Using fps limiter bad stutters

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
User avatar
freddy_
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:03 am

Re: Using fps limiter bad stutters

Postby freddy_ » Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:39 pm

Freddy,
If there ever was a candidate for the hotfix, you're it. That fix was, if I remember correctly, it was designed explicitly to get rid of stutters....

Interesting that you say that. After my previous FSX PC died, I bought a new PC and purchased P3D (v4.5). So this is basically a completely new installation of P3Dv4.5, plus add-ons. (Note that I re-purchased applicable add-ons where required to ensure they were P3Dv4 compatible -- it can be an expensive hobby).

As it stands right now, I am extremely happy with the performance I am getting on this newly installed P3Dv4.5 ... with no Hotfix. The Hotfix came out literally one week or so after I had completed my full reinstallation of the software and all the add-ons. But, with the performance I was getting, and upon reading that some people were having a few issues with the Hotfix and compatibilities with various add-ons, I figured I'd leave this new installation of the software alone (for now) due to the smoothness and the excellent, high frame rates I am experiencing ... albeit with the FPS slider set at "Unlimited".

For me, right now, at Unlimiited frame rates, P3Dv4.5, with no Hotfix, is the best (visually) and smoothest sim I have ever had on any PC I've ever owned. And the frame rates I'm getting are exceptional (80+ nearly all the time, with ORBX scenery and Active Sky -- dropping a little if I use, say, PMDG aircraft, and a bit more with the FSLabs A320). But, frames aside, it's all about smoothness ... and I am getting that in spades. I only see stutters if I set a limited frame rate. If I don't do that, she's exceptionally smooth, and the frames are great. So I leave it set to Unlimited. Set up this way, she appears, to me, to be "not broke". And, "if it aint broke, then don't stuff with it".

That said, I do plan to put the Hotfix on, eventually. I may very well see increased performance and benefit from setting a limited frame rate. All fair enough. But right now, all I want to do is fly. After all, it took me some 2-and-a-half months to get this new PC, purchase and install P3Dv4.5, research compatibility of add-ons, (re)buy and install those as required, configure cameras, and do everything else that needed to be done. It wasn't a small task. So, for now, I just want to have a bit of fun (flying). The Hotfix will come. I'm just not sure yet when I might go for it.

JorgenSA
Posts: 540
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Using fps limiter bad stutters

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:43 am

Sounds like you're in good shape, and I definitely agree with "if it ain't broke don't fix it".

And, for me at least, applying the hotfix was a piece of cake.

Jorgen

User avatar
freddy_
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:03 am

Re: Using fps limiter bad stutters

Postby freddy_ » Fri Jul 05, 2019 5:30 am

A follow up ...

Well, I finally decided to "bite the bullet" and have now applied the 4.5 Hotfix (client), including updating my add-ons for appropriate compatibility. There were a few initial niggles and some error messages as I systematically updated my add-ons ... but the error messages gave me the clues I needed to resolve each situation as it occurred. All up, it was a pretty painless exercise (just as you said, Jorgen).

The result for me appears to be "no change". On my system, P3Dv4.5 with Hotfix, runs exactly the same for me as P3Dv4.5 before Hotfix. My frames have neither increased nor decreased. And when setting a FPS limit I still see the stutters. But, don't get me wrong, I am very happy with this result. Before applying the Hotfix I was worried that I might "break" what was, in my opinion, an already working system. But, that did not happen. Provided I fly with my frames set to Unlimited, I continue to get a wonderful, smooth, and visually appealing experience -- exactly as I did before applying the Hotfix.

So the real end result, in my case at least, is that I continue to fly and enjoy the sim as if nothing has changed.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests