Preparing for Ver4

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
rgbinns
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:19 pm

Preparing for Ver4

Postby rgbinns » Tue May 30, 2017 7:11 am

I am wondering if I moved the P3D ver3.4 directory from my SSD onto a HDD and then changed the disc letter to the one that was on the SSD would everything work?
I would then install P3D ver4 onto the SSD.
Thanks for any advice,
KInd regards
Richard.

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Preparing for Ver4

Postby WarpD » Tue May 30, 2017 10:16 am

Nope.... you can't just move it. The license would be invalid and then you'd have to request a reset on your license.
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

elmucki
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Preparing for Ver4

Postby elmucki » Tue May 30, 2017 12:27 pm

you could clone the drive and do it that way.

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Preparing for Ver4

Postby WarpD » Tue May 30, 2017 7:46 pm

Don't mess with your license, unless you seek to sit for up to 48hrs+ to get Lockheed-Martin to reset it because you didn't want to take the time to uninstall/reinstall.

There is no intelligent reason to risk fragging your license.
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

nealmac
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 11:11 pm
Location: Ireland (Ardee hey)

Re: Preparing for Ver4

Postby nealmac » Wed May 31, 2017 9:14 am

Seriously, just install it properly. It's a one-off operation that frankly doesn't take long. You'll be safe in the knowledge of knowing you did everything by the book. Why take the risk of messing everything up?
Best Regards,

Neal McCullough.


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests