SLI second card not shown in "Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings"

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
BroccSoy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:48 am

SLI second card not shown in "Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings"

Postby BroccSoy » Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:10 am

Hello,
I have recently bought another GTX 1080Ti to run my sim in SLI. In Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings, only one video card shows up for me. Seems like SLI is not working/beneficial to gain more performance in P3D for me. I've also ensured many times that SLI is turned on and it is. A couple years ago I had GTX 960s in SLI and both video cards showed up in settings (although this was back in P3D V3.4 and FSX) and I'm not sure what the problem is with both of my GTX 1080Ti's not being shown in the display settings. I've also tried to see if both video cards would show up on P3D V3.4 and FSX but no luck, just the one GTX 1080Ti would be shown. Any solutions to fix this?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GT5QKI ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XHiU2D ... sp=sharing

Martyson
Posts: 7224
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: SLI second card not shown in "Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings"

Postby Martyson » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:03 pm

Did you build your own PC a couple years ago and now are upgrading it?

Does your PC and P3D run ok now with your new video card removed from the PC (original setup)?

The vendor who sold you the new card may be able to provide some installation and warranty support for you?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
downscc
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: KCRP

Re: SLI second card not shown in "Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings"

Postby downscc » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:53 pm

Hello,
I have recently bought another GTX 1080Ti to run my sim in SLI. In Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings, only one video card shows up for me. Seems like SLI is not working/beneficial to gain more performance in P3D for me. I've also ensured many times that SLI is turned on and it is. A couple years ago I had GTX 960s in SLI and both video cards showed up in settings (although this was back in P3D V3.4 and FSX) and I'm not sure what the problem is with both of my GTX 1080Ti's not being shown in the display settings. I've also tried to see if both video cards would show up on P3D V3.4 and FSX but no luck, just the one GTX 1080Ti would be shown. Any solutions to fix this?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GT5QKI ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XHiU2D ... sp=sharing
P3D will only indicate one card, I have 1080Ti's running and that is displaying one card but it is the NVidia control panel that activates the SLI and indicates that it is working. The SLI is not something that an application has any awareness of, the magic takes place in the driver and on the cards.
Dan Downs
KCRP

BroccSoy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:48 am

Re: SLI second card not shown in "Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings"

Postby BroccSoy » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:17 pm

[quote=BroccSoy post_id=208403 time=<a href="tel:1580260239">1580260239</a> user_id=126242]
Hello,
I have recently bought another GTX 1080Ti to run my sim in SLI. In Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings, only one video card shows up for me. Seems like SLI is not working/beneficial to gain more performance in P3D for me. I've also ensured many times that SLI is turned on and it is. A couple years ago I had GTX 960s in SLI and both video cards showed up in settings (although this was back in P3D V3.4 and FSX) and I'm not sure what the problem is with both of my GTX 1080Ti's not being shown in the display settings. I've also tried to see if both video cards would show up on P3D V3.4 and FSX but no luck, just the one GTX 1080Ti would be shown. Any solutions to fix this?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GT5QKI ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XHiU2D ... sp=sharing
P3D will only indicate one card, I have 1080Ti's running and that is displaying one card but it is the NVidia control panel that activates the SLI and indicates that it is working. The SLI is not something that an application has any awareness of, the magic takes place in the driver and on the cards.
[/quote]

Perfect! That’s all I needed to know. Thanks!

Martyson
Posts: 7224
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: SLI second card not shown in "Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings"

Postby Martyson » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:31 pm

You previously mentioned:
"A couple years ago I had GTX 960s in SLI and both video cards showed up in settings "

So, I assumed they would still show up.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

BroccSoy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:48 am

Re: SLI second card not shown in "Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings"

Postby BroccSoy » Fri Jan 31, 2020 7:22 am

You previously mentioned:
"A couple years ago I had GTX 960s in SLI and both video cards showed up in settings "

So, I assumed they would still show up.
Yes they did both show up a few years ago on FSX and P3D V3.4 but I guess for some reason both of my 1080Ti’s won’t show up in the display settings.

JorgenSA
Posts: 907
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: SLI second card not shown in "Graphics/Display/Full Screen Settings"

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Jan 31, 2020 9:55 am

It might be worth your while to contact nVidia tech support for this problem.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests