Sound Clipping/Skipping

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
nchirico
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 12:41 am

Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby nchirico » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:41 pm

Hi there,

I somewhat recently put P3D v4.2 on Windows 10. Initially I wasn't having issues, but when I started using some of the more hi fidelity addons (PMDG, etc) I started noticing some sound clipping or skipping. I will start out on the ground and it will be less noticeable, but once I'm in the air, it sounds like the sound is temporarily cutting out and this will happen a couple of times a minute. I use a headset with an onboard DAC and I also still have my drivers that came with my motherboard installed, but they are disabled. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

-Noah

Hawaiianstyle78
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 4:26 am

Re: Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby Hawaiianstyle78 » Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:42 pm

yes I have same problem. anyone know what this is? my aircraft are on the tarmac ready to taxi and sound keeps ticking every 5 seconds. Its annoying. Happening with all aircraft default and payware. Its annoying. Cant seem to figure what it is . anyone have any clues.

Martyson
Posts: 8696
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby Martyson » Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:56 pm

yes I have same problem. anyone know what this is? my aircraft are on the tarmac ready to taxi and sound keeps ticking every 5 seconds. Its annoying. Happening with all aircraft default and payware. Its annoying. Cant seem to figure what it is . anyone have any clues.
Are you using a headset like the OP?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Hawaiianstyle78
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 4:26 am

Re: Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby Hawaiianstyle78 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:53 pm

using soundblaster Rage Tactic 3d wireless. popping is so annoying . I hear it through my desktop Bose speakers too

Martyson
Posts: 8696
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby Martyson » Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:27 pm

using soundblaster Rage Tactic 3d wireless. popping is so annoying . I hear it through my desktop Bose speakers too
I use a SoundBlaster Audigy SE Sound Card in a desktop PC and Soundblaster Fury headset (USB) without problems.

I can also just use my Logitech speakers (basic $10 ones) connected to my SoundBlaster Audigy SE Sound Card without any problems.

I am using Win7-64 Pro and P3Dv4.3.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Ichiro Kawashima
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:05 pm

Re: Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby Ichiro Kawashima » Sat Aug 18, 2018 1:07 pm

Hello.

Have you originally installed Windows 10? Is it an upgrade from Windows 7 etc? Is it DSP version (for self-made machines)?

nchirico
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 12:41 am

Re: Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby nchirico » Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:24 am

Hi,

I did not upgrade to Windows 10 from 7. It was a clean install. I have a Sennheiser PC373D that I use with the built in sound card that it comes with.

-Noah

RubyTuesday
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby RubyTuesday » Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:50 am

Just a long shot. In my experience messing about with affinity mask, or switching out cores in task manager can cause malfunction of sound reproduction. My suspicion is that sound modules try to load in preference onto specific cores (in my case core 1) and restricting use of this or other cores causes conflict and hence poor sound playback. I don't touch affinity mask. I use task manager to temporarily deny p3d access to core 0 while it loads up, then switch core 0 back on line before running sim. Sound and visuals (including autogen) run sweet and smooth.

Regards RT.

Ichiro Kawashima
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:05 pm

Re: Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby Ichiro Kawashima » Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:47 am

If you were a BTO, I think that it is best to listen to PC makers there.

nchirico
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 12:41 am

Re: Sound Clipping/Skipping

Postby nchirico » Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:11 pm

Hi,

I haven't touched my affinity mask or anything in my config.

-Noah


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests