Page 2 of 3

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Sat May 30, 2020 10:46 pm
by wparry
Still happening, this time it was at 77s on short final. It's getting more and more frequent.

This time though it didn't put the land up in my windscreen, instead the aircraft acted as though it slammed into the ground, made the crash sound and then I was able to recover and finish the approach and land. When it hit the invisible ground airhauler gave me a message saying rough landing and to taxi and park serious damage, then after I actually landed it had another message saying landing was smooth, but it still left plane 75 % damaged.

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 3:00 pm
by wparry
Happened again last night on short final into 3W5. Seems like any smaller airport this happens. Is there anything being done about this or is it time to just pack it up and go back back v4.5?

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 3:09 pm
by wparry
I think this may only be happening when I run FSXWX. Would that make any sense on the tech side though?

I'll run a few more tests later tonight, but last night I flew in and out of two small airports without the issue occurring.

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 7:34 am
by wparry
Happened again at 2S1 landing from the north hit the "ground" at 500ft and totaled the plane.

Here's what I had running.

P3d v5
Orbx Landclass
Obrx Vector
Orbx PNW

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 2:12 pm
by wparry
Noticed this was item 3 of the hotfix so I'm guessing Lockheed is working on it. Does it help to let you know where it occurs or we better off to just wait until it's fixed?

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 2:43 pm
by Martyson
Noticed this was item 3 of the hotfix so I'm guessing Lockheed is working on it. Does it help to let you know where it occurs or we better off to just wait until it's fixed?
Previously mentioned were Add-ons:
Airhauler
FSXWX

Are those Add-ons designed and approved for P3Dv5?
Are you using them during your testing?
Which aircraft are you using for your tests?

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 7:15 pm
by wparry
Good call Martyson, I tested without Airhauler and retried the last 4 locations it happened at and the problem did not occur.

I didn't realize AH2 could affect the sim like that. Guess we're really waiting on an update for AH2, other than that everything else seems to work fine. Sometimes I'll set it for daytime and it loads me at night but so far just another step.

Just used the v5 orbx stuff this time, no other add ons, flew the acclaim.

I do remember it happening without Airhauler before the hotfix. But I've had it on everytime since the hotfix and now with it off I seem to be able to land anywhere I want.

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:28 pm
by Martyson
Glad to hear your problem is resolved.

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 5:14 am
by wparry
lol nope, occurred again at CEJ4.

Not running AH2, only ORBx for v5. Flying the Acclaim. I think we're waiting for Lockheed on this one.

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 9:17 am
by Martyson
lol nope, occurred again at CEJ4.

Not running AH2, only ORBx for v5. Flying the Acclaim. I think we're waiting for Lockheed on this one.
How many pilots are having this problem?

Is your current problem repeatable?

Steps to test your current problem?

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 2:21 pm
by wparry
Not sure I understand the pilot question. I'm the only pilot in my sim having the problem, if you're asking about other people that have P3dv5 having the problem I have no idea. I'm sure I'm not the only one experiencing this.

It's not repeatable in the sense that when it happens I can't reload the scenario and repeat it. It typically happens after I spend 2 hours flying from A to B then it crashes into "ground" on final anywhere from 50ft to 1000ft on a perfect approach. I can reload the sim and fly it again and I can land, take off fly to the next one it happens at the next one. Or it might not happen for a couple landings then it happens again. So as far as I can tell it's random and doesn't favor any conditions.

Steps to test, just fly from point A to B. I've tried it with just Orbx, no addons at all, all add ons going. It happens in all those scenarios. When it happens I'll try the same flight again and sometimes it makes it and sometimes it doesn't.

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:48 pm
by Martyson
Not sure I understand the pilot question. I'm the only pilot in my sim having the problem, if you're asking about other people that have P3dv5 having the problem I have no idea. I'm sure I'm not the only one experiencing this.

It's not repeatable in the sense that when it happens I can't reload the scenario and repeat it. It typically happens after I spend 2 hours flying from A to B then it crashes into "ground" on final anywhere from 50ft to 1000ft on a perfect approach. I can reload the sim and fly it again and I can land, take off fly to the next one it happens at the next one. Or it might not happen for a couple landings then it happens again. So as far as I can tell it's random and doesn't favor any conditions.

Steps to test, just fly from point A to B. I've tried it with just Orbx, no addons at all, all add ons going. It happens in all those scenarios. When it happens I'll try the same flight again and sometimes it makes it and sometimes it doesn't.
Currently no other pilots are reporting this problem.

In previous posts in this topic you have mentioned:
“I was tracking the flight with the FSE client but I don't think it could cause that.
When it hit the invisible ground airhauler gave me a message saying rough landing
I think this may only be happening when I run FSXWX
P3d v5
Orbx Landclass
Obrx Vector
Orbx PNW”


What is FSE Client?
Are you using :
FSE Client
airhauler
or
FSXWX during your testing now?

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 4:13 pm
by wparry
At this point I've had it happen running without any add ons at all. It's happened with addons as well.

FSE is just a simconnect that gets info from the sim, doesn't interact with it.

FSXWX is a real weather program, technically not for p3vdv5 but seems to work just as well as is it has on the previous versions it wasn't technically for.

The issue of hitting the ground before I get there doesn't favor any conditions that I can tell it's just random. I've had it happen when flying low over a mountain too.

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 4:16 pm
by Martyson
At this point I've had it happen running without any add ons at all. It's happened with addons as well.

FSE is just a simconnect that gets info from the sim, doesn't interact with it.

FSXWX is a real weather program, technically not for p3vdv5 but seems to work just as well as is it has on the previous versions it wasn't technically for.

The issue of hitting the ground before I get there doesn't favor any conditions that I can tell it's just random. I've had it happen when flying low over a mountain too.
You could run through all the General Debugging Steps :
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=123246

When testing do not use any Add-ons.

Re: Invisible land

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:44 am
by wparry
Thanks for the troubleshooting guide Martyson. I was finally able to run through everything, unfortunately nothing made a difference. I've now had it occur over water too.