CPU/GPU ?

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
dogtrack
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 4:34 am

Postby dogtrack » Thu Sep 22, 2011 1:13 am

Would I be right in thinking that P3D is more dependant on the CPU for graphic rendering? As per other similar products. Or have you passed the workload back to the GPU? Thus being able to make use of multiple Graphic cards. Thanks.




User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1887
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Postby Beau Hollis » Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:48 am

There have been a few other threads about this. The short answer is that P3D rendering performance is pretty much the same as FSX/ESP assuming you have comparable settings. We've added some cool new capabilities like sensors, underwater environments, etc, but we haven't changed the core rendering architecture to take advantage of modern GPUs just yet. We're working on it, but it's a pretty huge undertaking given the size and age of the code base.



That said, there still are advantages of using multiple GPU's even though we don't do anything explicitly in our code to access them. This is especially true if you're using multi-monitor / multi-view scenarios. Each monitor requires its own frame buffer and copy of the meshes and textures, so it can help if you have a separate video cards, because each has its own memory.



Beau
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

dogtrack
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 4:34 am

Postby dogtrack » Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:06 am

Thanks for the clarification.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests