[RESOLVED] P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
kennye788
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:51 am

[RESOLVED] P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby kennye788 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 1:31 am

Thanks in Advance for your help.

I just downloaded the full install for 4.4, but upon startup, I get an error message saying my video card may not be compatible with Direct X 11, even though I have an Nvidia GTX 1070 with current drivers. Can anyone tell me what could have caused this issue?

Thanks!

User avatar
ronh991
Posts: 710
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:46 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby ronh991 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:21 pm

Shot in the dark. integrated motherboard with another video device? BIOS setup ensure using Nvidia set as default?

Computer specs may help someone help you.
Ron

Aspiring Prepar3d beta tester

kennye788
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:51 am

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby kennye788 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 7:33 pm

Hello,

I have just upgraded to windows 10 Pro 64 bit OS with an intel i7-7700K CPU @ 4.2GHZ 16 GIG RAM, running Direct x 12, Nvidia GTX 1070 with 8 GiG RAM and 1 GIG SSD.

All my other games are running perfectly, including PUBG, which is a very GPU intensive game.

Thanks everyone!!!

elmucki
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby elmucki » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:50 pm

screenshot of the actual error code would be most helpful...

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1421
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby WarpD » Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:40 pm

You're using a single 1 gigabyte SSD for your computer? Is that even possible?
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

kennye788
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:51 am

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby kennye788 » Thu Dec 27, 2018 8:08 am

Correction[*]: 1TB SSD


I'm not sure how I can upload an attachment, but here's what the exact text states:

INVALID HARDWARE OR DRIVER DETECTED

prepar3d was unable to initialize the rendering system and will shut down. Please make sure this system has a video card that supports DirectX 11 and that the drivers are up to date.

User avatar
ronh991
Posts: 710
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:46 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby ronh991 » Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:33 pm

I google INVALID HARDWARE OR DRIVER DETECTED
and got a lot of FSX Graphics issues and some suggestions: "Try the GOOGLE, Luke"

ensure your prepar3D .cfg file has the correct graphics section

example

[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680.0]
Mode=1920x1200x32
Anisotropic=1

Do the suggested deletion of shaders and files etc.

https://prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 2&t=123246

do you do a clean install of your graphics drivers - ie. check the box - clean install
Ron

Aspiring Prepar3d beta tester

kennye788
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:51 am

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby kennye788 » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:21 am

I've tried everything in the threads, but its still giving me the same issue, and I even tried reinstalling 4.3.


Would it be possible that other programs run properly and other don't even recognize the the video card? It doesn't make sense.

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1421
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby WarpD » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:11 pm

What is the entry for your display card in your prepar3d.cfg file?
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

kennye788
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:51 am

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby kennye788 » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:46 pm

[GRAPHICS]
SCREEN_CAPTURE_MAX_JOBS=10
VIDEO_CAPTURE_WIDTH=720
VIDEO_CAPTURE_HEIGHT=480
VIDEO_CAPTURE_FPS=30
VIDEO_CAPTURE_BIT_RATE=3200000
VIDEO_CAPTURE_IS_THREADED=True
VIDEO_CAPTURE_INFO_SEND_RATE=20
VIDEO_CAPTURE_MAX_FRAME_SIZE=500000
VIDEO_CAPTURE_TTL=255
HDR_BRIGHTNESS=1.000000
HDR_BLOOM_THRESHOLD=3.000000
HDR_BLOOM_MAGNITUDE=1.000000
HDR_BLOOM_BLUR_SIGMA=0.800000
TONEMAP_DAY_EXPOSURE_KEY=0.280000
TONEMAP_NIGHT_EXPOSURE_KEY=0.130000
HDR_SATURATION=1.000000
MAX_POINT_LIGHTS=250
MAX_SPOT_LIGHTS=250
RS_MIN_OBJECT_PIXEL_RADIUS=2.000000
MAX_TEXTURE_REQUEST_DISTANCE=1000.000000
DYNAMIC_INTERIOR_CAPTURE=False
[WEATHER]
CLOUD_FACING_MODE=0

User avatar
Poppet
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby Poppet » Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:54 am

Hello kennye788

If you scroll to the bottom of the Prepar3D.cfg file you will notice an entry like below

What does your entry state ?
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti.0.0]
Mode=2560x1440x32
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti.0.1]
Mode=1280x1024x32

Note: If you can not see this entry in the Prepar3D.cfg file follow the steps below to generate this entry

Launch Prepar3D click Options > Display, Then just click Ok and close Prepar3D down again.

Open the Prepar3D.cfg file and check again at the bottom

---

Also please try these two additional steps in the link below

Let us know how you get on

https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=128104

kennye788
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:51 am

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby kennye788 » Sat Dec 29, 2018 3:34 am

There's no Nvidia card entry, and I'm not able to open P3D to change the display settings either. I get the invalid hardware message right upon startup, nothing else comes up.

Can I add that entry manually?

User avatar
Poppet
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby Poppet » Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:13 pm

I'm not able to open P3D to change the display settings either. I get the invalid hardware

Hello kennye788

Yes that's correct, my apologises.


Can I add that entry manually?

No, First the simulator needs to see a dedicated graphics card to function and then the entry is added automatically.

However, as i posted above, Mostly you will not see this entry in a default Prepar3D.cfg file, You will need to at least launch Prepar3D click Options and change some settings OR just click "Ok" to generate this entry

---

Note: Have you tried the 2 steps in the link above ? (Delete generated files & Driver Display Uninstaller)

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1421
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby WarpD » Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:14 pm

I'd like to see what DISPLAY entries they do have...
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

kennye788
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:51 am

Re: P3D V4.4 NOT LAUNCHING..ERROR CODE DIRECT X 11 ISSUE

Postby kennye788 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:37 am

Note: Have you tried the 2 steps in the link above ? (Delete generated files & Driver Display Uninstaller)
I tried those two steps, i also used the DDU program to uninstall and reinstall all display drivers. Under my DXDIAG, the display driver is the updated one, Nvidia dirver version 25.21.14.1735 12.10.18.

All other GPU intensive programs on my system work perfectly.

This is so confusing, I'm not sure what to do....I really enjoy P3D. :(


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests