DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE-HUNG OOM

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
VTX1800F
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:21 am

DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE-HUNG OOM

Postby VTX1800F » Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:25 am

Lockeed’s new version of Prepare 3D version 5 was released back in late April. one of the big improvements is the adoption of DirectX 12. Based on my research and small degree of knowledge of DirectX 11 &12 is that there was a major change in how VRAM is used and weather or not shared memory is used at all.

I am running an EVGA 2080 Super w/8 GB of DDR6. The new version of Prepare3D v5 runs for about an hour and then you get this error code ”DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE-HUNG” which translates to a more verbose error saying you are out of VRAM which hangs Prepare 3D v5. Now 8 GB of 6 GDDR is no small amount of VRAM as the 2080 TI is limited to 11GB. When prepare 3Dv5 runs for it quickly consumes up to 5.8-6.4 GB of this memory. Much if this is our addons for scenery which are important as this is a Flight Simulator. Sadly, we can reach these numbers with only one addin.

I understand we can use SLI and install a second card to double the VRAM but that would constitute $900. Is there anyway to get Prepare3D v5 to use DirectX 12 but also use the shared memory like it did with Direct X 11? If not, can we get NVidia to open a case up directly with Lockheed’s developer team on the back end and figure out how to resolve this issue?

Yes, I know this is a known issue but it has not been resolved even though 2 hot fixes have been released

VTX1800F
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:21 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE-HUNG OOM

Postby VTX1800F » Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:40 am

My hardware

Case: Fractal Design Define 6 XL
CPU: Intel 7800x Skylake
GPU: EVGA 2080 Super
Motherboard: EVGA X299 Dark
RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32 GB (4x8GB) DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600)
PSU: EVGA Supernova 1000 T2 80+ Titanium
Monitors: 2xSamsung UH750 28" 4K
Storage:
1. WD Black 250GB SN750 NVMe M.2 2280 3D NAND <--Windows Drive
2. WD Black 1TB SN750 NVMe M.2 2280 3D NAND
3. WD Blue 3D NAND 1TB Internal PC SSD <--Applications
Sound: EVGA Nu Pro
WIFI/Bluetooth: Intel Wireless-AC 9260 M.2
Cooling:
1. CPU Block: Watercool HEATKILLER IV PRO ACRYL HWLuxx Edition
2. Thermal Paste: Grizzly Kryonaut 12.5W/m-k
3. Radiator: AlphacCaseool Nexxos Full Copper ST45 420mm
4. Radiator Fans: 3x140 mm Be Quiet
5. Pump: Aquacomputer D5 Next RGB
6. Reservoir: Aquacomputer Aqualis Base 450mL
7. Coolant: Mayhems x1 - UV Green Pre-Mix
8. Tubing: Primochill PrimoFlex Clear 3/8 ID x 5/8 OD - Crystal Clear
9. Software: Aquacool Suite
Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow Tournament Chroma V2
Mouse: Razer Basilisk
Anti-virus: Trend Micro Maximum Security
Windows: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit 1909:18363.900


My Prepare 3D Addons
GSX LEVEL 2 EXPANSION
GSX
ACTIVE SKY
ORBX
FEELTHERE EJ-175/195v3
Chase plane
Navigraph Connector

I am running hotfix 2 of Prepare3Dv5. I did a clean install by following directions of uninstalling P3Dv5. Then I deleted each of the five directories mentioned in article and did a fresh install of P3Dv5 hfx2 and all 7 addons.

Additionally, I ran Windows update and installed latest patches for Windows. I installed the NVidia GEForce driver released this week and Razer drivers for my mouse.

VTX1800F
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:21 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE-HUNG OOM

Postby VTX1800F » Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:57 am

At the flash screen where you plane and airport I am at 1.7 GB (1st image). By the time I load my plane at the airport I am at 5.6GB(2nd image).

This was taken after disabling dynamic 3D vegetation on default settings

Images can be found here

https://www.icloud.com/sharedalbum/#B12GzFCC1J6z6kt

VTX1800F
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:21 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE-HUNG OOM

Postby VTX1800F » Mon Jun 29, 2020 3:33 pm

wow! Not a single reply!

JorgenSA
Posts: 2245
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE-HUNG OOM

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Jun 29, 2020 3:40 pm

After you did your clean install, but before you installed your 7 add-ons, could you then fly around OK?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 31 guests