Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
NorCali.Pilot
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:38 pm

Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby NorCali.Pilot » Sun Mar 03, 2019 3:01 am

Hello forum!
I am currently at college, and in order to use the internet here (I'm on a hardwired connection) we need to install some sort of policy key. Ever since ForeFlight is not recognizing my sim as a device in order to display my location.
This has worked before perfectly fine, I have FSUIPC and Simconnect. This is on P3D V4.4. Both my computer and PC are on the same network. My PC is hardware, my iPad is wireless but it should still work, right?

Any tips would be a big help.
Thanks,
Dmitri.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10053
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby Martyson » Sun Mar 03, 2019 10:20 am

Hello forum!
I am currently at college, and in order to use the internet here (I'm on a hardwired connection) we need to install some sort of policy key. Ever since ForeFlight is not recognizing my sim as a device in order to display my location.
This has worked before perfectly fine, I have FSUIPC and Simconnect. This is on P3D V4.4. Both my computer and PC are on the same network. My PC is hardware, my iPad is wireless but it should still work, right?

Any tips would be a big help.
Thanks,
Dmitri.
"Ever since ForeFlight is not recognizing my sim "
What is ForeFlight ?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1453
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby WarpD » Mon Mar 04, 2019 1:23 am

I suspect to get Foreflight to work you will have to check to see if broadcasts are supported on your college's network. My guess would be no. If it doesn't broadcast packets you're going to have to see if you can configure Foreflight and Prepar3D to do a direct connection instead.
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

NorCali.Pilot
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:38 pm

Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby NorCali.Pilot » Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:28 pm

... see if you can configure Foreflight and Prepar3D to do a direct connection instead.
Would you know how I could go about doing that? It works with X-Plane, and I have FS-Flight Control and it works with that too.

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1453
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby WarpD » Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:45 pm

Ok, I will assume you have GPS Out turned on in Prepar3D. Ensure your network allows UDP packets on port 49002.
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

NorCali.Pilot
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:38 pm

Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby NorCali.Pilot » Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:34 am

The box is ticket to enable Position Broadcast. How do I check the UDP port to see if the packets are being sent?

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1453
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby WarpD » Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:19 am

Do you see the sim as a device in the Foreflight app's devices list? If so, do you see a checkmark beside it? If so, what color?
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

NorCali.Pilot
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:38 pm

Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby NorCali.Pilot » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:01 pm

It is not at all listed in the ForeFlight app.
I did notice tho, when connect my computer to my schools wireless network , it worked, but when I plug in the hard wire it does not work although its the same network.

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1453
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby WarpD » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:23 pm

It is possible they have something blocking the broadcast on the hardware. It is also possible that you have an IP mismatch. Ensure that the wireless and the wired are on the same IP tier. The first 3 sets of numbers need to be the same.
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

User avatar
Swedberg
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 11:49 am

Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

Postby Swedberg » Wed Jun 10, 2020 12:03 pm

    Hello guys,
    I had an issue with the broadcasting too. And I've just noticed that “Broadcast GPS data to network” was disabled. I didn't pay attention to it, when I followed the steps to connect Prepar3D and ForeFlight.

    writemyessaysonline
    Zach Swedberg

    User avatar
    Swedberg
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 11:49 am

    Re: Network Preventing Sim Location to Be Broadcasted?

    Postby Swedberg » Wed Jun 10, 2020 12:04 pm

    Here's the full guide how to connect Prepar3D and ForeFlight:
    https://support.foreflight.com/hc/en-us ... Simulator-


    Return to “Other Support Questions”

    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: fsgeek91, Google [Bot] and 40 guests