P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
Beiram
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:34 pm

P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby Beiram » Sun Jul 12, 2020 4:02 am

Hey guys, so I have had this issue for a long amount of time, I have just ignored it but now it's getting me annoyed. My sim continuously mini stutters just because of the vegetation density. I have to set the slider all the way to none for my sim not to stutter. I have Orbx Terraflora v2 so I thought that it just may be that so I uninstalled and tried it again but it still stutters. Does anybody have any advice?

JorgenSA
Posts: 2248
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Jul 12, 2020 7:24 am

Beiram,

What are your system specifications?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Beiram
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:34 pm

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby Beiram » Sun Jul 12, 2020 3:48 pm

Beiram,

What are your system specifications?

Jorgen
i9-9900K overclocked to 4.8 ghz paired with a RTX 2080 Super also overclocked. P3D is also on an ssd. 16 gb of ram as well.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2248
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Jul 12, 2020 4:25 pm

Yes a system like that should not be stuttering...

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Beiram
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:34 pm

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby Beiram » Sun Jul 12, 2020 4:49 pm

Yes a system like that should not be stuttering...

Jorgen
Well, that is why I started this forum! Any ideas?

JorgenSA
Posts: 2248
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Jul 12, 2020 5:09 pm

One idea comes to mind - are you limiting your frame rates?

You can do that in two ways:

1. Up until today, actually, my preferred way was to set UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=30, or

2. Set Max Frame Rate in nVidia Control Panel (under Preferred 3D Settings) to 30.

I have chosen 30 because your eye cannot see more than 30 FPS anyway.

And today I changed to the nVidia Control Panel method to try out advice in another thread, and the flight experience itself seems more or less the same, but the handing of the default F-35 with my Thrustmaster HOTAS joystick/throttle combo was much improved.

The whole idea of limiting the frame rate is to give the CPU more time to build complete frames and thereby avoiding stutters.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Beiram
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:34 pm

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby Beiram » Sun Jul 12, 2020 5:55 pm

One idea comes to mind - are you limiting your frame rates?

You can do that in two ways:

1. Up until today, actually, my preferred way was to set UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=30, or

2. Set Max Frame Rate in nVidia Control Panel (under Preferred 3D Settings) to 30.

I have chosen 30 because your eye cannot see more than 30 FPS anyway.

And today I changed to the nVidia Control Panel method to try out advice in another thread, and the flight experience itself seems more or less the same, but the handing of the default F-35 with my Thrustmaster HOTAS joystick/throttle combo was much improved.

The whole idea of limiting the frame rate is to give the CPU more time to build complete frames and thereby avoiding stutters.

Jorgen
The stuttering definitely lessened. However, it still stutters a bit.

miraclemax
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:39 pm

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby miraclemax » Sun Jul 12, 2020 7:13 pm

I have the same system but with 2 EVO M_2'S & 32gb RAM on WIN10 2004. No stutters. Unlimited FR. All ORBX. No OC. ASP3D w/ASCA & TOGA ENV shade/text. Full AIG_AIM traffic & Hendrik's ship tfc; both set at 100% but with stock AIG_AIM percentage settings. Many quality payware sceneries. My veggies set at normal.

As an aside; after upgrading to WIN10 pro 2004 my max VRAM went up from 6.6 to 7.1, after which I updated nvidia driver.

Now I can actually load-up and take off fm an FSDT scenery w/o blowing VRAM!

Good Luck, it can be done! It took me a while to get away fm wanting all sliders to the right; more of a psychological 'thing' than real.
Rgds,
max

miraclemax
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:39 pm

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby miraclemax » Sun Jul 12, 2020 7:20 pm

Beiram, be sure that u have FSUIPC autosave completely off.

max

Beiram
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:34 pm

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby Beiram » Sun Jul 12, 2020 7:25 pm

Beiram, be sure that u have FSUIPC autosave completely off.

max
Okay, I'll take it off. I have it on just in case my sim crashes mid flight. I have the same add ons as you including envtex and everything and I just want to get my sim to look smooth and nice.

Beiram
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:34 pm

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby Beiram » Sun Jul 12, 2020 7:29 pm

Also, how's your loading time into the scenario. Mine takes a very long time. Anywhere from 15-30 mins.

miraclemax
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:39 pm

Re: P3Dv5 HF2 Stuttering because of Vegetation

Postby miraclemax » Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:55 pm

There's a problem somewhere, Beiram. Mine takes 1 or 2 mins depending upon aircraft & location. I know this is not what u want to here but maybe you had better follow LM's troubleshooting advice.

later. max


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests