Page 1 of 1

p3d v4.4 on ssd (c:) but want all add-ons on 2nd drive hdd (d:)

Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 6:21 pm
by threshold
Hello,

I'll be doing a full install of p3d v4.4 onto my c: drive (ssd) and want to place all add-ons in my d: drive (hdd). Is this possible and if so how can I accomplish this? My c: drive is only 256GB and d: is 1TB. Sorry for asking possibly a newbie question.

Thanks for any help re: this matter.

Re: p3d v4.4 on ssd (c:) but want all add-ons on 2nd drive hdd (d:)

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:36 pm
by elgreco111
Hi ! Makes no sense to put add ons on an hdd, is much slower than ssd. I have my p3d on an own ssd d: My win 10 on c:

Re: p3d v4.4 on ssd (c:) but want all add-ons on 2nd drive hdd (d:)

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:38 pm
by downscc
Hello,

I'll be doing a full install of p3d v4.4 onto my c: drive (ssd) and want to place all add-ons in my d: drive (hdd). Is this possible and if so how can I accomplish this? My c: drive is only 256GB and d: is 1TB. Sorry for asking possibly a newbie question.

Thanks for any help re: this matter.
It makes perfect sense to use a HDD for data storage. Even Orbx with their gigabyte sized files says in their forum that this is okay and the only downside is you might notice longer loading times. However, once up and running then there is no noticable impact. Sure, a SSD is better but go ahead and use it if you got it.

Re: p3d v4.4 on ssd (c:) but want all add-ons on 2nd drive hdd (d:)

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:15 pm
by threshold
Hello Dan,

Thanks for your reply and I'm going to give it a try on D: drive. Perhaps in the next while I'll think about a 2TB ssd for D: as prices come down. I just want to get the ball rolling and get flying.

All the best,

Brett Martin