is not failing me completely, then there's no need to unzip anything in the installation process. And I think I remember (there's the memory problem again) that we had another thread with installation problems, where the issue was that the user kept trying to unzip the downloaded files. As soon as he just ran the installation without unzipping everything went into place.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

part-time-punk
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:43 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby part-time-punk » Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:58 pm

You are correct Jorgen - only the full installer file needs to be extracted:
https://www.prepar3d.com/Prepar3D_Downl ... ons_v4.pdf
Do not extract any of the CAB files! The installer program will do that automatically :-)

Dave.

JorgenSA
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby JorgenSA » Tue Feb 04, 2020 7:18 pm

Dave, thanks from a 72-y.o. whose brain apparently isn't totally petrified - yet....

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

User avatar
jayteeaitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:49 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby jayteeaitch » Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:45 am

Now I've definitely given up

on the basis of what you both said -once again I went through the process outlined in the PFD
First of all - the sequence outlined in using Win Zip - ie Right click etc doesn't work that way
but - by using the application .EXE I get - as before - the Set up page - go thro' all that it asks -
where to place etc - and press the Install button

The install starts with checking ancient windows installs - and then brings up a screen -
not mention in PDF - or Poppet - "windows explorer documents screen" asking for _

Install_content - so I press the downloaded zip files as the install source - up comes the install file and go thro'
the browse - file - EULA - sequence - install

The Install page continues installing "content' until after around 3/4hour - it once again says
"set up Failed --- 0x80091007 - the hash value is not correct"

I stress that I have put the zip file thro' the hash File checks using the file code shown on the download page

I notice that the Poppet install instructions stem from 2015 - No indication of when the PDF was written

Since these dates P3D has undergone some significant changes - and Windows - who knows

Someone at LM should forget the Skunk works and get down to writing a simple one step install.l

User avatar
jayteeaitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:49 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby jayteeaitch » Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:02 am

I start a new sheet with this offering

On AVSIM - I request notification of all entries to the P3D support forum
and note that there are some 5 complaints on average every day - mainly
seeming with some install - addon - etc problems

On the FSX / FSX steam page support forum - maybe 1 problem per week

Since P3D is based on FSX - how come we have so many problems

Surely - someone should take notice at LM - and see the damage to their reputation in this sim field
Is it any wonder that Orbyx and others are reducing their P3D inputs to porting XP 11 Sceneries.

Surely not because of the impending MS2020

part-time-punk
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:43 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby part-time-punk » Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:37 am

Hi John,

Can you right-click on the installer file you are trying to use, select properties, select the Details tab and post the information here please?

Dave.

Martyson
Posts: 8313
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby Martyson » Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:55 am

@ by jayteeaitch,

You mentioned:

“I have a new 2TB HDD 7500 rpm dedicated to P3D and have been using it for some time - but after upgrading to H2
I have been have been having a few problems - so I went through the repair process and on the first flight P3D crashed and so I did a complete uninstall - complete with "user" entries and registry ----- and a restart.”



Do you have a home built PC / user upgraded PC or a store bought PC?

Before your current problem did you have any problems installing P3Dv4 (before HF2)?

After upgrading to HF2 you mentioned you had problems.
What kind of problems did you have?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
jayteeaitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:49 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby jayteeaitch » Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:59 am

Dave
Prepar3D_v4_Academic_4.5.13.32097
WinZip file
C;\users\jonte\Favourites\Downloads
12.9 GB
2/02/22020 1.345 PM
2/02/2020 2.12PM
A
NEWBEASTIE64\jonte
NEWBEASTIE64 (this PC)

User avatar
jayteeaitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:49 am

Re: Re - installing P3D

Postby jayteeaitch » Wed Feb 05, 2020 12:31 pm

To Martyson
home built by Pro - / user upgraded by pro May 2019
Installed P3DV4 approx. June 2020 no probs,

Reinstalled(repaired) - update HF 1 - no Probs - a little faster


Bought new drive - uninstalled (Control Panel) - ostensibly to speed up reloads - reinstalled (repair) v4-H2 - November update on virgin 2TB HDD drive exclusive

Installed OK - and no probs for a day or 2 - until ---

accidently stopped a flight - in flight - not saved !

Start screen no longer with default P3D - start screen shows old flight - Aircraft and airport
tried to save - successfully - deleted - but still there on next Start Up

Start a new A/c and airport - displays Cockpit OK - but mouse does not work - rings bell when
clicked on switches - and menu bar ----- throttle prop mixture pedals - Yoke etc all work to saved profile

because I cant use menu - I have to delete P3D with Task Manager

Restart P3D - screen shows the old flight /in flight map position
mouse is working - undo pause - starts with flight as originally closed down - resettle aircraft S+L

Menu new flight - enter details - sometimes mouse will work on switches - and flight OK - sometimes it doesn't !!

Hence the frustration to do a complete uninstall as per PDF

Window 10 64bit - 1050T! - I5 - 3.9 h

All aircraft Carenado via JF - all scenery Orbyx exclusive

XP 11 installed on sep drive - and FSX SE on another - and no problems (TW!)


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests