Page 1 of 1

RAM ???

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 11:25 pm
by Snowfalcon
How much does P3D benefit from more system RAM? I'm at 32GB right now (2x16) my MoBo will go up to 64. For most things I know more headroom is often but not always better.

Normally running with PMDG 747/777 or FSLabs 319/320. AS4, PF3, GSX 2, AIG AI traffic and some addon scenery

Re: RAM ???

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 4:01 am
by CplDaniel
At 32 Gb, I would say that FASTER RAM is better than more RAM

Re: RAM ???

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 2:51 pm
by downscc
Agree, I have 32GB and never seen the physcial memory use rise above 12 GB. However, unless you have a very slow memory I don't think you will see any benefit to faster memory. The memory is not the problem, especially with the huge amount of caching used by P3D for terrain.

In most cases, the bottle neck is the CPU followed by the GPU.