Upgrading to P3DV4.4

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
MACHAVIA
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:21 am

Upgrading to P3DV4.4

Postby MACHAVIA » Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:35 am

Hi,

I am currently at P3DV4.2, I see 4.5 recently released however could I upgrade to only 4.4 version if I wanted to.

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2273
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Upgrading to P3DV4.4

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:26 pm

Hello,

Yes, you can access legacy client updates from the downloads page. However only the latest scenery and content installers are available.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

MACHAVIA
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:21 am

Re: Upgrading to P3DV4.4

Postby MACHAVIA » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:39 pm

Hello Rob,

If I upgrade only the "client" will my existing Add-on's remain "as is" and un-effected?

You may realise I am pretty new to this and am terrified of messing my existing scenery and other add-on's I have invested more than 4000 USD in add-on's.

I have read that updating the "client" only is the least troublesome option?

any help much appreciated
Charlie

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2273
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Upgrading to P3DV4.4

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:42 pm

Hi Charlie,

That depends on how the add-on is installed. In most cases a client update should leave add-ons unaffected. Some add-ons may not be compatible with certain versions so if you run into any specific issues contacting the developers or seeing if there is an update is a good first step.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests