[RESOLVED] T16000M Hat for Trim

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
knola005
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:26 pm

[RESOLVED] T16000M Hat for Trim

Postby knola005 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:37 pm

Hello I am having a difficult time assigning trim up and down to their corresponding high hat position on the joystick. It appears that the hat is only recognized as one button. Is there any way to fix this without third party software?

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: T16000M Hat for Trim

Postby Rob McCarthy » Mon Jul 17, 2017 2:43 pm

There are separate POV hat control assignments that will handle this. Search for "POV hat" in the Key Assignments window to view these control settings.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

fleng200
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:24 am

Re: T16000M Hat for Trim

Postby fleng200 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:49 pm

Never had this issue with my T16000.
Just click the assign button and next the required button on the joystick and it is recognised normally. Repeat this for the other command.

knola005
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:26 pm

Re: T16000M Hat for Trim

Postby knola005 » Tue Jul 18, 2017 1:23 am

I found Hotas hat (up) Hotas hat (up) ect. but it is listed under event not assingment. Am i missing something? Excuse my ignorance just a flight student trying to set up a T6B (iris) sim for practice

knola005
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:26 pm

Re: T16000M Hat for Trim

Postby knola005 » Tue Jul 18, 2017 1:27 am

No matter what direction on the hat I press it is shows up as Hat Switch 1 on the Change Assignment box

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: T16000M Hat for Trim

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:19 pm

That is correct and should function properly if you are assigning it to one of the POV hat assignments I mentioned earlier. The direction of the POV hat is handled internally in this case.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

knola005
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:26 pm

Re: T16000M Hat for Trim

Postby knola005 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:42 pm

I just tried to reassign buttons with a logitech joystick and I am having the same problem. P3d is only recognizing the hat button as one specific button. I'm not understanding your fix could you explain in greater depth?

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: T16000M Hat for Trim

Postby Rob McCarthy » Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:38 pm

The hat showing as one button is not a bug. Assign the hat to either the "Elevator/Aileron trim(POV hat)" or "Elevator/Rudder trim(POV hat)" control. It does not matter which direction you press when making this assignment. The hat switch registers as a single button. Within Prepar3D extra data is sent from the controller specifying the direction the hat switch was moved. Prepar3D uses this to make the correct adjustments to the control surfaces of the aircraft.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

knola005
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:26 pm

Re: T16000M Hat for Trim

Postby knola005 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:39 am

OK I understand that now, and the problem is resolved. I was assigning the hat switch to elevator (up) but now see Elevator/Alieron trim (POV hat). Thanks so much


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests