TESSELLATION

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
Teddy
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:38 am

TESSELLATION

Postby Teddy » Mon Jun 08, 2020 3:51 pm

Hi

Some background before I declare the problem.

Was running 4.5 HF2
Absolutely no issues, no fps issues, no blurring issue, no stutters
The only tweaks used :
FIBER_FRAME_TIME_FRACTION=0.01
TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=120
time_constant=0
TEXTURE_SIZE_EXP=9

Updated to 4.5 HF3 by updating the client only but saved a copy of the cfg file before doing so. Started getting stutters with the newly generated cfg file with the same settings as that of 4.5 HF2

Completely cleaned up P3d and all add ons and installed P3Dv4.5 HF3. Replaced the auto generated cfg file with the old cfg file from ver 4.5 HF2. Experienced CTD's. Almost every time the CTD's were after more than a hour of flying. So cleared the Shader folder and let p3d build a new cfg file. With similar settings of HF2, I started encountering random stutters.

I then compared the cfg file from 4.5 HF3 & 4.5 HF2 and noticed some differences :

With the same settings in both the cfg files, I cannot see the following entry in the cfg file of 4.5 HF3
[GRAPHICS]
TESSELLATION=1

However the following entry exists in both HF2 & HF3 :
[TERRAIN]
TESSELLATION_FACTOR=90

Is this normal?

How do I decipher what is wrong with the cfg file from 4.5 HF2 due to which the P3D 4.5 HF3 crashes? Why doesnt P3D crash when I generate a new cfg file and I make the adjustments later? Which section could be responsible for the crash?

Another observation is that the address of the audio devices is different in both the files

Sound section from HF2
PrimaryPlaybackDevice={DF8B403A-BD93-4BAB-9741-A7533066912C}
VoicePlaybackDevice={DF8B403A-BD93-4BAB-9741-A7533066912C}
VoiceCaptureDevice={DEF00003-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}

Sound section from HF3
PrimaryPlaybackDevice={D6228C3A-5BBD-4047-99C9-7A07EBDB1163}
VoicePlaybackDevice={DEF00002-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}
VoiceCaptureDevice={DEF00003-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}

Why so? Does the address change with a fresh installation of P3D? Could this be the reason for the crash. However, note that the audio did not pose a problem. The sim was audible with either files.

Any suggestions / observations?

Regards
Ted

JorgenSA
Posts: 2469
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: TESSELLATION

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Jun 08, 2020 4:48 pm

Ted,

I don't have the answers to your questions, but I was under the impression that the lowest setting one should use was

FIBER_FRAME_TIME_FRACTION=0.1

but yours is set to 0.01?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Teddy
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:38 am

Re: TESSELLATION

Postby Teddy » Tue Jun 09, 2020 7:54 am

Hi Jorgan

I know this would come up. For some reason with the initial versions of when I was tweaking P3D, I found this comment somewhere to try FFTF=0.01. With that I had a smooth sim locked at 30fps without stutters and blurries. Never bothered to look back again.

However, I saw your posts about the crashes. Even I was using the new Activesky P3D Beta version when I encountered the crashes. What about the new beta version? Is it stable now?

Regards
Ted

JorgenSA
Posts: 2469
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: TESSELLATION

Postby JorgenSA » Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:14 am

Ted,

I could not say whether the AS beta for v. 5 is stable, I haven't tried it yet. There are a couple of other issues I am working on right now.

I will try 0.01, if it works, I will not look back either.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Teddy
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:38 am

Re: TESSELLATION

Postby Teddy » Thu Jun 11, 2020 1:46 pm


[GRAPHICS]
TESSELLATION=1
Hi Jorgen

Do you have this entry in your config file?

Regards
Ted

JorgenSA
Posts: 2469
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: TESSELLATION

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:01 pm

Interesting... no I do not.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Teddy
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:38 am

Re: TESSELLATION

Postby Teddy » Fri Jun 12, 2020 6:22 am

Interesting... no I do not.
That was my mistake. I actually found it in an old cfg file. Could be the cfg file for P3Dv3. SO, "not interesting" anymore.

Sorry for that.

Finally, in my experience, P3Dv4.5 HF3 is not as smooth as HF2. I have been struggling to make it smooth but in the end, I get some stutters (actually a single stutter) at times.

i7 6700K oc to 4.5 Ghz
GTX 1080Ti with 11GB
16GB DDR4 RAM
2 SSD's, 1 for win 10 and 1 for P3D
No anti virus
Using this with a 43" monitor @ 4k
Rex Skyforce3D
ASP4 (tried Activesky for P3D beta version but was experiencing CTD's and therefore back to ASP4)


Lot of 3rd party sceneries but no 3rd party aircrafts, Just the prosim model (I have a SST home cockpit).

Was smooth with no stutters until HF2. Updating to HF3 was a bad idea. Regret it now.

Regards
Ted

JorgenSA
Posts: 2469
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: TESSELLATION

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Jun 12, 2020 8:47 am

Under [TERRAIN] I have a

TESSELLATION_FACTOR=85

Wouldn't that be something on the same lines?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Teddy
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:38 am

Re: TESSELLATION

Postby Teddy » Fri Jun 12, 2020 8:50 am

Under [TERRAIN] I have a

TESSELLATION_FACTOR=85

Wouldn't that be something on the same lines?
I have this ...
[TERRAIN]
TESSELLATION_FACTOR=90

TESSELLATION=1 was from P3Dv3
Not used in V4 anymore.

Mentioned it in my previous post.

Regards
Ted


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests