Black screens

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
1021405
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:54 am
Location: Melbourne

Black screens

Postby 1021405 » Mon Jul 06, 2020 6:02 am

Start P3D V5 5.0.31 35253 ok . But when I try to select anything from the Toolbar at the top of the screen , the screen goes black for a couple of minutes then the application crashes. Previously used P3D v4 on this pc ok , but was deleted when I had to rebuilt the pc.
PC is 64bit W10 pro with NVIDIA GTX 1600 internal core is i7 @ 3.00GHZ .
John E.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2245
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Black screens

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Jul 06, 2020 7:14 am

Is your Windows 10 up to the v. 2004? Is your nVidia drivers up to the latest level?

And your complete system specifications?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Bavarello
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 4:48 pm
Location: LICF

Re: Black screens

Postby Bavarello » Mon Jul 06, 2020 3:10 pm

Upgrading functionality to Windows 10, version 2004, from previous versions, Prepar3D needs to be fully reinstalled. Not only that, but also video card drivers need to be reinstalled.
It's better, after automatic Windows update, completely remove video drivers with this utility:
Display Driver Uninstaller (DDU) V18.0.2.6
https://www.wagnardsoft.com/blog
Without these steps Prepar3d Prepar3d becomes very unstable.
Asus P8P67 PRO | i7 2600K @ 3.40 Ghz | DDR3 GB 24 | GTX 1080 | Monitor AOC LED G2590FX | LG TV 32" | Windows 10 Pro v1909 x64

JorgenSA
Posts: 2245
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Black screens

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Jul 06, 2020 3:23 pm

Allow me to quote:

"Not only that, but also video card drivers need to be reinstalled.
It's better, after automatic Windows update, completely remove video drivers with this utility:
Display Driver Uninstaller (DDU) V18.0.2.6
https://www.wagnardsoft.com/blog
Without these steps Prepar3d Prepar3d becomes very unstable."

Not true. All you need to do after a new video driver install is to delete your shaders folder.

And even that is not always necessary.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

1021405
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:54 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Black screens

Postby 1021405 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:09 am

No luck , updated drivers , went into the uninstalled P3D v5 from the W10 Add/Remove programs and chose the repair Option , still no luck. Could be a windows problem, but if I rebuild my PC , then I need to purchase P3D v5 again as only had one activation (think that is down to Zero now) to the software on the website. I've purchase P3D v1 - 3 -4 no issues , but for some reason V5 is not liking the W10 lastest version. Think I broke to golden rule of computing , never download an updated version until it has matured for 12 months.
John E.

1021405
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:54 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Black screens

Postby 1021405 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:10 am

No luck , updated drivers , went into the uninstalled P3D v5 from the W10 Add/Remove programs and chose the repair Option , still no luck. Could be a windows problem, but if I rebuild my PC , then I need to purchase P3D v5 again as only had one activation (think that is down to Zero now) to the software on the website. I've purchase P3D v1 - 3 -4 no issues , but for some reason V5 is not liking the W10 lastest version. Think I broke to golden rule of computing , never download an updated version until it has matured for 12 months.
.
Question , what is the shaders folder....
John E.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2245
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Black screens

Postby JorgenSA » Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:09 am

This link should tell you what you need:

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/4796 ... -v2-v3-v4/

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

1021405
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:54 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Black screens

Postby 1021405 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:00 am

Have reloaded V4 and no problems at all. V5 is still on the PC but like good wine , will let it mature for few months.
John E.


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests